Ratings based on 2,440 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing and misleading

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness, sound proofing
The pictures and descriptions were all super pleasant online but upon arrival the paint in the rooms was chipping, the walls were super thin and it just didn't feel clean. I could hear the conversations of the guests in the next room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt lake city,utah

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Nice hotel! The rooms were old but it was very well kept! The staff was helpful and friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Online Pics are deceiving.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: location close to Union Square Cons: location is surrounded by homeless, only two slow elevators for visitors and staff, not enough staff to help with luggage, hotel is outdated and in dire need of upgrades, parking is $46 a night, tiny bathrooms (and you can hear conversations from neighboring rooms through the bathroom vents). What you see online isn't necessarily what you get when you arrive. Definitely not returning to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, North Carolina

The staff at the PickWick Hotel are exceptional!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel; the staff was exceptional and the food at the Soma was exquisite!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tustin, CA

Good alternative at reasonable price

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff very friendly
Location: Easy access to BART.
Needed a hotel for biz stay. Good location and very fair price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pros and cons

Posted Jun 7, 2017
This place had great location, clean rooms and a good price for being central San Francisco. The problem is that the walls were thin and you can hear lots of noise from the outside. Also our bathroom door was very hard to open and I got stuck in the bathroom once.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017
The room was small but that was okay. The bed, however, was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. Seriously, I'd rather have a sleeping bag on the floor. By the end of the week my hips, back, and neck was so sore I could barely stand up when I woke up (think Seinfeld). If that wasn't bad enough, the bed was exceptionally loud. Sounded like empty plastic water bottles. Ever time you move, roll over, or just sit on the edge you'd hear this loud sound. So even when you eventually fall asleep despite the discomfort, you'd wake up if you rolled over. The only priority of a hotel should be to create a lovely peaceful sleeping environment. Please invest more in your beds!!! The low rating for cleanliness is because there were toenail clippings next to the bed when we checked in. After that it was clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pickwick

Posted May 31, 2017
Fridge was unplugged, plug invisible. Shower set wobbled in a wall, temp control uncontrollable. Food - great restaurant adjacent to hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Near by city centre. Stylish rooms.

Posted May 27, 2017
All good. We stayed only for one night but stylish and well kept room. For the price level in San Francisco definitely more than good. Make sure you bring some water with you as the rooms are very "toasty" and the complimentary water "FIJI" but 3 dollars for half liter
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good value

Posted May 19, 2017
Older hotel that hasn't been updated very well. The sink is very small with no room for toiletries; one morning there was no hot water; no in-hotel restaurant; no breakfast. Cost was over $300/night. The hotel did not meet expectations at the price level.