Ratings based on 5,210 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction

Posted Mar 16, 2017
No water between 10am and 4pm...disappointing and expensive
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Nikki C, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Thank you for your review. We have had a few intermittent water shut offs related to our renovation but we always give our guests 24 hours of notice and we try to alleviate any disturbances by doing this during the hours when most guests are out enjoying our beautiful city! Warm Regards, Nikki Carlson General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the staff and renovations taking place.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
The staff was SO friendly and kind. They went above and beyond in service. Definitely coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Nikki C, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler! Thank you for the great review! I may be biased but I think our staff is the best also. We look forward to having you back soon. As of June we will be relaunching as Hotel Zoe with the same great staff but new decor and vibe so look for us under that name, Cheers, Nikki Carlson General Manger
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel was under significant renovations.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
My biggest complaint is that they should have told us. I communicated with the hotel twice before I visited, would have been easy to warn us that there was no lobby, had to enter into a side door into a construction zone. Staff were trying hard, but a lot of unhappy people which I think could have been avoided with communication. Location is perfect and I think will be a beautiful place once Reno is done.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

The hotel was under construction so loud

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Told that construction was going on. And when requested not to have a view of someone elses roof top and living quarters.
The hotel was under construction and we requested a room to check out the view. We got a View alright. Someones living quarters and a roof top. Will not stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Ambiance, location. Used to like the traditiinal San Francisco, north beach italian feel.
Cons: See above
Location: Fisherman's wharf
Was looking forward to relaxing in their lovely lobby they used tomhave. It was being demo"d, the elevator was a consrruction zone, the hallway. Had to walk up stairs with suitcases to,check in. Very disappointing. Had I been alerted to this at booking, would have been prepared. Not a cheap place to,stay either. They should at least compensate guests with free breakfasts or free overnight parking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience with no heads up!!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
We booked on Expedia for this hotel. We arrive and the hotel is pretty much mostly under construction. We payed a ridiculous price to deal with this. So much noise all hours of the night and day. It was very dirty. All the furniture in the rooms didn't match. It was like it was all from a yard sale. All the elevators, except one far away where out of order. The buisness center had no computer or printer. It was empty. The lobby was all stuffed into a little confrence room. Everything was boarded up. The staff was pretty nice but offered no compassion that no one notified us of this. We where there and stuck since we had already paid upfront. Not happy at all! This was maybe a 2-3 star hotel, max!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Nikki C, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We value all of our guests opinions and use it to improve our operation. I am sorry to hear that you were not notified of the renovation and that your found the project so disruptive to our stay. Our intentions are always to be transparent with our guests while still delivering top tier service. Unfortunately it sounds like this was not the case for you and for that I am sorry. Please know your feedback did not fall on deaf ears. Warm Regards, Nikki Carlson General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Central Location - But......

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: Larger rooms, in room coffee bar
Location: Fisherman's Wharf was only two blocks away. The trolley car depot was 1 block away.
Great location but.....the double queen room was small and the bathroom was even smaller. The bathroom sink/counter space was the size of an end table so very hard for 2 people to function. No coffee pot in the room so every morning had to go down to the make shift lobby to get coffee. The hotel is currently going through a renovation so the lobby was completely closed off. The first night, the air conditioner did not work at all however the staff quickly had it fixed the next day. For the cost of the hotel, I expected better accommodations. Nothing set this hotel apart from a Holiday Inn or Sheraton, which were right up the street and were priced cheaper. I only selected this hotel because of the high reviews.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Nikki C, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We value all of our guests feedback and we use it to improve our operation. Our renovation will be wrapping up in June of this year and we will re-launch as Hotel Zoe this summer, I hope you will give us another opportunity to 'WOW' you with our new style, decor, and amenities. Warm Regards, Nikki Carlson General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Hotel under renovation

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, large flat tvs, good location, good restaurant in the same building
Cons: Bathrooms need to be refurbished, some rooms with old motel-like wall-mounted AC units, front desk staff unfriendly, inconvenience due to construction
The hotel is being renovated and noisy construction is going on during the day. There is no lobby, just an access to the elevators. One of the two elevators is also used for construction materials. The reception is on a different entrance so after check-in you either take the stairs or get out and take another entrance to the elevators. Room furnishing and bathrooms are old to the point it makes you feel uncomfortable for a 4 star hotel. Staff is unwelcoming. Would not recommend at least until renovation is complete.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Nikki C, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. I am disappointed to read that you found the staff to be unwelcoming that is definitely not what we are striving for. Please know your feedback has not fallen on deaf ears and we will address these service flaws. Warm Regards, Nikki Carlson General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel service

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Very poor customer service! When checking I was told that there will be no water from 10am to 5pm! Manager said go out for the day and see San Francisco!! No offer of reduced price / free drink or even a breakfast voucher .. result will never stay there again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location, OK for short stay

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Coffeemaker in the room would be great, as well as express check-out.
Very central location, lot of attractions in walking distance. However the room was tiny, the fan in bathroom was just making some noise, no express check-out was possible and if you have to leave very early, no chance to get a coffee before 6 AM. However hotel is ok for short stay and probably after they have finished renovation everything might change.