Ratings based on 673 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Rock n Roll Chic

Posted May 26, 2017
The Phoenix more than lives up to its historic reputation. The staff were absolutely incredible and the rooms were some of the most spacious in SF. The pool and surrounding courtyard were beautifully maintained. The on-site restaurant/bar was top-notch. Overall class act.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Great staff, noisy night life

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The staff was great and the rooms were clean
Being unfamiliar with San Francisco, our group was a bit turned off by the neighbourhood but we felt very secure in the hotel as the staff was attentive and helpful and there was always someone at the front desk. Free parking was a bonus. On Saturday night we were kept awake by the bar in the courtyard, so just be aware that this is open on weekends. You may not get much sleep here, but if you came to the city for the night life than maybe this hotel is for you! I will not be returning for this reason.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to the center of city

Posted May 18, 2017
It is very nice hotel if you stay in San Francisco city. Price is reasonable even the hotel located in the center of city. You can walk to Union Square around 10 minutes. Furthermore, hotel staff are very kind so that you can feel very comfortable during your stay. I really recommend this hotel if you visit st San Francisco!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio , TX

Awesome Experience!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Clean rooms, AWESOME staff, fun retro decor, heated pool, and convenient location to several attractions!! Couldn't be any better. Great experience!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, close to union square and music venues

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: different layout than most hotels + close to the warfield
Location: union square, the warfield, crazy homeless people <3
everything was good. the heated pool is real nice. only thing bad was that the room smelled slightly musty when we first entered but other than that the whole experience was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel with happening night scene

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Cute and quaint hotel. Loved the free parking. Neighborhood is a little rough but the night scene was happening
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly room!

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff; funky vibe.
Cons: The smell in the rooms.
We decided to take a chance on this hotel because we only needed to stay for one short night in SF, and it had 4 star Expedia ratings at the time. However it was a HUGE disappointment! The room had a strong foul odor, and when trying to sleep with the fan on to hide the room's odor, we couldn't because the mattress smelled awful. (It was so late at night that we didn't have energy to raise the issue at 1 a.m.). We felt ill the next day. The only good thing about this hotel is the front desk staff as they were consistently helpful with directions and suggestions of where to walk safely around town and recommendations of what to see. When notified of the smell in the room upon check out they took it seriously and began looking into it right away.
5 out of 5
by Luis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Legendary digs

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
super friendly, courteous, clean, full of art. not for the marriott set, this property is amazingly unique. hung out here with a band years ago, the place is much better now than in it's funkified yet sketchy past. legendary.