Ratings based on 1,681 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Decent stay

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Small room but cozy. Everything was good til housekeeping in the AM. Their closet was right beside my room and they were EXTREMELY loud. Kept slamming the door over and over. So much for a nice noon checkout!! No regards to guests in their room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

The two bed room in the mousser

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We got two bed room. The room is clean, but it is a little bit small. The hotel provides coffe and muffin every morning in the hall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Feb 13, 2017
It's a nice hotel very clean and it's around everything I would really recommend it
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Stay away

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Toilet and shower in the hall. Was no water in the shower. Room is so small that you have to walk one at the time. Old building smell.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny rooms

Posted Feb 6, 2017
This hotel is a cheaper option to stay in downtown San Francisco. The location is great. The hotel is in a nice old building. I chose the shared bathroom situation, so I knew what to expect. This part, actually, was absolutely manageable. The shower room was always clean and free when I wanted to use it, and so was the toilet. The room was a disappointment, a little bit. It was tiny. I literally was not sure whether I could fit my little suitcase there. The room had a tiny window that faced a crack between two buildings, so there was no natural sunlight. On the other hand, the light from the hallway came through cracks in the door and the little window above the door, so it was always light there at night and not easy to sleep. It was also always very noisy there. The staff was walking back and forth, carrying things, cleaning, and talking loudly. They were also constantly emptying the ice machine next to my room. There were constant voices coming from all around. Up until late at night, it was hard to fall asleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New York

Great value and location

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: customer service
Cons: trash liners and refrigerator in rooms with private baths
Location: located near everything
I was very surprised as to how much I enjoyed this hotel. I come to San Francisco every year. and usually stay in higher rated hotels. The Mosser was a charming boutique hotel with excellent customer service , located in the heart of union square . Yes, the rooms are a little small but they are clean well maintained. The only suggestion I would make is that it would have been nicer to have a refrigerator garbage back liners in the waste paper baskets. If I was traveling by myself I would stay at The Mosser . Stacy G
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Affordable weekend in the heart of SF

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Wonderful and affordable experience! Very friendly lobby employees, coffee in the morning, nice clean room. Full-size mattress was a little small for two people, but great experience overall!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and Convenient Stay

Posted Jan 17, 2017
We always stay at The Mosser. It's really convenient and completely affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NM

Nice renovated older hotel.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: The local near and in downtown.
Cons: Some rooms need a better view from their rooms.
Location: Union square, streetcar and subway access nearby, only a block or two. Good restaurants all around the area.
Its an old building but renovated and up to date. The rooms are small, not much of a view or cross ventilation but it did the job for just sleeping there. The other guests were very noisy, that is they seem to slam the doors and they walked very loudly down the hallways without consideration of the other guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from honolulu

review of the mosser

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: it is my favorite hotel
Cons: the continental breakfast
Location: perfect
whenever I visit SF, I always stay at The Mosser the staff is very helpful and my stay is very comfortable