Ratings based on 4,907 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2017
We enjoyed our stay especially the last 2 nights. Only thing missing was a ref. Good location. Easy getting around to the wharf and other sites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We will be adding refrigerators to our renovated room soon. Maybe the next time you visit San Francisco you will be able to see the completed renovated rooms! I hope you have a great day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Near Dallas, TX

Opal and no free breakfast

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Remodeled rooms. Old world charm in the lobby. Convenient to transport.
Cons: Be honest about changes such as dropping the free breakfast.
Location: Handy on Van Ness. About a short mile from BART. Near by bus and cable car transport. Japan Town just over the hill.
One of the features we have enjoyed about the Opal over 10 years was the free breakfast. It was mentioned in the confirmation and on the Opal web site one day after we checked out. So, when asking: What time is breakfast? To be told Saturday June 3, 2017 that breakfast had been discontinued at the end of the prior week was startling. While Mel's Drive in is next to the Opal this resulted in an expected $ 90 cost for 2 people over 4 mornings. If you are going to change the terms of service fine; that's the right of business. But tell the confirmed guest of the change and change the web site nearly 10 days after the change.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Paul: Thank you for taking the time to write about and rate your stay with us. Guest comment help independent hotels like ours by letting people know what we are doing right and letting us know what we need to work in. I am sorry you were not informed about the cancellation of the complimentary continental breakfast in advance. We have tried to let guests know who reserved the rooms before we stopped doing the breakfast when they check in so they can re-evaluate their options. Thank you again and I hope you have a good day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
Hotel room was redone, very comfortable. Staff are extra gracious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about and rate your stay with us. Independent hotels such as ours value guest comments greatly. They let people know what we are doing right. They also let us know what we need to work on. I appreciate your good words about the room and staff and we hope to see you the next time you are in San Francisco and get that extra star! I hope you have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mumbai

Very good hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: central location and the clean rooms.
Location: walking distance from union square of around 15 min. Good food options all around the place. Rent a car near by. Parking space ample though at cost.
This hotel is extremely well situation in the heart. food options lots of them available round the clock. the breakfast are is spacious. Connectivity by bus is good .
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Vasant: Thank you for taking the time to write about and rate your stay with us. Independent hotels such as outs are greatly helped by guest reviews. They let people know what we are doing right and let us know what we need to work on. Thank you for all your kind words regarding your stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Francisco!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Horrible!!!!!!!! Don't do it!!!!!!! Omg Stay Away!

Posted May 23, 2017
First of all the person picking up the phone is rude, yelled at me because I asked her to repeat her self... the front desk made me wait for 15 min to check in while they were just talking to each other about god knows what laughing.... finally got to my room and there was a hurrible tar smell which activated my allergies when I called down stairs and complained they said turn the AC unit on, but the AC didn't work.... so I asked to move a room, their respond was you need to pay more for a different room.... even though that smell was definitely carcinogenic and they just didn't care. After 8x of calling down stairs the receptionist agreed to to send an engineer up stairs to fix the AC unit, but after waiting for 3.5 hours and no one showed up I checked out a day early. They did not appolegize for the stay, the engineer never showed up, and no refunds were made. They even charged me for a full stay of parking cost and I wasn't even there for the last day. I will not reccomand this place to anyone, I have found a place for 79$ a night "inn" which was 10x better than this place and the costumer service was amazing too! Look at other options, run away from this place!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Roger, Assst General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Guest reviews let us know what we need to improve on and after reading your review, I see a lot of things that we need to work on. We don't have two people working at the front desk but if our guest service agent was talking with someone else and not helping you, I will look into it. I am going to look into the tar smell and see why no one helped you with your a/c. If you would like to contact me about refunding you for the parking you did not use, I would be happy to. My name is Roger and I am the Asst General Manager. You can call me at the hotel. I would call you but we don't have any information on how to contact you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and good location

Posted May 18, 2017
Cons: It would have been lovely to get something salty in breakfast. Now that was very sweet.
We were travelling with kids and very satisfied with everything in this hotel. Location was good, hotel was very clean etc. Room was big enogh for all 5 of us.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about and rate your stay at our hotel. Independent hotels such as ours are greatly helped by guests comments. They let people know what we are doing right. They also let us know what we need to work on. We are going to be discontinuing our complimentary continental breakfast. It seems to be something many people have not been satisfied with. I am glad the room was what you needed as well as the location. Thank you and I hope you have a good day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Karamsad

Nice Hotel

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Rooms
The hotel is good. However it is near Tenderloin area which is notorious for homeless people and poor neighborhood. Hence we cannot use it to walk to meetings nearby. The location apart it is a good hotel with good staff. The breakfast is poor with no protein content at all. Very few fruits too. It has good restaurant next door which i did not try. Mels Drivein has a separate entrance for Hotel Guests and i guess it is a nice place for quiet dinners.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Rogerm Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about and rate your stay at our hotel. Independent hotels such as ours are greatly helped by guests comments. They let people know what we are doing right. They also let us know what we need to improve upon. We will be discontinuing our complimentary continental breakfast as it seems many people do not like the choices we have to offer. Thank you for the kind words regarding the staff. I think we have a great team working here and they do try hard to assist our guests with whatever they need. Thank you and I hope you have a good day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Quaint, comfy hotel

Posted May 7, 2017
Location: Great location, bus stop right out front.
The hotel decor is quaint and matches the age of the hotel without being tacky or feeling too old. Great hot shower and heater, although the heater was a tad noisy. Staff very accommodating, and the free coffee was a great way to start the day. Didn't have the breakfast, but it looked good.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Sarah: Thank you for taking the time to write everything and evaluate your stay with us. Independent hotels like ours is greatly helped by the comments. They let people know what we are doing right and let us know what we need to work on. Thanks again for your comments and wish you a nice day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good independent hotel in good location

Posted May 3, 2017
Excellent, helpful and welcoming staff. Room was comfortable, spacious and clean. Tea/coffee available all day in reception area. Fast free WiFi which made the kids happy. No on site restaurant but 24 hour diner next door and continental breakfast available in hotel. Great value, great location - no need to book a hotel chain with independents like this around.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
To The Harveys: Thank you for taking the time to write about and rate your stay with us. Independent hotels such as ours rely heavily on guest comments. They let people know what we are doing right and let us know what we need to work on. I am happy to read your comments about the staff. We know we are a 109 year old hotel and guest service is something we strive hard to make our guests feel like family. Thank you for all your good words regarding or 24 hour coffee station, our free wifi, and our complimentary continental breakfast. Thank you again and I hope you have a great day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san gabriel. ca

Small anticuado noisy

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Old mattresses old towels small room needs plugs to charge phones. Expensive overnight parking $47.50 night.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Roger, Asst General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the time to discuss your stay in our hotel. Guest reviews help independent hotels like ours by letting people know what we are doing correctly and letting us know what we need to work on.. We have been working hard to remodel and upgrade the rooms and are working floor by floor to upgrade our 109 year old building. We will be adding more outlets into the new rooms as well as all new bedding and towels. We do try to charge a competitive rate for our on-site, secured and gated parking with personal remote and 24 hour in and out privileges. . Thank you again for writing! I hope that you have a good day.