Ratings based on 2,339 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Great location!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pleasant surprise and great value. Would recommend to others!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Nice location pleasant staff, dated hotel, noisy

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The staff and the location
Cons: It a very old building and the bathrooms are very small. not sure it could really be improved without a major overhaul. Some renovations!
Location: you are close to everything
The hotel is very noisy. The staff is nice. the location is great. They do a good job cleaning the room. The carpets are getting warn especially in the common areas, the bathrooms are small, the restaurant is nice and clean also. The major problem is the nightly deliveries. The building literally shakes with all the trucks making deliveries in the middle of the night. Very noisy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but old elevators too noisy

Posted Jan 24, 2017
I had a nice stay at this hotel. Its a very quaint and old building, but adds to the vibe. Excellent location and very clean rooms. My only real issue was that the old elevator makes a very loud squeaking noise that could be heard from my room (which was actually far away from the elevator) and kept waking me up all night. I had to wear some ear buds which reduced the noise enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017
I stayed midweek with my 10yo daughter. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were courteous and helpful. The building was clean, comfortable and had a little old San Francisco charm. I'd also recommend the restaurant and bar off the lobby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

Posted Dec 19, 2016
You rent a room in a historic hotel and you know it won't be the most comfortable room ever, but they could buy some new mattresses so at least you can sleep comfortably. I wanted to be in downtown so I didn't mind the noise and the building was really cool and fun to stay in but it sadly feels more rundown than "restored".
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Power or Heat

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Better power
Arrived at hotel and was sent to a room with no power. Several rooms had no power. There was power everywhere else on the street. Had to go to another hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Very central

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Cons: The lifts were somewhat erratic
Location: Very close to all main public transport
Pickwick is very close to the main transport systems of the city and shops etc . For access to and from the airport using BART rail it is perfect location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel near shopping areas

Posted Dec 13, 2016
I stayed at Pickwick Hotel over Thanksgiving weekend and I feel like I paid WAY too much for the quality of stay. They told us they gave us a free upgrade... I can't imagine how small our regular room would have been.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Close to all the fun stuff!

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Cons: Although the room was not so cold, it would have been nice to have a working heater
Location: Next to the mall
The bell man was so helpful with my luggage. It was very quick and easy to check in. The room was clean and the beds very amazingly comfortable. Overall, it was a nice stay. Not luxurious but definitely perfect for sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only thing good was the location

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Nice staff but rooms are so small you have to crawl over the bed to get to the other side of the room. Good location. Cold water. Could hear the person in the next room snoring.