Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel idéal pour ballades à pied dans la ville

Posted May 14, 2013
Pros: situation géographique
Cons: lenteur de l'ascenseur
Location: idéal
bon rapport qualité prix pour cet hôtel très bien situé, à l'accueil chaleureux et à 2 pas d'Union square, du câble car et des compagnie de location de voiture (rue d'à côté).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

料金相応

Posted May 6, 2013
Pros: 立地条件
Cons: ベットサイドライトが点かなかった
星2つが妥当な古めかしいホテルでした。 周囲のホテルに比べれば安価に泊まれたので、まあまあ満足です。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A quiet oasis

Posted May 6, 2013
Pros: Staff were always cheerful.
Cons: new carpet in my room. it feels dirty. and NEW PILLOWS please. they were way overused, flat, icky.
Location: Great location. Walked to Polk for dinner. VanNess for the workshop. Easy bus service to Fisherman's wharf...
I had an internal room that was dark and very, very quiet. That served my needs well after days of workshop stimulation. Easy grocery nearby. A little sketchy at night but I was never hassled on the street.
2 out of 5
by Pneuma from Dallas, TX, USA

Very noisy hotel room

Posted Apr 29, 2013
Pros: location - close to downtown
Cons: street noise, small room, TV only has basic channels
Hotel rooms in downtown San Francisco are very expensive. This hotel is in a great location closed to Union Square. This hotel is relatively cheap compared to other hotels in the area. However, the hotel room is very small. The room is clean but I did find some residuals in the bath towel. The most disappointing part of my stay is the street noise. The wall is very thin and everything happened on street can be heard clearly in the room. I was unfortunate to stay in this hotel on a Saturday night and the noise was extremely loud even after midnight. If you want a quiet place to stay, I would recommend you go somewhere else.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Value in SF

Posted Apr 29, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Street noise
Location: The location is great just a few blocks from Union Square, the financial district, cable cars, BART and Muni.
The Touchstone offers great value in San Francisco. It is only a couple of blocks from Union Square and the financial district. There are no frills here but my room was clean and comfortable.. There was street noise until about 11 pm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel I have ever stayed at

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: Front desk lady, location
This was hands down the best hotel I have ever had the privilege of staying in! My girlfriend and I absolutely loved it and the British woman at the front desk was literally the sweetest most helpful concierge ever. She set us up on her own time with wine tasting ideas, hip breakfast places and just talked to us so genuinely. Fantastic small hotel rooms that gives you the best city expirience. I don't usually trust reviews, but trust me when I say you will NOT REGRET staying here! Thank you Touchstone!
4 out of 5
by nono from 日本, 東京都

安くてそこそこ立地も良いホテルを探しているなら…

Posted Mar 12, 2013
Pros: 部屋のコンパクトさ
Cons: 備品が微妙に足りなかったこと。シャワーのお湯が弱かったこと。
Location: 劇場前で近くの日本食レストランが人気で深夜まで人がそこそこいるので、安全なほうかも。すぐ近くにコンビニ的スーパーがあるのでそこはかなり便利。
入口が小さくてわかりにくく、ロビーのようなものもないのでびっくりするものの、ホテルそのものはきれいでロケーションもそれほど悪くなく、スタッフの対応も良い。劇場の前なので週末はややさわがしい可能性はある(今回は平日のみ宿泊だったので未確認)。 シングルルーム的な部屋に泊まったが、トイレとシャワールームがあるスペースと洗面台が別にある、というようにレイアウトがユニークだったものの部屋はあたたかく、照明もそこそこ明るく、テーブルは広く、収納スペースが豊富で居心地は悪くなかった。 設備はテレビがなぜか天井近くにあったり、細かいところではシャワーキャップやティッシュがなかったりと微妙なところもあったけれど、500mmボトルの水が2本無料サービスでついてきて、シャンプー、コンディショナー、ボディシャンプー、石鹸などのアメニティの内容は悪くなかった。ただし、シャワーは時間帯によってはやや出がわるく、使いにくいかも。 タオルも清潔。ルームサービスもていねい。ということで、夜は寝るだけでいいから安くて環境のそこそこいいところで泊まりたいという人にはオススメです。
4 out of 5
by Dani from Reno, NV

Always Fun in San Francisco

Posted Nov 26, 2012
Pros: Cozy and Cute, very San Francisco.
Cons: Nothing to report.
Location: Great location, by clubs, and Union Square.
We enjoy staying in this hotel because it feels like San Francisco. We can get anywhere in Union Square area on foot within 10 minutes. Public transportation gets us to the Wharf and Ghiradelli square with ease. The hotel is clean. The rooms are small but we don't spend much time there anyways and was perfect for two people. San Francisco doesn't sleep so there's noise at night, but that is to be expected and really not bothersome. Room is clean, shower is great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Biggest Bang for the Buck

Posted Jul 23, 2012
Pros: price & convenience
Location: downtown SF is like many other cities. It can be fun; but sometimes, you have to be careful.
This hotel is very affordable and very conveniently located. All in all, it is a good hotel for those who want to drop off your stuff and go out and see the city; and later come back and crash. It is very conveniently located, accessible to almost everything, including BART and other major transportation. As I suspect it is in most downtown hotels, you may hear some downtown noise; but, if you want to stay downtown, you have to accept the pros and the cons. Certainly you get a room at the Ritz; but, you will have to pay for it.
5 out of 5
by Craig from Reno, NV, USA

Love the Touchstone!

Posted Jul 5, 2012
Pros: The quaintness of the hotel
Location: PERFECT location near Union Square. Close to several bars, restaurants, and shopping.
I love this hotel. It is a very affordable hotel in SF close to Union Square. Its very clean and the staff is exceptional. The rooms are very small and quaint. It is an older hotel, but its got ambiance and is in a great location. This is my 2nd stay there and plan to return next time I am in SF.