Ratings based on 2,011 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Extremely clean and comfortable hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
The Marker is a sweet boutique hotel, similar to the feel of a Kimpton. The staff and 5 pm wine hour were delightful. My only caution is that this hotel is located in the Tenderloin, one of the dirtier and less savory areas is SF. It is a short walk to Union Square and Chinatown, and a short uber ride pretty much everywhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted May 18, 2017
Centrally located, very cute and clean boutique hotel. A great value compared to other hotel chains in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peoria, Arizona

Friendly staff. Nice location near all.

Posted May 17, 2017
We were extremely pleased with the services provided by the staff. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The location is superb near everything you need on a trip, from restaurants to sight seeing attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Nice hidden gem close to Union Square but on the edge of th Tenderloin. Be ready to see some honeless people before you step into this historic beauty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Great experience overall. Loved the decor...morning coffee / afternoon wine. On site restaurant was also a good spot to hit.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Benjamin, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for the kind review! We love it when guest love us. Please come back to visit us soon. Safe travels, Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great San Fran location for an extended stay

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Location, Beautiful lobby and space, Fitness Center, wifi was reliable, coffee in AM, partner restaurant very good, great staff.
Cons: My bed was slightly lumpy, might benefit from changing mattresses, the "resort" fee was annoying, could be built into total cost. No room service.
Stayed at the Marker for a long business trip, 8 nights. Hotel was in a great-walkable location near a conference I attended. Staff was courteous and helpful with any questions I had. Regular rooms are small but well appointed. I am a VIP Expedia member and while they couldn't upgrade me the first 2 nts, they got me an Executive King for the last 6 nts - great upgrade with lots of space and a big soaking tub! I took advantage of the fitness center and it was very clean with good equipment. The lobby AM coffee service was nice to have, I was only able to do the wine reception twice, which is a nice offering, but the wines were just OK. The partner restaurant, Tratto, was fantastic. Ate breakfast three times, lunch once, dinner once - food was very good, great service; could charge to your room if you liked. Great happy hour drinks/snacks! The only issue was no room service, which would have been better. You can get the food to go and bring up to your room but would have preferred room service. I needed to rent a car for a day, and a helpful bellman recommended Reliable, I would highly recommend. Their office was only a 2 block walk from hotel and I could drop the car off late at night - very good price too. I will definitely come back for future trips - although I would recommend the hotel change their pricing model to include the resort fee in their total cost - now it's separate - which is inconvenient, but compared to other hotels, still affordable...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located.

Posted May 7, 2017
The staff was very accommodating and quick to help with any thing I needed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated bathroom with poor plumbing

Posted May 3, 2017
The shower didn't drain fast enough so I ended up standing in a tub full of water by the time I was done showering. The rugs didn't seem very clean. The location of the hotel is a little dicey. Overall, next time I'll stay at a hotel I know by name like Marriott or even a holiday inn express.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Benjamin, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review, we always value feedback from our guests. Please accept my apologies with the bathroom, we will get this taken care of as this is not common. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Safe travels, Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice downtown hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
Large room with nice design and style. Common areas needs a bit of a touch up...looking a bit worn down. Great character, great staff. Not worth the normal rate, but the discounted rate (still expensive) made the value perfect!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Comfort

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The hotel was very comfortable and updated. Issues consisted of being in one room, but a hotel staff quickly rectified the situation by putting us in a different room. The new room was a beautiful upgrade, but the tub had hair in it and was definitely not cleaned. I informed staff and it took them a while to get housekeeping to clean it up. After the issues were handled everything was fine and it was a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Benjamin, Hotel Management
Dear Teri, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay, it is appreciated. I am delighted that the team was able to quickly rectify the issues and that you had a great stay. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Safe travels, Benjamin Duverge - General Manager