Ratings based on 4,511 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

friendly atmosphere

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: its nice and clean, free internet and breakfast
Cons: shuttle transportation
i like that is close to many restaurant and landmarks but its a bit disappointed that they offer shuttle transportation from airport to the hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great central hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Great hotel with some nice character. Really helpful staff and next door to iconic Mels Diner. Easy to reach Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, and California cable car etc. Had a great stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, right in the heart of the city

Posted Aug 17, 2016
This isn't the fanciest of hotels, but for the price- it is way worth the stay! Great location, very central and close to everything. We used Uber to go almost everywhere and thanks to where we stayed, traveling around downtown was so affordable. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, attentive staff. Walkable distance to Polk Street which has an amazing nightlife, and plenty of awesome restaurants. I would absolutely stay again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

An excellent convenient and affordable hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The hotel's guests are not party people.it's a quiet hotel where you can relax and get a good night's after a long day. Efficient, attentive staff.
Location: Close to a ton of ethnic food restaurants on Geary st. You can walk to Union Square and the Civic Center - symphony, the Opera , and Asian Museum.
This was my second stay at the Opal. The staff is attentive and friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious enough. The beds are very comfortable, a real pleasure after running all over the city during the day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Stinking hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Room was not ready when we came. The sink is clog and the room stinks. Even the hallways in that hotel stink. The only thing that smells good in that hotel is the lobby. Maybe they sprayed a lot of air freshener to cover up the stinking smell of overall hotel . Even the comforter they gave us is too old and stinks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Roger, Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear your room was not ready when you checked in and you found that most of the hotel did not smell good. We will look into these issues and I thank you for bringing them to our attention. One of the best ways we can improve the hotel is through the comments of our guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Dated hotel with good location

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Hallway carpets stink and the bathroom vent is unpleasantly noisy
Location: There are many restaurants nearby and two bus lines to choose from. Civic Center is walking distance.
Stayed in SF downtown for official business and vacation too. The Opal is near two bus lines and near many restaurants. It's like staying in an old European hotel. The furnishings are elegant but dated. The carpeting in the hallways has an unpleasant odor and the bathroom vent gave me a headache because it's way too noisy. Otherwise, it's a pretty good hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel, clean rooms, fantastic staff

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: close to Union Square, great price for San Fran, close to great eateries!
Fantastic all round. The breakfast was great and loved it was available to 10, for those sleep ins. The staff were friendly and helpful and it was a short walk to the shops
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Old hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The hotel needs to be renovated as everything is outdated. There were lots of homeless nearby which gave us an unsafe feeling. Moreover, it is far from the Bart subway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent and convenient

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Clean and convenient hotel about 10 minutes from attractions like Exploratorium, Fishermans Wharf, the opera, and cute Hayes Valley. Expensive for what it is but that is San Francisco market rates. Free breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel for an OK price

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Reasonably cheap, reasonably well located.
Cons: Hotel very dated, cleanliness only ok. Very very noisy.
The Opal is a fine hotel for downtown SF. It's not great, it's not terrible. My ground floor room was very very noisy. Road noise, pedestrian noise, construction noise. I spend at least 25% of the year on the road and can do with some fairly noisy rooms. This was a bit too much. Noise from neighboring rooms and the hallway pretty loud too. That goes with the territory of older SF hotels mind you, nothing special there. Zero hot water was available the night I checked in, it was ok the morning after though. Don't let the breakfast factor into your decision, it's some bread, toasters, and stale pastries. Plenty of great breakfast in the area that will be a little more filling. Would I stay here again? Yea probably. The price was right and the city can get pretty expensive at times. Would I recommend it to someone on vacation? No. Spend a bit more and get something a little nicer.