Ratings based on 679 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Eclectic hotel, a great find

Posted Jun 25, 2017
A little late noise from the courtyard, but not that big of a deal, everyone is pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Rock n Roll Chic

Posted May 26, 2017
The Phoenix more than lives up to its historic reputation. The staff were absolutely incredible and the rooms were some of the most spacious in SF. The pool and surrounding courtyard were beautifully maintained. The on-site restaurant/bar was top-notch. Overall class act.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Great staff, noisy night life

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The staff was great and the rooms were clean
Being unfamiliar with San Francisco, our group was a bit turned off by the neighbourhood but we felt very secure in the hotel as the staff was attentive and helpful and there was always someone at the front desk. Free parking was a bonus. On Saturday night we were kept awake by the bar in the courtyard, so just be aware that this is open on weekends. You may not get much sleep here, but if you came to the city for the night life than maybe this hotel is for you! I will not be returning for this reason.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to the center of city

Posted May 18, 2017
It is very nice hotel if you stay in San Francisco city. Price is reasonable even the hotel located in the center of city. You can walk to Union Square around 10 minutes. Furthermore, hotel staff are very kind so that you can feel very comfortable during your stay. I really recommend this hotel if you visit st San Francisco!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio , TX

Awesome Experience!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Clean rooms, AWESOME staff, fun retro decor, heated pool, and convenient location to several attractions!! Couldn't be any better. Great experience!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, close to union square and music venues

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: different layout than most hotels + close to the warfield
Location: union square, the warfield, crazy homeless people <3
everything was good. the heated pool is real nice. only thing bad was that the room smelled slightly musty when we first entered but other than that the whole experience was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel with happening night scene

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Cute and quaint hotel. Loved the free parking. Neighborhood is a little rough but the night scene was happening
5 out of 5
by STEPHANIE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel to stay

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly, free parking, free breakfast, free wifi. Walking distance to may attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Think twice about the location!

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
The room is spacious and come with heater (for a few raining nights which is bit cold). It's clean and come with a swimming pool view. There are no windows but with one side of the wall with huge glass panels which we keep them private with curtains covered up all the time. It looks exactly like the motel setting when we watched Hollywood movies. The staff who received us at the reception is friendly and nice. It's everything you would expect from a hotel. Now, for not so glamourous part of the stay. We didn't know about the location (Eddy street/ Hyde Street) until we are physically there. Lots of homeless people stayed along the streets. We are told these people are harmless but we never walked around the area late night- Most nights we took Uber back to hotel. Most nights we could hear police car siren down the street. And walking steps and chit-chatting of next doors along the corridor. Staying here really give us a totally different view of the city. I guess we would think twice if I would come back to this side of the city. But I guess things would only get better in future!