Ratings based on 5,044 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Worth it

Posted Jun 17, 2017
Pros: Staff was nice
Cons: The Hotel is old so I am not sure if anything could be improved.
Location: Location is in Union Square and there are eateries and shops very close to this hotel.
The room is extremely small as is the bathroom, there is no ac unit only a radiator heater, the bed was uncomfortable, noisy due to the thin walls and lastly it took over 5 minutes for the hot water to start. However this hotel is nearby to many of SF attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Valley, NJ

Charmingly functional while cost effective

Posted May 30, 2017
Cons: No mini fridge in the room by default. I didn't ask for one as I was out a lot; don't know if it was an option..
Location: Shopping ! close to cable cars; nice way to get to Fisherman's Wharf! Union Square itself & close to business district. Walkable to AT&T park..
I was looking for an affordable hotel in a pricey market but found a good one. Conveniently located in Union Square, the hotel was charming and well kept. Stayed in a (2) twin bed room with a bathroom. Smallish but very functional considering what I paid to stay in downtown San Francisco. Also, very clean throughout. The staff was excellent with tips, help and a customer friendly manner shared by all. You don't see that everywhere. I would come again without question; wished that I had more time for my visit..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Loved my stay

Posted May 28, 2017
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Loved my stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Cozy hip place in good spot

Posted May 25, 2017
Liked the location, the room was small but good for what we needed it for. Had a room with a private bathroom. Overall would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Affordable downtown hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
This is a European style hotel, meaning shared bath and toilet. We didn't have many times where the shower or toilet were in use, but it does take getting used to. Rooms are quite small. I'm 6'2" and moving around was a bit of a chore, but they were comfortable. Continental breakfast wasn't much, some dry muffins, but there are plenty of great places nearby. Hotel is close to the BART station, making travel to and from other destinations a breeze (and cheaper then a shuttle or taxi!) We would definitely stay here again, the affordability make any downsides negligible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Close to Transit, Shopping, Restaurants, etc.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Location, well maintained, clean.
Cons: The elevator was slow/delayed but stairs were readily available. Stairs were the only area that looked a little more neglected but well travelled.
Location: Shopping, entertainment, restaurants, all options for transit within 2 blocks (MUNI, ie. LRT, Cable Car, Bus, BART).
Hotel is in excellent location near Market and 4th Street in the heart of Downtown San Francisco. Transit (MUNI and BART) access approx. one to two blocks away. Hotel is in an older vintage building yet well maintained. Staff at reception and housekeeping were courteous and pleasant. Room was relatively modern, well maintained, very clean, but very small as for an individual traveller would/may suffice, but for two could be a little crowded. Bedding was comfortable. Hotel even supplies ear plugs as sound carries within and outside. Windows are double paned which cut down on alley/street noise. Given the pricing and what you get (location, clean, reliable, well maintained, staffing) I would stay there again. Overall good place to lay your head, rest, shower, but be out and about for the bulk of the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend OR

A delightful old renovated hotel. It has character

Posted May 20, 2017
Cons: Chrone tissue holder in my room and a chrome hook on the back of the closet door would be handy.
Location: It is San Francisco it is all there. SFMOMA is just around the corner that is a big plus!
I had a busy and enjoyable time seeing lots of Art.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel central to everything

Posted May 18, 2017
Nice boutique hotel in an older building. Lots of buzz around the neighborhood; feels like being near Times Square in New York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location - No Frills Low $

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Let the guests know the radiators (boiler) can be adjusted in each room. It was stuffy and we didn't realize.
Location: transportation to anywhere; Mel's Drive Inn diner was perfect for meals;
This is a perfect place if you are looking for centralize lodging in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Quaint Hotel in great location!!

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. A car rental place is a few blocks away on Folsom.
Cons: Mosser offered breakfast…which was Coffee, water and muffins. The coffee was very good, but maybe a bit more to eat
I really liked the charm of this historical hotel, they have kept the old charm but have updated the decor, smaller rooms but very clean. The staff was really helpful and friendly. The hotel was in a great location, close to shopping, Union Square, transit, Moma.