Ratings based on 1,875 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego,CA

Good and Bad

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Cons: rooms that felt cleaner would be nice.
First the good: The front desk was quite helpful. The room I stayed had a strong urine odor, but we went in it very much so I didn't complain. But the second night after moving my daughter into her university dorm, I wanted a nice rest. The room again had a strong odor and as I sit on the sheet, I started to develop a rash. I called down to the desk, he asked if this happened the night before, I told him the odor was there but not the rash. To their credit, they moved us to another room and it was fine. The next day, I notice a charger cable was missing. I think it may have been on the bed and the maid accidentally removed it with the sheets. It was never found. The area around the hotel is quiet and full of restaurants. it's also convenient to go to USF. The Bad: The room. It just felt uncomfortable. I also scrapped my leg against the bed frame several times as it protrudes and has a sharp corner. The smell of the first room I was in was not desirable. The 2nd room was much better. The hotel garage also gets filled up quickly on the weekend. There is a public garage fairly close.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buona sistemazione

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Tutto ok. Il prezzo magari non è così conveniente considerato che era esclusa la prima colazione. D'altronde confrontando con i vari prezzi di altri Hotel in citttà... Unica nota: wifi un pò scadente.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Cons: Heizung funktionierte nicht, war kühl.
Gebucht als Familie, waren sehr zufrieden, bis auf fehlende Heizung. Frühstück in der Nähe gut und günstig im Café Murano.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel in a quiet area

Posted Aug 5, 2016
This was my first visit to SF and I really enjoyed the area the Kimpton is located in. It is right by Japantown and Lower Pacific Heights. There is plenty to see and different types of restaurants all in walking distance. All the other main tourist areas are a short drive away. I only had a couple complaints. The beds, while very comfortable were a bit noisy, I think due to the base the mattresses were on. Also, I was never able to have consistent water temps for the shower, I'm not sure if this is due to the age of the building or what. Those things aside, I would definitely stay here again. The area is very quiet and relaxing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
I like the interior design of the hotel, it's very clean, comfortable, and Demenco (maybe misspelled) from the front desk are very friendly, thank you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westlake, Ohio

Comfortable hotel in wonderful neighborhood

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Streamlined, clean, and comfortable
Cons: Can' think of anything...if we needed anything they were happy to get it
Was worried this was too off the beaten path of the action...but found it to be a beautiful relaxing stay in a friendly neighborhood. This is how you enjoy the true flavor of the people of San Francisco not to mention one amazing home after another. Staff was very helpful in finding local restaurants and educating us on the best way to use public transportation (since we are from the suburbs of Cleveland, Ohio). Great stay !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Nice! Thanks, Marty! I am glad you were as charmed by this neighborhood as I am. It's great to be near some local things and not far from the touristy stuff while in a really friendly and relaxed area, free of crowds and conventioneers running around with their name tags and stress :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Temecula, CA

Nice hotel just outside of Japantown.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Cool looking and comfortable hotel with a very friendly staff! The beds were comfortable and the room was good sized. The hotel is right at the corner of Japantown and the Fillmore district. Unfortunately, most of what we did as tourists was about a 2 mile walk away. Although I didn't mind, the walk was challenging for my 6 year old. However, the location probably helped with keeping the cost down. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Emily G, Hotel Management
Wow, you are some talented walkers! We slackers who live in the city will often take taxi/Uber/Lyft/bus. Let us know and we'd be happy to help you out with any of these if you want to save some calorie-burning next time :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Very comfortable hotel in great location.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
The hotel has a Japanese flavor in its decor. The room was a good size and very comfortable. The location is perfect for Japantown (including cafes, restaurants and a supermarket-deli), close to Fillmore shopping precinct, and there is a bus stop just across the road to get to Union Square shopping and the BART.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Emily G, Hotel Management
Thank you, VMH! Hope to see you next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Well located, great staff, comfortable bed and enjoyed the happy hour.
Well located, great staff, comfortable bed and enjoyed the happy hour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Thanks so much, traveler. This is the kind of thing the team really gets excited to read :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

great hotel close in super area

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Comfortable clean beds, loads of room and happy hour.
Cons: Sort out which rooms can truly be said to have a view of the city!
Location: Loads to do nearby. Fillmore street is 10 minutes walk and has great bars restaurants and shops, albeit a little pricey.
Had a lovely stay at the Kimpton Buchanan. We stayed in a room with two queen beds and there was loads of space. Good coffee machine and lovely toiletries. One of the best things is the hotel's happy hour. It's great for meeting the other guests. My only gripe was the view. We booked a city view (room412) and ended up looking at a supermarket roof. If you were really dexterous you could perhaps see a bit more, but certainly not what I thought I was paying for. Kimpton, this room does NOT have a city view! Otherwise great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review, lizzie. I better go have a look at the view from that room!