Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: The location and the maids
Cons: upgrade room 2 a bit. I believe you need to be more clear about what room you are paying for.
Location: Great location. I would come to this location again but its questionable if I would stay here again or somewhere else.
We went away to SF for Valentines Day. When we booked the hotel we picked the option for a deluxe room and King bed which was extra. They showed different rooms that had different amenities and views. We paid extra supposedly for a deluxe room. The room we received was quite small and had a view of a wall where the staff came in and out of the kitchen. The toilet was not working at one point and I thought the room looked a little run down compared to other BB places I have stayed. On a positive note I loved the location next to the park and the church. The maids who came in were really helpful and kind. I found them more inviting then the hotel desk clerks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but not worth the stay.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Updating, updating, updating and some DEEP cleaning.
I LOVE the North Beach area of SF and they aren't many places to stay in that area, except for B&Bs...I just wouldn't stay at this one again. The shower drain was gross, had a lot of built up junk. The sink took FOREVER to drain. The towels were REALLY old. The room was REALLY small. There were no screens on the windows, so you had either a breeze or bugs/birds. And you could hear when someone was using the toilet...yes, EVERYTHING.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with convenient location!

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Location, staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Bulky furniture took up too much space; felt crowded. A table would be nice to eat breakfast in the room.
Location: We could easily walk to the Fisherman's wharf and tour pick up location.
We spent two nights here. Hotel room was very small but nice. We enjoyed the wine and tea time and met a lot of nice people from different states. The hotel was located close to the wharf and we were able to walk to many places. I would recommend staying here!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SHOULD HAVE KNOWN

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: BEAUTIFULLY WELL KEPT ~1900'S BUILDING.
Cons: POWER OUTLET ACCESS. TEMP CONTROL.
IT'S AN OLD, OLD HOTEL. IT IS WONDERFULLY QUAINT - WONDERFULLY, BUT, CAN'T FIND ELECTRICAL OUTLETS, NO TEMP CONTROL. NO FOR ME.
3 out of 5
by Mark

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
Old school style boarding house, great location near between the Wharf, North Beach, and financial district, staff is very nice and helpful, nice little breakfast, friendly place for people who are looking for a lower cost alternative to the big expensive SF hotels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located in North Beach!

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
This B & B is right in the center of North Beach in San Francisco. The best part is that it located across the street from Liguria Bakery ( THE BEST ficcaccia ever) and from Mama's restaurant. You are able to walk most everywhere in North Beach anf no need to use your car. The hotel staff is very accommodating and friendly. The wine and cheese in evening and breakfast are both very tasty!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel if you need to stay in the area

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location is good in a fun area of San Francisco
Cons: Room furnishings updated and staff noise levels
The hotel is a little dated and while the "period" theme of the hotel is fine it doesn't mean furnishings need to look tired and worn out. The staff are also unbelievably noisy which means no sleeping in
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect!

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I had a great time, walked everywhere, sat on a park bench and read, enjoyed meeting other guests over breakfast, and so much more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coastal South Carolina

Very small room

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: Great location with plenty of great nearby restaurants. Easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf and other attractions.
Lovely old building but room was a tight fit with luggage and no elevator, so travel light.