Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Please do not stay here. I should've stayed at the Hilton. 1. Came into a blazing hot room. the radiator was cranked all the way up and the hotel didn't bother turning it off. This is when we realized there was NO AC. So we desperately open the windows. They only open a few inches, and the first window was broken. Also, the window doesnt lock. 2. DIRTY TOWELS. Yellow stains, brown stains. Tiny hairs, long hairs. We called to get them switched, and the second batch was worse. Third time we went down to ask for new clean towels bc the phone wouldnt work. The man at the desk didnt even care. Kept clicking away on his computer.They finally brought up another set, and a long piece of hair was folded into it. Gross.. by then we just gave up. 3. Elevators take forever. Ask for a lower level if you must stay here. 4. This hotel is located in tenderloin. People don't harass you for the most part if you keep moving and don't give them attention, but it definitely doesn't feel safe even during the day. At night you hear a lot of screaming and crying from the room. 5. Smells like marijuana in the hotel. Probably the neighbors smoking, but it was getting into our room. The manager (?) had said she would handle this for us. 6. Room doesn't look as clean, bright, & spacious as advertised. In conclusion, it was a waste of money and the only downside to my vacation. Id rather pay triple the rate and stay somewhere clean, safe, and accommodating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

No parking anywhere and close car parks all full.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
I had delay at airport. Got to room with two grandchildren at 3:30 a.m. while checking in I was told valet parking was full, and to walk across the dangerous street due to prostitutes, street people, and homeless to go and see if the car park was full. I went and checked car park, it was full. I checked other car parks, they were full. I went back to hotel where by now I had been awake for almost 24 hours due to the SF airport delays; I was told by the front desk clerk that I couldn't leave my car parked in the front valet area. I would have to park on the street, but would have to move my car in 1-1/2 hours due to street-sweepers; meaning I would only get 1-1/2 hours sleep. While explaining to the clerk that we were very tired a prostitute with her customers came in and with my granddaughters in their presence they were groping each other and the clerk did nothing. I decided at this point that this hotel was not a safe place and there was no where to park and the clerk showed no concern, as a matter of fact, she was sarcastic. I will never recommend such poor customer service to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Cute boutique hotel!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Location: It is a 5 minute walk from Union Square
The hotel is absolutely adorable and a great place to stay in SF if you are on a budget and plan on exploring the city. It is clean and comfortable to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. The staff is great and the coffee shop is really good. There is also a bar that is open from 5pm-2am (I believe) and it is adorable. ONLY downside was that the room was insanely warm and we could not manage the heat. But that didn't ruin the trip :) Overall had a great time and will definitely stay there next time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Kunal - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We can't wait to welcome you back at the Tilden Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great location in the heart of SF!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Great ambiance, friendly staff, clean.
Location: Everything is within walking distance: shopping, eating, trolley car.
We had a wonderful 2 night stay. Loved the character of the hotel, its history (nice homage to its Mark Twain past in the hallways!) The staff were friendly and unobtrusively solicitous and the decor has a lovely understated style. Will definitely recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Kunal - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We will continue enhancing various aspects of the hotel to stand out more with unique characteristics and service. Hope to see you again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as pictured

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Cons: The hotel needs to be freshened up and have furniture replaced.
Location: The location was great - close to the highway, transit and restaurants.
The hotel location is great (minus the large population of homeless that surround the block). The hotel itself is not bright and clean, as it is pictured online. The hotel itself is dimly lit. There were large patches on the hallway walls on the fifth floor and the stairway between floors five and six. The one elevator is very small and can hold 4 small people. I'm not sure a wheelchair would be able to fit through the door. The hotel itself reeked of marijuana during our five day stay. The room we stayed in was small and dingy. There was no dresser or door on the closet. The closet has an ikea-like light which barely lights up. The bathroom is very small and no wash clothes were provided. The k-cups for the coffee machine were not replenished daily, and while we made several attempts to call the front desk from the room, the phone was never picked up. We had to go down to the desk to request an extra pillow, towels and coffee. Although unresponsive to the front desk phone, the staff was pleasant but not overly accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Kunal - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, We are sorry to hear about your experience at the Tilden. Our objective is to provide the comfort, convenience and service that leaves a good lasting impression. We may have missed out on several opportunities to leave such an impression during your stay. It is therefore a top priority for all our departments to ensure that we do not miss out on the simple things that make your stay comfortable. If there is anything we can do to make it up to you, please feel free to reach out to me. Thank you Kunal Khandwala Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointment

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Cons: sink is too little, every time i brush my teeth or wash face the floor got wet.
first night we arrived the television didn't work so we had to change rooms, then they put us in a room w/ shower only no bath so we changed again, got to 3rd room which was very stuffy & there was no drain stopper for tub (I'm a bath kind of girl). I ended up staying because I didn't feel it would get any better, they sent up plumber/ young kid to fix drain, he was literally the only one who was accommodating. We didn't have enough wash clothes for 3 guests so we called downstairs, they said they ran out of towels so we had to bathe w/ huge face cloths, I mean i can go on & on but whats the point. Eventually we were offered everything at the mini bar which included a condom, (and mind you i had a child with me) 2 bottle waters, popcorn, chocolate bar & chips. I check out on the 4th day and never touched a thing from the minibar...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Great old hotel that has been remodeled beautifully and simply. Perfect place, great location. Our room looked onto an AC unit which was not ideal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
I can't belive that Tilden hotel is 4 stars.. The view was terrible and the bathroom sink was so tiny that we almost bump our heads while washing our faces
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Good location, helpful staff, easy to move around from one place to another
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Arizona

Cute Boutique Hotel with Amazing staff

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: boutique, urban, clean, cute, central
Location: close to bars, food, japantown, chinatown, the pier, downtown.
Front desk person, Cat was super nice to us. We stayed 4 people in the room with 2 beds. It was very comfortable. There is a big closet, cute bathroom with shampoos and conditioners that smell like mint. We took great pictures in their garden, super cute detail. Overall, this was the best hotel on our trip that we took. We felt like we were in the heart of San Francisco and felt the urban atmosphere. They let us borrow their hotel umbrella when it started to rain. At night we walked very little and went to two different bars and had a late night snack at some delicious gyro place. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.