Ratings based on 4,259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alameda, CA

Nice Hotel for a trip to San Francisco

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: The Location, my room was cleaned daily.
Cons: For the price, the breakfast could at least be served on real plates and not paper plates.
Location: There is a mall nearby and places to eat. The hotel is close to bus stops to take you to different attractions.
My expectations were not really high after reading the reviews. However, I found this hotel pleasing for the location and cleaniness of the room. Sudhir at the reception was fantastic, he was so helpful and always had a smile to welcome my friend and I. He made my stay here a more comfortable one. The breakfast is nothing to write home about but it is filling. The location of this hotel is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2016 by Roger Mathey, Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words in regards to your stay with us. I am sorry we could not provide real plates but as we have no real dishwashing capability, we do try to give our guests the next best thing in our complimentary continental breakfast. We do think our location is convenient for its centrality and the bus line in front goes to some of the city’s biggest attractions. Thank you for recognizing Sudhir, one of our Guest Service Agents, and we’re glad he could make your stay more comfortable. Our entire team works to make it an enjoyable experience for all our guests. We hope to see you again the next time you stay in San Francisco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: location, cleanliness
Cons: room size, amenities
Location: the Ballet, and dance studios
Very friendly staff, clean but small room, very close to the opera house ( the reason for my stay)
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2016 by Roger Mathey, Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the location, found the hotel clean, and were met by our friendly staff. As a building that is over 100 years old, we do have rooms of varying sizes and I apologize if you found yourself in a room that was too small for your liking. It is nice that the Opera House is within walking distance from us (as well as a number of other venues). We do hope you’ll come back again and that we might be able to find you a bigger room to stay in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming older Hotel close to Union Square

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: facilities; proximity to major amenities
Older hotel, relatively well maintained/updated. Close to China Town, Cable Car Turn-around; shopping and Civic Centre. Located on a main street so front room a little noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2016 by Roger, Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words regarding the Opal. We are over 100 years old, but we also believe it to be charming! We work hard at upgrading our property and recently installed new mattresses in all the rooms. We're glad you could take advantage of our central location with close access to Chinatown, the Cable Cars, Union Square, and the Civic Center. We are also close to Japantown, the theatre district, the Opera House, and a short bus ride from Fisherman's Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge. I do apologize about the outside construction going on in front of the building and hope it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Old hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Very old and had a scent to it close bus stop friendly staff but not somewhere we'd stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2016 by Roger Mathey, Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Our hotel is indeed old, over 100 years old(!), and has a lot of history to it. It was first opened right after the great earthquake. We are always working to upgrade the facility and provide our guests with modern conveniences like free WiFi and over 70 cable channels to choose from. Thank you for recognizing our friendly team members, as we all do work hard to make our guests have an enjoyable experience with us. We're sorry you don't think you would stay with us again, but we are constantly working at making improvements and hope you might at least consider us the next time you're in San Francisco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breakfast is good

Posted Jan 27, 2016
It's good,but the room space is so small.the breakfast there is rich,I love it.the parking fee is high.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Great stay, nice and clean!

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Clean Nice smelling lobby Good sized room for the price
Cons: Not sure, I think it was all great!
We stayed here while attending an event, and it was a great stay! Nice and close to many food options and a populous area of Van Ness ave. The lobby smelled very nice, staff was friendly and the room was clean and well equipped. I honestly have no complaints, it was a great stay and a great price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to amenities

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Enjoyed it. I recommend it. Close to movie theater and restaurants. Nice staff. Good breakfast. I will go again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Works great as a 2.5 star hotel. Central to a lot of things but a bit far from the nearest BART station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire England

Excellent hotel in city centre

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, excellent location, good value.
Cons: variety of food available at the buffet breakfast
Location: On Van Ness Avenue, theatre close by also films, cable car route to ferry Terminal and bayshore, nice places to eat and drink
Warm welcome, friendly helpful staff, very good room, free wifi, easy transport to down town (cable car) good transport to pacific coast and Golden Gate bridge (bus)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Horrible experience

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Upon arrival, the reception staff were rude and very unhelpful when an unforeseen charge appeared. The staff could care less to help resolve the issue. When we got to our room, which was right in front of the elevator, there was a huge stain on the carpet that looked like a crime scene blood stain. After dropping my bags and heading to the bathroom, 2 men approached my husband and demanded to be let into our room to check the WiFi because they were having problems throughout the building. When my husband requested they come back after I was out of the restroom, his request was ignored and they pushed their way into the room. The room was loud and not private. The view was of a wall. The parking was expensive. I will never stay here again! Big mistake!