Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: The daily breakfast, snacks, and drinks at the Club level. I'd recommend the upgrade to Club Level.
Location: Quick access to everything in the downtown San Francisco area.
Very nice hotel. It is what you would expect from a Ritz-Carlton hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oman and california

the club rooms are well worth the extra cost.

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: the maid service was excellent. My mother had a surprise 96th birthday and the pastry chef made us delicious cupcakes at our request. Candles sparkled
Cons: nothing really
Location: great location
felt pampered and taken care of just like I needed. absolutely top drawer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegantes typisches Ritz, jedoch sehr hellhörig

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Hotelstandard (bis auf Hellhörigkeit der Zimmer) toll, exzellente Lage.
Cons: Zimmer müssen besser schallgedichtet werden.
Location: Im Stadtzentrum befindliches Hotel - neben einer cable-Car Linie, Nähe Union Square, direkt neben China town.
Elegantes Hotel mit schöner eleganter Bar im Eingangsbereich. Wirkt in der Lobby klein. Zimmer schön und groß. Allerdings waren die Räume so hellhörig, dass man chinesische Zimmernachbarn so laut hörte, als sei fast keine Trennwand. Beim Check-out waren Gäste vor mir, die um einen Zimmertausch baten ... Falls sie buchen, stellen Sie zumindest sicher, dass es keine Verbindungstür zu einem Nachbarzimmer gibt - diese scheinen auf jeden Fall nicht gut schallgedichtet. In Summe tolles Hotel, das ich jedoch nicht wieder besuchen würde, wegen der schlaflosen Nacht. Preis auch typisch hoch ... und dann dürften solche Ausfälle nicht sein.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Expected 5 star, got more!!

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Absolutely blown away, we got the presidential treatment for our anniversary trip. Always the best place in SF and will certainly be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

It is The Ritz Carlton!

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Pros: Location, service, staff, gym
Cons: Everything was perfect!
Location: It is near to China Town and Union Square. Street car just over the corner. Plenty of shopping around. Nice little restaurants in the vicinity.
This is the perfect hotel to be in San Francisco ! The Ritz Carlton stands for its name. The location is perfect, rooms are impeccably clean, staff is polite and professional, gym is spacious and equipment is modern. What else do you need to be perfectly happy? The weather was rainy during my stay in San Francisco. I did not find it an issue - my room was so cozy, that I didn't feel going out at all! Thank you for making me comfortable at The Ritz Carlton in SF!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shanghai

Hotel and Expedia not coordinated

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: Not modern facilities and for price overpaid
Cons: Remove from Expedia offering as 5 star experience
Hotel will not honor membership program if pay through Expedia. No notification of Expedia at booking of hotel. I will discontinue using Expedia. Only 1 restaurant so how can rate 5 star hotel by Expedia??????
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Terrific

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Everything always is terrific at the Ritz. Never had a bad experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exactly what I expected.

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Clean, comfortable, and the guest service was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from ville de Québec

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: La localisation,sa propreté et la gentillesse des employés
Cons: Ne pas attribué une chambre avec des problèmes connus,car cela commence très mal un voyage pour le client
Location: Excellent!
En arrivant ils nous ont donné une chambre qui avait un problème d'odeur (cuissons de restaurant) et la partie de chambre avec le lit ne disposais pas de fenêtre Alors en plus de 350 voyages à vie,cette chambre a été la plus mauvaise de toutes Autre élément surprenant pour un établissement de ce calibre, le seul Resto de l'hôtel est fermé le lundi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Excellent location, warm staff, facilities average

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Staff, decor
Cons: facilities in lobby area, fixture.
First, the great part of the experience: location is great. Right on chinatown and close to several great little restaurants that the City is famous for. The hotel building is very regal. Although classic is not my style, I enjoyed the historic/heritage architecture. The hotel staff was very very nice. They went out of their way to make it a memorable stay for us (we were celebrating hubby's landmark birthday). We were given a really nice room. Everyone whom we bumped into, had a warm smile and they were genuinely interested in helping!! (I mean the staff, not the guests. Quite a few guests were very uppity. Heard in the elevator: "xxx says he is a type guy. Donno how he does it?!!") The room decor is very modern, classy, muted. Very relaxing. Bathroom is exquisite. The double vanity, the crystal knobs, the marble, the trims and moldings - everything is really nice. It was also a spotlessly clean room. What left something to be desired, was the quality of fixtures. The toilet in the lobby area would not flush properly even after trying multiple times. In the room, the shower could only be so hot. It was still comfortable, so did not have to deal with cold water, but could have dispensed hotter temperature water. In my opinion, if you end up thinking in a 5-star hotel "my home xxx (shower/toilet/whatever) works better than this" -- then it is a bit of a bummer, isn't it? That happened to me a sometimes. That aside, highly recommeded!!