Ratings based on 4,475 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel for an OK price

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Reasonably cheap, reasonably well located.
Cons: Hotel very dated, cleanliness only ok. Very very noisy.
The Opal is a fine hotel for downtown SF. It's not great, it's not terrible. My ground floor room was very very noisy. Road noise, pedestrian noise, construction noise. I spend at least 25% of the year on the road and can do with some fairly noisy rooms. This was a bit too much. Noise from neighboring rooms and the hallway pretty loud too. That goes with the territory of older SF hotels mind you, nothing special there. Zero hot water was available the night I checked in, it was ok the morning after though. Don't let the breakfast factor into your decision, it's some bread, toasters, and stale pastries. Plenty of great breakfast in the area that will be a little more filling. Would I stay here again? Yea probably. The price was right and the city can get pretty expensive at times. Would I recommend it to someone on vacation? No. Spend a bit more and get something a little nicer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Posted Jul 27, 2016
The hotel has a very good location the room where I stayed had a nice view
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Hotel room was very spacious and clean. The staff was friendly. The one thing I didnt like was the price of parking $48 is way too much.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A small room, a bit tight on space, clean enough

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Proximity to financial district.
Very small room but the space was clean enough... feels like an old hotel. Carpet and sheets are a bit worn but everything worked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the daily rate

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Too small for 4 people, uncomfortable, Only one side of the room was able to watch tv and AC only reach one side as well, I will not be staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Roger - Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear that the room was too small. Did you have one of our double bedrooms? We do try to accommodate our guests needs in regards to rooms and many are different sizes and configurations due to the building being over 100 years old. Thank you for addressing this to our attention. The best way for us to improve is through the comments and suggestions of our guests!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get car garage!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Hotel is in downtown area , is mostly clean , just carpet had a rusty odor , comfy bed . Bad thing is that there is not parking near hotel and hotel offer it but is so small and is first come first serve. Get car garage even prices are too too high but they secure really good your car . We didnt get it because we tought is to expensive for one night and left car to one of streets next day got suprise that a homeless broke into the car , got a broken window. didnt took anything from car , we had chips only and everything was there, homeless wasnt hungry just looking for something valuable or money
Comment from Hotel Management
by Roger - Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Angela: Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Opal. I know parking can seem expensive, as it is around the city, but we do try to price it lower than most and our parking is at the hotel and we do provide secured parking with 24 hour in and out privileges, but we do have limited spaces. I am sorry to hear that your car was broken into on the street. It is a huge problem around the whole city and we try to warn our guests of this issue. Even if someone finds us too expensive, we will try to suggest other facilities in the area because we hate to hear stories of like what happened with you. Thank you for letting us know what happened. We do hope the rest of your stay in San Francisco was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zu empfehlen

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Die Lage ist gut man kommt mit dem Bus überall hin. Das Zimmer ist etwas älter ausgestattet wäre schön wenn man ein paar Steckdosen mehr hätte und eine Deckenlampe, an sonsten ist aber alles Top. Das Frühstück ist sehr gut für Amerikanische Verhältnisse man kriegt von Brot bis zu Obst alles außer Fleisch. Es gibt sogar Nutella ;)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Friendly Great customer service
Cons: Parking
Location: Close to downtown Close to Consulates
Friendly Great customer service Close to downtown Breakfast included Coffee all day Comfortable Friendly Great customer service Close to downtown Breakfast included Coffee all day Comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, close to the union squer

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Good for couple day stay and close to the cable car and chine town
Cons: I missed some sausages or scrambled egg from the continental breakfast
Location: Unfortunately the area is not too good. The streets between the hotel and the union squer are full of homless and stranger Cable car and chine town
nice hotle with good staff. Unfortunately the area is not too good. The streets between the hotel and the union squer are full of homless and strange peoples. Daytime is ok but in the evening is not too good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chico, Ca

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The hotel was nice considering it was 108 yrs old. Staff was friendly and the rooms were comfortable. My only complaint is that there was a lamp between two double beds that was way too big and everytime you turned over you hit your head. Would be nice if there was a sitting chair in the room and the traffic was loud all night but to be expected.. it's SF. Continental breakfast was very good. I would definitely stay here again.