Ratings based on 4,464 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the daily rate

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Too small for 4 people, uncomfortable, Only one side of the room was able to watch tv and AC only reach one side as well, I will not be staying there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get car garage!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Hotel is in downtown area , is mostly clean , just carpet had a rusty odor , comfy bed . Bad thing is that there is not parking near hotel and hotel offer it but is so small and is first come first serve. Get car garage even prices are too too high but they secure really good your car . We didnt get it because we tought is to expensive for one night and left car to one of streets next day got suprise that a homeless broke into the car , got a broken window. didnt took anything from car , we had chips only and everything was there, homeless wasnt hungry just looking for something valuable or money
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zu empfehlen

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Die Lage ist gut man kommt mit dem Bus überall hin. Das Zimmer ist etwas älter ausgestattet wäre schön wenn man ein paar Steckdosen mehr hätte und eine Deckenlampe, an sonsten ist aber alles Top. Das Frühstück ist sehr gut für Amerikanische Verhältnisse man kriegt von Brot bis zu Obst alles außer Fleisch. Es gibt sogar Nutella ;)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Friendly Great customer service
Cons: Parking
Location: Close to downtown Close to Consulates
Friendly Great customer service Close to downtown Breakfast included Coffee all day Comfortable Friendly Great customer service Close to downtown Breakfast included Coffee all day Comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, close to the union squer

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Good for couple day stay and close to the cable car and chine town
Cons: I missed some sausages or scrambled egg from the continental breakfast
Location: Unfortunately the area is not too good. The streets between the hotel and the union squer are full of homless and stranger Cable car and chine town
nice hotle with good staff. Unfortunately the area is not too good. The streets between the hotel and the union squer are full of homless and strange peoples. Daytime is ok but in the evening is not too good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chico, Ca

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The hotel was nice considering it was 108 yrs old. Staff was friendly and the rooms were comfortable. My only complaint is that there was a lamp between two double beds that was way too big and everytime you turned over you hit your head. Would be nice if there was a sitting chair in the room and the traffic was loud all night but to be expected.. it's SF. Continental breakfast was very good. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice hotel at a great price

Posted Jul 11, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at The Opal. The room was very clean, and the beds were very comfortable after long days of sight seeing. The breakfast was good enough to get you going for the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful! The price was very reasonable compared to other hotels in the same area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trondheim, Norway

Great hotel not too far from Union Square!

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Hotel was surprisingly pretty good! Not too far from Union square and close to a lot of other tourists attractions. Beds were super soft and the breakfast was great too! the downsides were that the hotel room Didn't have many outlets to charge electronics, so we(a group of 3) had to switch who was charging! And sink in the bathroom didn't have much space for us three girls to put all our stuff on lol.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

It's a place to sleep

Posted Jul 7, 2016
We booked the room with 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa bed. The restroom door kept getting stuck and had to be opened from the room side. The carpet are outdated and old. It was a place a to sleep
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Very friendly staff.

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Good room. Comfy bed. Breakfast buffet needs a bit more of a upgrade with choices.