Ratings based on 1,627 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great location in the heart of Union Square!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Close to everything and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: It was a bit cold in the winter in those elevators.
Location: five minute walk to all the high end shops
This was a business trip, so I decided to stay in Union Square, and it was fantastic!! Right across the street the had an open ice skating rink, one of the largest Macy's in the U.S. Saks Fifth Avenue and al the great shops and dining. This hotel was perfect as it was a quick 10 min drive to the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Warf, China Town and Ghirardelli Square. Also the rooms were very spacious and if you forget your workout gear, no fear they will bring you a set for five dollars, I love that!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend gateway

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Stayed here for the weekend had a great time, lots of shopping, restaurants and bars walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Beautiful hotel with awesome views.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We were in a corner room with a view. The whole experience at the hotel was incredible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Classy

Posted Jan 6, 2017
good location in Union Square. may be i checked in main buliding with room is still in old time mode, small and ancient feel. overall a comfort stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Excellent service .. very nice hotel .. we enjoyed our stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Gorgeous Hotel and setting BUT .....

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The room was excellent and well cared for. Location fantastic. Loved our view of SanFran bridge.
Cons: Air quality in the Hotel, especially the lifts where a blast of freezing air hit as you entered them. Food served HOT would be welcomed.
Location: First class location on Union square - all major shopping - easy access to transport systems to Bay, island tours. Excellent restaurants in area.
The Hotel and most staff were impersonal. (Exception were the housekeeping who were friendly and helpful) The aircon inside the Hotel was permanently freezing, making it VERY uncomfortable. We ate only twice in the dining room - but meals were cold because the room was so cold. Sadly, one of the meals was Christmas Dinner - so that was a huge disappointment that spoiled our Christmas day. Hotel arranged TRANSPORT to the airport at the end of our stay was a nightmare. The driver arrived in a vehicle with a crack more then half way across the windscreen - at eye level. Probably not legal. The driver was also rude and surly towards the passengers he picked up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You're paying for location

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Stayed here for the holidays. The hotel is very nice and the location is in the heart of union square, however this is more of a business type of hotel. No fridge, no microwave and out dated interior. The room service is really the only option you have for breakfast and it is crazy expensive. I ended up looking for a place that delivers breakfast. This is not a child friendly place unless you have older children. overall beautiful place great view of the city and awesome housekeeping staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what you would expect from a Westin!

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Location....that's it!
Cons: Stay at a different hotel for this price. The service sucks.
Location: Arms reach to everything.
My family and I booked two rooms in the Landmark tower of this hotel for our December trip. We checked-in and they did not have the adjoining rooms that we asked for but gave us the opportunity to upgrade our rooms to the new tower for $40 more a night, per room. We declined the offer, thinking either way, we are at a Westin and the old tower should have been just as accomodating. We walked out of the elivator onto our floor, 8, and quickly realized we were taken back to the 80's. The carpet in the corridor was so worn, the color was faded. The doors and paint had not been mainted and it smelled like a retirement home (no offense no senior viewers). We walked into our room which was very spacious but at least 30 years old. Yes, you heard me! The toiled had the old flush handles that I remember from elementary school, the ceiling lamps were at least from the 80's. The furniture was more modern but the couch and chairs in the room had a significant amount of stains on them (gross) and we found empty beer cans under the couch. We notified the front desk immediately and they were not incined to upgrade us because all of a sudden, the tower in which they offered us an upgrade just hours before, was sold out. Housekeeping came up and removed the beer cans but the dailiy cleaning service was not provided. My son had a bloody nose the first night and it stayed the bathroom floor for two days until I called down to the front desk to notify them. SPG did nothing to compensate us!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was fantastic - except if you're renting a car, in which case getting in and out can be a little challenging with the rush hour traffic and all the pedestrians. The facilities are very vintage which can be a good thing or bad thing depending on what you're looking for. The gym was under renovations during our stay which was a negative since there was dry wall dust everywhere which the contractors were working. But a nice bonus was that you could rent New Balance shoes and gym clothes for your stay for only $5. The only major criticism was that the room cleaning was pretty subpar. We found hairs everywhere, lipstick on the bedsheets and tissues tossed into the corner of the closet from the previous customer. Even after multiple room cleaning they missed all of those things so it wasn't a one-off. Overall the hotel was OK (mostly for the great location), but there are many other hotels in the area that are newer and cleaner for the same price so shop around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

You must know

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: It is very special during the holidays. Great location.
Cons: They need to have more personal working during the holidays. Tables in the lobby weren't taking care. There is a line for anything you need.
Location: Location is great speacially for shopping.
It is an historic hotel. It was so busy during this time of the year that the service isn't efficient. You must ask for a bottle of water when you check in otherwise they won't provide you with this. We were in room 1493 and there was a noise every 10 minutes since 5 a.m. I finally recorded the sound, and shared via email with the Stfra@westin.com at 6:05, 7:50 and never received a response. I mentioned to the person downstairs who checks in passengers. She said she will check with the department? This sound woke us up and nobody was able to provide an explanation for us or apologies. The restaurant from breakfast (downstairs) had a line and waiting for 45 minutes? We had to go outsite to find it. It is better to enjoy this historic place at different times of the year.