Ratings based on 4,261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous!

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Historical charm, fabulous service, extremely clean and comfortable.
Location: We ate at Osso Steakhouse just a block walk from hotel. The absolute best filet we both have ever had in our lives. Bring a bottle of wine, only $10.
Been to the hotel bar and have gone in at Christmas time, but never stayed the night. my husband and I went on a date night in the city and finally stayed here. It's a pricey hotel, but an expedia deal of half off knocked this stay off our bucket list. Beautiful hotel with old world charm. room was not just beautiful and exceptionally clean, but large. Who gets a walk in closet with full length mirrors in a hotel room? Perfect stay and hoping for another chance at a reduced rate again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

A lot of history

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Classy with great views and centrally located..............................................,.,,,,.,,...............:7378&4&/$&482$:!$:8;&$2&?&8:?);8,8;:??3$,$:?:)&!:),&?(&!:!:
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Aug 22, 2016
40th anniversary celebration for us and birthday party for Tony Bennett !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bay area

Nob Hill classic Hotel - close to Union Square

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: service was great, decor is traditional, but not ugly ostentatious. The food was very good as it should be for the prices, selection was wide.
Location: Nob Hill (grand buildings other nice hotels), cable car line on Powell, 4 walking blocks from Union Square - downhill and bit of a climb uphill!
Have stayed at the Fairmont many years ago, at that point it was in need of a bit of a refresh. The hotel and staff were all top notch. My wife and children went to book in after dropping me at a business meeting. The room was not ready, so they gave my wife a $50 certificate to use at the hotel. I arrived back just after 4pm and found them in the lobby restaurant snacking on apps with very low stress (if any) about the room being slightly delayed. The room was ready within 15 minutes and we were told we had very nice room in the main building with a view of Alcatraz and Coit tower. Our room was actually the Piazza suite, traditionally (beautifully) appointed with a large dining area and pull out couch for the kids. Both the bedroom and living area looked out over SF bay - great views! The Piazza suite was perfect for us, - comfort and privacy, from two youngish children. We had a quick room service dinner that was delicious, and dashed out to the Giants game and got back after 10pm. The room was quiet, sleep was uninterupted with very good black out draw shades, and the bedding was very comfortable. Altogether a very nice hotel with premium service and classy, traditional surroundings.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful surroundings. Every comfort.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
We had a lovely time in San Francisco. Cooler than we expected but absolutely refreshing compared to our mid Atlantic summer heat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Position & heritage
Cons: Maintenance
Location: Close to central city walking distance to union square pier 39
Should have free WiFi particularly as expensive hotel, tablet in room not working , Advised staff but still was fault not rectified, very small fridge, unable to use as full of hotel goodies Generally a great stay particularly after a long haul flight and close to Central San Francisco
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north dakota

Great Choice

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Spacious room
Cons: Great robes, but we only had one even thought he room was two doubles.
Location: Summer Jazz Fest right down on the street!
Our stay was only one night. The hotel was inexpensive, especially for a high quality property! the room was very spacious with both a tub and shower in the bath, desk and seating for two. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding very high quality (soft and not scratchy at all). We took advantage of in room dining and we're not disappointed. The prices were reasonable with a great selection and fast service. Overall, a great choice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased you had such a nice visit and found the hotel to be a great value. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Central. Magnificent views

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Class.
Cons: More accessible coffee area
Location: Very central. Ride the cable car. Easy access to Hop On Hop Off buses. Worth a visit to Grace Cathedral
Friendly efficient check in. Bedroom spacious & well appointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased you had such a nice visit and hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Beautiful hotel and excellent staff. Love the history of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased you had such a nice visit and enjoyed great service. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Lucas
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Hotel is on a Great location and wonderful accommodations!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased you had such a nice visit and hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Lucas