Ratings based on 1,723 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Most friendly professional helpful staff ever!! Rooms very clean although they are smaller than I had thought. Would deff recommend and would stay here again!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in Union Square Area

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Hotel has excellent amenities with a wine hour and bicycles available for exploring San Francisco. The rooms were quiet, but the hotel had plenty of energy with a very courteous staff. The bath tub was a little dated, but the furniture and decor were stylish and practical for today's traveler.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Nice hotel near the unión square

Posted Jul 16, 2016
San Francisco is a beautiful city, downtown, chinatown, pear 39!!!!! Excelent place for vacation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Clayton, Director of Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Carlos, Thank you for taking the time to review The Marker Hotel. I'm happy to hear that you had a great time while staying with us in San Francisco. We look forward to welcoming you back to the city. Please don't hesitate to reach out directly for anything you may need in the future. Best, Clayton Director of Guest Experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

清潔感にかける

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Location: 駅も近いし、ヒルトンも近いので悪くはないが、ちょっと夜の治安は微妙。
二泊しましたが、部屋の中の清潔感に欠けました。また、アメニティには埃がかぶっていました。場所は悪くないのですが、コストに見合ったサービスではない気がします。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Trying to be upscale but falls short

Posted Jul 12, 2016
The Marker is trying to be a cool, chic, trendy hotel. And in some ways, it does so but falls down on the details. For such an expensive hotel, they need to get the basics right. First, we had a "premium" queen room. I fail to see what was premium about it. The bed was clearly smaller than a Queen and snug for two people. The bathroom lacked flash and was just ok (old school bathtub with shower curtain and small). No private toilet here so be ready to be intimate with your roommate. Small details like electrical plates broken or not attached (cheap and ugly) were not attended to. The room was small and our view was the wall of the building next door. The television service was scant featuring some 15 channels. Not much to brag about. On the bright side, the staff was friendly. Happy hour complimentary wine was served downstairs each evening and coffee in the morning. Not a bad place, but not up to the standard of a modern cool hotel. No comparison to the Parker, W, or other such hotels. I won't stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Walgreens and upscale retailers

Posted Jul 5, 2016
The man who checked us in did not inform us of any thing. It's when I questioned them about the money charged to my card the other gentleman explained to us what the money was for. The room was cute but our plumming toilet did not work. The rug felt sticky, but the shower was wonderful. All in all I won stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Good location, clean room and nice staff.
Location: It really closes to Union Square. Walking from hotel to union square costs 5 mins (it only 4-5 blocks between them).
This hotel is good. This is already the second time we live in. Everything is good. But only one thing is hotel amenity fee. I don't know why it charges us. We don't use anything within the hotel. I google search it and some said the wireless service is also part of it. So anyway, except this hotel amenity fee, others are all good. Good location, clean room and nice staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Uncertain if I'll continue to stay here...

Posted Jun 27, 2016
When the hotel was a Kimpton, beds were more comfortable. The bedding has changed. Kinda tired of walking out of hotel into homeless people to get to Union Square, for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Fine, but not 4 star.

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Starting with the location...I was in a panic when I driver pulled up to the hotel. It was dark and there were homeless people everywhere. The hotel security came out to the car to escort us inside. The hotel itself is an older building that has been restored. Overall, a very cute place. The rooms are small with very limited storage. I had to leave the suit cases out all week because there is zero room in the closet. Drawer storage was equivalent to two night stand drawers. The bathroom itself was tiny and needs to be redone. Overall it was mainly just worn. While the hotel in conveniently located just two blocks from Union Sqare, it's a rough two blocks. We made sure that we were back inside before dark each night. Even during the day the walk is dirty and smells strongly of urine. In addition you will encounter many homeless individuals asking for money about every 20 feet. The hotel staff was friendly. We never asked for much to really rate their quality. The $30 amenity fee was a joke. Really you are paying $30 for wireless access and flavored water in the lobby. There is a restaurant and bar attached to the hotel, but it was open limited hours. The drinks that we had from there were fine, but we didn't feel that the menu had many options. The Walgreens across the street was the closest thing that we had to room service. I would not recommend this hotel for people with children, or anyone not completely accustom to city life.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Loved the hotel outlook has character.

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Loved the hotels classic look. Only downside to our stay is our room was a bit warm no air con in the rooms which we found really strange for the price you pay.