Ratings based on 1,562 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hübsches Hotel, sehr zentrale Lage

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Top Hotel in idealer Lage in San Francisco; wir konnten unseren Mietwagen stehen lassen und die Stadt per Bus erkunden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

日本人街の中心 不思議なオリエンタル感

Posted Aug 24, 2015
最近開けたFILMORE沿いのお洒落なエリアにも程近く朝食やランチ、もちろんショッピングにも事欠かない。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, forgot the amenities.

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Went for Tomo got Buchanan. It was a much more a positive hotel experience than negative. It just does not seem to be together somehow. The room amenities were lacking, particularly the lack of coffee cups and glasses. We were given paper cups at the desk for coffee, had to take the wine glasses from the wine social in order to have any driniking accessories in the room. Staff told us we may be able to get coffee cups in the restaurant. That's true, but I should not have to go begging for a coffee cup at a Kimpton Hotel. Cordial staff, great location, comfortable bed and bedding, yes more positive than negative. But have expectations of a thoughtful guest experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Nice Hotel Under New Management

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Newly renovated interior and spacious and quiet room.
Cons: The only problem was that the hotel room did not have any booklet that explains about the hotel facility like all the other hotels usually do.
Location: Dining and shopping in Japan Town. Easy access to the bus line that goes to Sausalito.
It was Hotel Tomo when I made the reservation, but it had been changed to The Kimpton Bucannan under new management. The interior had been totally renovated and looks very modern in black and white, which I prefer compared to the previous Japanese animation theme.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Friendly front desk staff; location
Cons: Water temperature: went from scalding to freezing constantly
Location: Across the street from Japantown and about a 15-20 minute bus ride to all tourist spots
I stayed at the Kimpton for 4 nights with my two teenage boys. The recent upgrades are noticeable and well done. The lobby is eclectic and inviting and the rooms are quite comfy. If you are looking for a nice hotel at a reasonable price the Kimpton fits the bill. It is located across the street from Japantown and directly in the center of just about everything. We were able to navigate our way to all of the main tourist attractions with minimal difficulty. My only complaint would be the water temperature which was inconsistent at best. The real star of the Kimpton is the front desk staff. I interacted multiple times with several members of the team and all of them were helpful and extremely nice. We would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Terribly expensive parking- it was supposed to be complimentary
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Japantown where I usually go out drinking

Posted Jul 12, 2015
It was a nice visit nice facility, like the furniture and the fact it was remodeled
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Love it! Thanks for stumbling home to us ;).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Ok Good location clean room , small expensive parking. .............
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Thank you! And please know that our parking cost is $10 below our neighbor and $15+ below other SF hotels -- sad but true -- so we are trying to give you the best deal we can. Others take their chances on intrepid street parking, though for my money, I recommend self-park garages like ours ;).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr gute Anbindung zum Zentrum

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Anbindung zur Innenstadt
Anfangs waren wir etwas verwirrt, da wir das Hotel nicht finden konnten. Dies lag daran, dass es 4 Tage vor unserer Anreise den Namen geändert hat. Es wird aktuell renoviert und wir hatten vermutlich eines der ersten fertigen Zimmer. Die Lage des Hotels ist mitten in Japantown und hat eine Busverbindung direkt vor der Haustür in die Innenstadt (ca. 15 Minuten Fahrzeit). Dadurch dass das Hotel nicht mitten im Zentrum ist, ist es abends absolut ruhig dort. Würden es wieder buchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good romm

Posted Jun 28, 2015
excellent room, good location, japan town is very fun
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Thank you, I love Japantown, too. I hope you got to try the authentic Shabu Shabu at Café Mums!