Ratings based on 2,231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Nice location, but I think it is too expensive for its condition. Really nice and helpful staff. Good food
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Great location down town.
Cons: Needs to have some infrastructure upgrades.
On the 8th floor, there is almost no water pressure for the showers.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

shambles

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Upon arrival was asked for card details for any extras however didnt mention would take $50, checked out this hotel mid july and still havrnt received this back yet. Avoid
Comment from Hotel Management
by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, The authorization amount for $50 was released upon check out. Depending on your bank, it may take 3-10 business days to release the amount on hold in your account. For foreign debit cards it may take up to 30 days. Regards, The Pickwick Hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Disappointing Stay - Old Building, Horrible Shower

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The location was not bad, if you'll be traveling to south to the Valley, but want to stay in SF.
Cons: See my earlier description
Location: You're a short walk up to Market Street and then to Union Square, which are always worth a stroll. The trolleys are around the corner.
I stayed at the Pickwick for four nights on a work trip. We picked it because of its proximity to the Caltrain - which wasn't remarkably close anyway, but the location was okay for SF visitors. My room was underwhelming in general. Fine, no outstanding amenities. The building felt old, and not updated anytime recently. Day 1 - The mini-fridge had a solid rattle which kept me up at night, needed to unplug it. My room overlooked the roof of a shorter building which had a noisy air conditioning unit which would wake me up when it restarted. Day 2 - Woke up to find out there had been a two hour blackout in the hotel, so my digital clock was wrong and could only be corrected by the staff. Then had an awful shower, which is tough to explain. It had one knob, off when pointing straight up. If you turned it to the right, you got cold water. To the left, hot water. But no way to get warm water. It felt like some scenario interview question at Google that I wasn't smart enough to figure out. I found out that my co-workers had their own special issues with their rooms and various noises. I complained to the staff, which got my clock fixed, no change to my shower - I spent the rest of my days turning the knob back and forth during showers to avoid freezing and burning. I'm not quite sure about the fridge, whether it was replaced or not, but it rattled less. Things were pretty uneventful for the next few days, until I was woken up on my last morning by a fire alarm. Yay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Cold showers and poor customer service

Posted Jul 6, 2016
My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for three nights for the last leg of our California vacation. We were happy with the size of our room since it was much larger than we expected, and we also liked the location of the hotel. Unfortunately we did not have ANY hot water in our room during our entire stay at the Pickwick. After chilly/windy days touring around the city, this was not an ideal situation to come back to. I let the front desk know, and she said she would let maintenance know. No one followed up with us, and it didn't get fixed. After our second round of ice cold showers the next day, we went back down to the front desk and spoke with a woman who told us that it was going to be looked into and that they had been having problems with their boiler. It wasn't until we asked for the manager to call us directly (since the front desk staff provided us with no help or answers), that we were given an apology. The manager did offer a small reimbursement, but that didn't fix our problem! Our water problem was ice cold our entire stay. Thankfully we were only there three nights. In addition, after we had been storing items in our fridge, we learned that it hadn't been working. My husband and I are very flexible and easy going people, but we would not stay at this hotel again. There were too many issues we dealt with during a short stay. We would have much rather spent more money to have stayed at a higher quality hotel where we would have been more comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal, canada

Good location

Posted Jul 5, 2016
rooms need to be refurbished in general; mostly shower is old and the hot water takes time to leave. the rest seems correct.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Great Hotel !! Great location !! Great Staff

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Will be my choice during my next San Francisco trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Allen Allgood, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us and mentioning our staff! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return. Allen Allgood, Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Booked this hotel at last minute due to a previous booking at another hotel being below standard. Staff were helpful & curteous. Room was clean, tidy. Only criticisms were the room was very noisy due to traffic and location of hotel, hence has to be accepted when booking. The only other criticism was the lack of hot water this was only ever warm never hot and the water had to be run for a long time to achieve any reasonable temperature.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southern UT

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Room was newly renovated, and was very clean, but building is very old and elevator very small. The bed was very comfortable. Needs some counter space in the bathroom, there was none!
3 out of 5
by Jill from Denver

Loud part of the city / close to shopping

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
it was a nice stay, however they should hand out earplugs as it is crazy loud.