Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Basic old hotel in good location.

Posted Feb 21, 2018
Old hotel with very small rooms. Our room had a very musty smell and the bathrooms were dirty. Location and free breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great little place

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Absolutely loved it. We had the cozy room 15 very small but we loved our stay!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel in North Beach

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Proximity to restaurants and shopping
Cons: Outlets, fix fan above bed.
Location: Multiple restaurants right outside the hotel, Washington Square Park, Catholic church, Coit Tower, Shopping.
This is the second time we've stayed here. The hotel is an older hotel with antique furnishings. There is no elevator, but we choose a room that was one flight to the room. There are other rooms which have at least two flights of stairs. They have an agreement with a parking garage on Filbert and Columbus Ave. Since we were going to walk everywhere in North Beach, it was perfect. The room although "deluxe" was on the small side and it lacked sufficient outlets for appliances/iphone. The king size bed was comfortable and the bathroom although small had nice amenities. No view from the windows, but the room was quiet. During the afternoon they have coffee and tea and cookies and in the evening they have wine with cheese, crackers, olives and salami. A nice touch.At breakfast, you order what you want the night before and the time. It is delivered to your room, or you can have it at a communal table in the living room. The staff were friendly and accomodating. We would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just Not What It Can Be and Once Was

Posted Dec 23, 2017
I have been staying at the WSI 2-3 times a year for 30 years. The owners need to spend a few nights to assure it does not continue to slide: room was freezing when we arrived; coffee in the morning coffee pot was warm, not hot. the morning desk person left the back door open tending to something, allowing for a blast of cold air to chill the lobby - twice. the phone rand and rand in the lobby in his absence and no one picked it up. twice. the breakfast - which used to be simple but attractive and good quality is now uninspired. The oatmeal was watery. granola mediocre. same for the croissants and the fruit was out of season and not ripe. Nice place, great location, and great potential. bring it back before you bring it further down. its San Francisco, for God's sake.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Evening reception was nice, and morning breakfast is nicely put together.
Upon arrival at the hotel we were informed that the private bath listed on the website was 2 doors down the hallway and not attached. The staff eventually worked with us and moved us to a different room. Rooms are small but nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Adequate is not comfortable.

Posted Dec 2, 2017
We were givena room with a bathroom across the hall. This place is dated and not in a charming way. Its clean but the amenities do not justify tge price. Stay at the Clift or tge Mark Hopkins. The staff was not particularly sophisticated or fun or engaging and the random closing situation makesno sense in the 21st century. Adequate but definitely a second or third option.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2017
It is an three star hotel with an advertising picture of a 5 star hotel. Nothing lile the pictures, however good location and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Maria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
Facilities are outdated, especially ventilation.