Ratings based on 1,228 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will be back

Posted May 15, 2016
Had a great time. Hotel staff was so amazing. Pool, hot tub and steam room were terrific to use. Being on top of nobb hill was the place to be. So safe and so beautiful. We will be using this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LOS CABOS, MEXICO

Wonderful Anniversary Gateaway

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: I like everything, my room was amazing, the staff is very polite and helpful, they gave us an upgrade to a better room than the one we booked.
Cons: The WiFi connection should be in the room rate, nobody likes to pay for it, its better to increase the rate and include the internet, not big deal
Location: Location is very nice, close walking to the main attractions like Union Square,we had the best stake ever at OSSO RESTAURANT STAKE HOUSE, 1 block away
This hotel is wonderful, now is in my 10 favorite hotel list around the world, i like the decoration, the location is the best in San Francisco, very nice neighborhood, its in Nob hill so the views are amazing, quite area but still close to the main atractions, posh and trendy restaurants around it, we will return for sure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location with views.

Posted May 13, 2016
The concierge service was excellent. The staff upgraded our room and the view was excellent. Very quiet on our 12th floor room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2016
My fiancée and I eloped to San Francisco, stayed at the Scarlet. When the staff found out we were getting married, they gave us a free upgrade and sent up a bottle of bubbly. Staff was awesome, the bed was comfy, room was clean and the shower had great water pressure. Will be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Close to everything

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Its proximity to attractions and transport - cable car - very important in steep hilly San Francisco
Cons: cheaper breakfast option in the Big 4 Restaurant downstairs
Location: Cable car , Union Square, Union street and Chinatown
I liked how I could walk ten -fifteen minutes each way and I could be at a great attraction/location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Posted Apr 20, 2016
The hotel is wonderful-the staff exceptional! Our dinners at the Big 4 restaurant were truly some of the best in SF!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classic boutique elegant

Posted Apr 20, 2016
The staff, spa and bar are all truly wonderful. I would stay here again. However, the room design is awkward with a lot of wasted space and the towels and sheets are not as luxurious as expected in a hotel of this caliber. The towels were like those at a nice gym but not a luxury hotel. Also, they charge for Internet access which I don't find acceptable today.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Fantastic hotel - great 5 star experience

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Character, atmosphere, amenities, restaurant and bar, location.
We were very pleased with our choice - Nob Hill is definitely THE area to stay - a short walk to the Union Square shopping and all the buzz and business district. Nob Hill area is classy and chic. We loved the spa, pool and the patio - gives you something extra to do for down time. Restaurant downstairs is quite a popular place for locals - bar is the best. Definitely has got so much character. Room is great - specious, bed is comfortable, bathroom is decent size. Definitely 5 star. I wish reception staff was more attentive. Every time you come in the doors they seem to be super busy and never notice you. They never asked how we are finding our stay and whether we need anything. This is just something you would expect from a 5 star hotel I think. Although they were friendly when approached. So I think this is something that could be improved.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great hotel and location

Posted Apr 7, 2016
I would recommend this hotel to anyone stayin in San Francisco. Anything and everything is located minutes walking distance. The staff is very friendly and helping, but the rooms could use some remodeling. Overall a great 5 night stay at the hotel and would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great historic hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Room was comfortable and spacious with a great view!
Located on top of Nob Hill and across from the park where events occur throughout the weekend.