Ratings based on 1,991 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wine hour was great and staff super friendly

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Stayed for a week. Great location walking distance from great food and shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Great Time

Posted Apr 19, 2017
My husband & I stayed for 5 nights with absolutely no complaints. Great staff, great accommodations & great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Braselton, GA

Exceptional Staff in the City

Posted Apr 14, 2017
We stayed at this hotel in April 2017 PROS: We were upgraded to a suite as VIP Expedia members. The suite was very spacious. The bathroom was VERY large with lots of space. The hotel has a large "living room" where they serve coffee/tea/hot cocoa in the mornings and do wine tasting in the evenings. The hotel staff was incredible! Friendly from the moment we checked in. They even offered for our son to get a toy out of the treat box each evening. Concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful. The desk offered us umbrellas each time it was raining upon our departure. CONS: You must valet park and the fee for parking is $58 (par for the course in this city) - it also takes about 10 minutes for them to retrieve your car. There's no room service. There's a small restaurant next to the hotel (you can enter through the hotel lobby) but it had a limited menu. EXCELLENT HOTEL IN THE CITY
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to theatres, shopping and the cable cars

Posted Apr 14, 2017
We loved the location even though we drove through a sketchy part of town to get there. The hotel staff were excellent and actually caught a double charge on parking and fixed it easily. Budget extra for parking in San Francisco! The hotel charge was $63.12 for valet parking and it takes time to get your car so, factor that in to your activities. I would think most hotels in the area charge the same so just be aware. Hotel had free wine and beer from 5-6 and free coffe and tea in the morning so, that was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Great hotel in San Francisco.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
I had an overall great experience. I did have some issues with my keys not working and most of the staff were nice about fixing them for me. There is no coffee maker in the room, that would be an easy improvement, even a single cup coffee maker. I would definitely recommend staying here and will likely return to eat pasta at Tratto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

NIce Hotel close to all tourist attractions

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: quite cozy and sweet hotel
Cons: toiletries were not great / ie shampoo made my hair frizz
Location: great central location!
Very nice hotel and friendly staff they also have a social hour for those staying every day offering free wine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Great hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The large comfortable area - the Living Room - that was spacious and set with numerous comfort seating
Cons: Insure there are paper towels in the mens room, first floor
Location: Union Square was about two blocks away! Easy taxi ride to virtually any location or comfortable walk
Great staff and excellent restaurant- the 5 to 6 hour of complimentary wine and pizza was outstanding
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Lovely

Posted Apr 3, 2017
The staff was very helpful, the location was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow, That's Small!

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Staff Décor Wine Hour Free high speed internet
Cons: Needs general updating. Rooms could be bigger - but that's really hard to change in the hotel of this age.
Location: A few blocks off Union Square. Lots of stuff in the area and easy transportation options.
That's what I said when I opened the door to our room. It's probably the smallest room I've stayed in while traveling in the US. It's on par with normal sized rooms in Europe. That said, the hotel is great! It's a charming, well located, interesting hotel. It's a bit dated and needs some refreshing. But the décor and facilities that are there are nice and well kept in spite of their age and use. The staff tries very hard to make your stay terrific. They say "Hello" a lot - which is really welcoming. They ask about your stay, the room, and what they can do to help. And then when you ask them to help, they get right on it and do what's asked. The clincher was that I got a really really good deal through Expedia! Which made a very very good deal. I'd go back at that rate, but might consider other hotels if I had to pay the normal rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very centrally located in the heart of the city.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Cons: Eliminate the extra $28.00 per day internet fee.
We had a very nice experience. It was the perfect place to stay when attending the theater.