Ratings based on 4,878 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything in Union Square.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
We enjoyed shopping and dining with out using any transportation. Everything was in waking distances to the hotel. Location was perfect!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

The room did not meet expectations

Posted Jun 13, 2017
I stayed at one of two "rooms" we booked. My room was more like an office and had a sofa bed but was disclosed at check in. There were stains on the couch, the bed was all ripped open from the bottom and the water will get clogged in the sink. The view was nice and room spacious, yeah, but we booked in the newer tower thinking their rooms would be better. Definitively not worth the money we spent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

very good location

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: needs modernising
Location: perfect location, at the centre of downtown.
the old part of the hotel is in need of modernising.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

just ok

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: The rooms need renovation. Didn't feel clean or fresh.
Location: Cable cars right out front. If you don't mind hills, not a bad walk to a number of great areas. Lots of good restaurants nearby.
The hotel is old and in need of renovation. Our room was very small, smelled like air freshener and had one small window that took my 26 year old son's strength to open. The hotel wasn't cheap, especially since I reserved 2 rooms. The second room was larger but still lacked the feeling of other Westin hotels I've stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Location that can't be beat!

Posted Jun 7, 2017
We have stayed here several times over the years! I recommend the tower building as the rooms are larger and newer. The history of this hotel is very cool! You are within walking distance of just about everywhere! Will certainly return!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hotel for the business traveler.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Lots of amenities. Staff filled all requests promptly.
Cons: Wish it had a destination restaurant. Or at least a good steak house.
Location: Central San Francisco. Easy to get around the City. Heart of the City.
My tailor at Spoons (in the hotel) recommended it to me as an affordable place to stay. It was affordable, I will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Hotel is centrally located. Room was comfortable. I was disappointed that bathroom didn't have a heater, but overall it is a great hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Great location in the heart of Union Square. Nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Westin

Posted May 30, 2017
Fantastic hotel in an excellent location. We stayed in the tower on 21st floor, corner room 2 huge windows with amazing views. Large modern room. Excellent lifts, never had to wait more than a few seconds. Fantastic location. Cable car goes straight past. Hop on buses have two stops right there going in opposite directions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
Staff not accommodating at all. Room had horrible view.. no assistance when asking to change. Overpriced rooms for the location