Ratings based on 5,009 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Affordable downtown hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
This is a European style hotel, meaning shared bath and toilet. We didn't have many times where the shower or toilet were in use, but it does take getting used to. Rooms are quite small. I'm 6'2" and moving around was a bit of a chore, but they were comfortable. Continental breakfast wasn't much, some dry muffins, but there are plenty of great places nearby. Hotel is close to the BART station, making travel to and from other destinations a breeze (and cheaper then a shuttle or taxi!) We would definitely stay here again, the affordability make any downsides negligible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Close to Transit, Shopping, Restaurants, etc.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Location, well maintained, clean.
Cons: The elevator was slow/delayed but stairs were readily available. Stairs were the only area that looked a little more neglected but well travelled.
Location: Shopping, entertainment, restaurants, all options for transit within 2 blocks (MUNI, ie. LRT, Cable Car, Bus, BART).
Hotel is in excellent location near Market and 4th Street in the heart of Downtown San Francisco. Transit (MUNI and BART) access approx. one to two blocks away. Hotel is in an older vintage building yet well maintained. Staff at reception and housekeeping were courteous and pleasant. Room was relatively modern, well maintained, very clean, but very small as for an individual traveller would/may suffice, but for two could be a little crowded. Bedding was comfortable. Hotel even supplies ear plugs as sound carries within and outside. Windows are double paned which cut down on alley/street noise. Given the pricing and what you get (location, clean, reliable, well maintained, staffing) I would stay there again. Overall good place to lay your head, rest, shower, but be out and about for the bulk of the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend OR

A delightful old renovated hotel. It has character

Posted May 20, 2017
Cons: Chrone tissue holder in my room and a chrome hook on the back of the closet door would be handy.
Location: It is San Francisco it is all there. SFMOMA is just around the corner that is a big plus!
I had a busy and enjoyable time seeing lots of Art.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel central to everything

Posted May 18, 2017
Nice boutique hotel in an older building. Lots of buzz around the neighborhood; feels like being near Times Square in New York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location - No Frills Low $

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Let the guests know the radiators (boiler) can be adjusted in each room. It was stuffy and we didn't realize.
Location: transportation to anywhere; Mel's Drive Inn diner was perfect for meals;
This is a perfect place if you are looking for centralize lodging in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Quaint Hotel in great location!!

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. A car rental place is a few blocks away on Folsom.
Cons: Mosser offered breakfast…which was Coffee, water and muffins. The coffee was very good, but maybe a bit more to eat
I really liked the charm of this historical hotel, they have kept the old charm but have updated the decor, smaller rooms but very clean. The staff was really helpful and friendly. The hotel was in a great location, close to shopping, Union Square, transit, Moma.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Safe

Posted May 8, 2017
Close to Westfields and Market Street. Felt pretty safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
I highly recommend this hotel. My room was stylish, clean and comfortable and the location is excellent. The only downside was a connecting door between my room and the next, which meant I could hear EVERY WORD the people next door were saying. Sadly, none of what they said was interesting but the TV was effective at drowning them out. Really enjoyed the Friday afternoon "wine happy hour" - what a nice bonus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for on-the-go travelers

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Staff. Location right across Metreon and a block away from the convention center. Can't beat that location.
Cons: Larger sink so you don't hit your head on the faucet and drip on the floor.
Location: AMC Metreon and its food court, Trader Joe's, Market St., Conv. Cntr. and tons of shopping just steps away. Great restaurant, Keystone, same building.
I usually spend about 6-7 hours a day in my hotel room, including sleeping time. The bed was comfortable and room was clean so I'm pretty satisfied with this place. It was actually quiet enough with the windows closed. No AC, so if it's warm it would be a problem. The room was cleverly designed for a little person my size. All staff were extremely helpful and kind. I had a private bath. I'm not used to extreme water saving showerheads, so showers were a pain and took more time. But bathrooms and sink were clean and sparkling, towels/robes thick and luxurious. Everything a busy traveler would need is in this efficient room, including full size ironing board and iron, hair dryer. It's an engineering wonder.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Excellent Location

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: It lacks air conditioner
Excellent location, central of everything, close to Bus, Tram, BART station. Easy access to the airport and everywhere. Super market, shops, restaurant, cafe, etc. nearby