Ratings based on 3,771 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hobart, Australia

Class and comfort

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Cannot fault the Westin St. Francis - it was superb. There was a big conference on during our stay and check-in was still a breeze. The place is immaculate and very impressive. We had a room on the 22nd floor of the tower and it was newly renovated and very generous in size - as in you actually need to take a short walk to get to your bathroom from the room's living area. The bed was luxurious, the view from the tower was great and while we didn't dine in the hotel, the steak restaurant nonetheless looks mouth-watering. In addition, the location of the hotel with regards to downtown and access to shopping and transport cannot be topped. It was a first rate experience but remember, you also need to pay first rate prices. In this case though, there was no regret on our part in paying a premium to stay at this fantastic hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Overall good experience. Can't ask for a better location. Had to wait a long line to get the room but they offered bottled water as we waited. Nice gesture. The room they gave us was very small but that's expected in SF. Unfortunately, our view was of a rooftop so we just kept the curtains closed. Nothing fancy in the room but it was comfy and clean. Staff was great. Hotel doesn't really have that SF charm but would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel agradable con mucha historia y en el centro

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: su localizacion
agradable cerca de el puerto y se puede caminar por todas las calles aledañas de san fransisco y buen personal
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Nice Hotel, terrible attention at the restaurant

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: It is perfectly near of several attractions, you can either go shopping to all the magnificent shops around the hotel, or take the Big bus from there.
It is a beautiful building in front of Civic Center, I went with my whole family to spend the Christmas holidays. I don't have any complains about the front desk, or the hotel staff in general. However we did spend a terrible experience when trying to eat at the hotel restaurant Bourbon Steak, the hostess was super rude, when we asked for a table for 8 he just said he didn't have any available table for such a large party, then we asked for 2 tables of 4, we didn't care if we were dining together, he also said no, I even asked for a table just for 1 person to see what will be his answer and he still said no, with no further explanation when we clearly could see that the restaurant was half empty. I asked him if there was a dress code and he just said no and that was it, we couldn't eat at our hotel restaurant. We were a party of 8 people flying from Mexico to spend 5 nights at San Francisco, I would think that we can afford dinning in there. When we walk off there, we could see that he was admitting other people with no reservations, I think he meant "NO LATINOS".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expensive hotel in the heart of SF

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Clean, beautiful lobby. Elevators were safe. Rooms were tiny with little upgrading. Felt like I was staying in a Victorian Era room. Valet parking was convenient but took too much time to return car. Staff was polite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from loss Angeles

Good location

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Must be good on the higher floor but unfortunately not on the 3rd floor. It was noisy and very disturbing, besides the uncomfortable size that felt like I was against the wall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Lo único bueno es la ubicación

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Hotel viejo, no renovado, alfombras sucias, mobiliario viejo y lo peor te cobran 50 dólares diarios por estacionamiento, un abuso.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Second stay

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Allowing booked taxis / shuttles to collect at door rather than in the street.
Location: Fantastic location - convenient for everything, especially shops.
Wanted a low floor and got it with a warning about noise on New Year's Eve. Quite happy to accept this and noise was minimal anyway. Initial room smelt of smoke. Put into another (better) room with no quibble at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Nice hotel,good location,center of city ...............................
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Old run down, does not feel like a Westin. Noisy.