Ratings based on 4,861 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good price

Posted Apr 23, 2017
My husband and I stayed at the Opal for Three nights while in San Francisco. The room was small with a king sized bed, but had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It had a safety deposit box at the front counter, which was nice, and the continental breakfast was good. The location was convenient for transit and about a 15min walk to Union Square. It was a fine area, but got a bit sketchy at night. Overall we enjoyed ourselves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about and rate of your stay in our hotel. Guest reviews help independent hotels like ours know what we need to do to improve and they also let people know what we are doing right. Thank you again for taking the time and I hope you have a good day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rough surrounding neighborhood

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The hotel itself was average to above average, nothing special. But what do you expect for the price? It's not bad for a quick business visit. The area of town isn't good. It's on the edge of the Tenderloin, which is one of SF's roughest areas. I made the mistake of walking from the BART Civic Center station to the hotel. Don't do this! I visit SF often but doubt I'll use this hotel again due to the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to read that you won't be staying with us again due to the neighborhood. Thank you for taking the time to write about and rate your stay with us. Independent hotels such as ours rake much stock in guest reviews. They let people know what we are doing right and they also let us know what we need to work on. Did you walk up Van Ness from the BART station? That is a very safe route.Thank you again and I hope you have a good day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Everything was simple and relaxing, exactly what you want on your vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about and rate your stay with us. Independent hotels such as ours rake much stock in guest reviews. They let people know what we are doing right and they also let us know what we need to work on. I'm glad tou had a relaxing time with us. I hope you have agreat day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento,CA

Posted Apr 11, 2017
The staff made an outstanding effort to meet our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Doni: Thank you for writing about and rating your stay with us. Independent hotels such as ours are helped greatly by guest reviews. They let people know what we are doing right, but they also let us know what we need to do better. I'm happy to read that you had a good interaction with our staff. Thank you again and I hope you have a great day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Good value for the money

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Hotel was good value for money in downtown San Francisco, very central for bus access, restaurants, landmarks, etc. We rarely had to take public transit to our locations. Hotel was in process of renovations but didn't impact us (stayed on 2nd floor).
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
GuY; Thank you for writing about and rating your stay with us. Independent hotels such as ours are helped greatly by guest reviews. They let people know what we are doing right, but they also let us know what we need to do better. I'm happy to read that you found us a good value. I am especially pleased you were not affected by the remodeling and renovations we are doing to our 108 year old building. Thank you again and I hope you have a great day!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Local but not worth the price

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Old and run down, the beds, decor, fixtures all old. Water temperature took a while to adjust, toilet, more than once would not flush, water pressure or something is a challenge. The staff were nice enough but can not compensate for the run down condition of hotel. I won't stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Irene: Thank you got taking the time to write about and rate your stay with us. We are a 108 year old building in the midst of remodeling and renovating every room floor by floor. I'm sorry to read you won't be returning but I do thank you for giving us your input. Independent hotels such as ours find guest comments to be a valuable tool to let people know what we are doing right and what we need to work on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Loud and horrorable Breakfast

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Typical City hotel, dated but clean, floor squishes in few places. No Parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at The Opal. As an independent hotel,, guest reviews are valuable to us. They let people know what we are doing right but also let us know what we need to fix. We are looking to eliminate our complimentary continental breakfast as it sees that many people, such as yourself, are not pleased with what we offer. We are going through a complete renovation and remodel of our 108 year old building to eliminate those floor squishes and bring us up to date. I do apologize if our parking was full and you did not get a spot. We do have limited on-site gated parking for a cost of $41 plus tax and sometimes the spots fill early (it is a first come, first serve basis). We are looking to expand our parking with the remodel. Thank you again for writing. I hope you have a great day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salida, CA

Posted Mar 31, 2017
The location was decent but got seedy during the evenings, as expected from the city. The assistant manager, Roger, was very kind and funny! Check in was a breeze. Our rooms were clean and organized. I do wish there were warmer blankets but the heater could always be utitlized. I also wish the towels smelled more fresh and like soap rather than dust. Overall, I am pleased with the Opal and would book again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Jasmine: Thank you for taking the time to write about and rate your stay with us. Independent hotels such as ours rely heavily on guest feedback and so we appreciate it when they can take the time. They let people know what we are doing right and let us know what we need to work on. I appreciate the kind words about... well, me! We are renovating our 108 year old building and it will include new bedding which should be warmer and new towels. It will be a complete face lift! So, maybe the next time you are in the city, you can try out one of our new rooms! Thank you again and I hope you have a good day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The hotel was average. Not extremely impressive but fairly clean. The greatest part of the hotel is the location. It's in a nicer, less crowded area of the city. And still walking distance from most iconic locations. Also, easy to catch a ride right out front of the hotel. I would stay here again but I would ask for a room in the 2nd floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Esther: Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay at our hotel. Independent hotels such as our rely heavily on guest reviews. They let people know what we are doing right. And they help us to know what we need to work on to improve our service. I am glad to read you liked our location. We are renovating our 108 year old building to be stronger and more modern and last another 108 years! Thank you for writing and I hope you have a good day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jenkins

Good price for being in town.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The hotel was going through a major renovation. Too noisy to sleep in. Some homeless were near front door, but the fob kept them from coming inside. Breakfast was convenient, and fun meeting all the different people from all over.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write and rate your stay with us at The Opal. Guest reviews are valuable to independent hotels such as ours. They let people know what we are doing right. They also let us know what we need to work on. Thank you again for writing and I hope you have a good day