Ratings based on 1,436 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Meriden, CT

Nice hotel, close to key San Francisco sites

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: I liked the location of this hotel, right on Lombard Street, within walking distance to many sites and the Muni bus stop.
Location: The location can't be beat., The following sites are within walking distance: Fishermans Wharf, cable cars, Ghirardelli Sq., Telegraph Hill, Ft. Mason
This hotel exceeded my expectations; it was clean and the staff was very friendly. The parking costs extra but it is worth having your car easily accessible. The free breakfast had a good selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean motel close to Fisherman's wharf area.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Location was less than half a mile from marine historical park, Ghirardelli Square, and Fisherman's wharf. Very good value for the price.
Staff were pleasant, motel was clean with comfortable beds and nice furnishings. We were given a large corner room that was quiet and toward the back of the motel. Breakfast was simple but adequate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by Blanca , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for the review, Yes the hotel does have a good location close to Fishermans Wharf. We are happy that the staff greeted you with great service, and that the room location and hotel were to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Ok. The connection rooms are not the best.My neighbors were very noisy.Was a nightmare...other than that ok for the price and the location. JUST A FEW BLOCKS FROM PIER 39!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by Blanca , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are sorry to hear that you had nosiy neighbors, please know that you are always welcome to let the front desk know so that we can take action. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Come back and visit us. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was great

Posted Apr 23, 2017
It was enjoyable I'll be reserving with them on my next trip
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Blanca , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for the review, we look forward to your return visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RD AB

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Bottom floor rooms very noisy due to persons walking above. No insulated floors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Very old. Its a one stat hotel. And definitely overpriced. I paid $170 for one night. Regret i stayed there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Blanca , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Yes the problem was built in the 50's. The hotel is a 2 star hotel. We were last renovated 2 years ago. Prices are based on market level. San Francisco is pricey. I do hope that you enjoyed your time in San Francisco. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

15 min walk to the Pier

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Staff was so friendly and accommodating. Will stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Blanca R. , Hotel Management
Dear Guest I am happy to hear the staff was friendly and accomodating, we do look forward to that return visit. Kind Regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

prison

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: ;)
Cons: a fridge
Location: far from the bay for being a travelodge by the bay..
door to breakfast place was locked so I went to front desk and he said ya you can't get in unless someone lets you in so just knock.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Blanca R. , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Travelodge By The Bay is located on Lombard Street, one of San Francisco's main streets in to the city from Marin County. The hotel is located 4 blocks away from the crookedest street in San Francisco, 2 blocks away from the entrance to Fort Mason, and yes we do consider 5 blocks from the Bay to be reasonsable close. In regards to the breakfast room the door is meant to be open at all times however with the in and out flow of traffic there will be a guest or two that will decide to close the door. it is unfortunate for a few guests to find themselves locked out however if you come to the front desk we will call the attendant to open the door for you. I am sorry to hear that some items may habe not gone according to plan, however I do hope that overall you had a great time in San Francisco and that you will come back and visit. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aurora, CO

Close to quite a bit

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Staff / location
Location: Fishermans Wharf / Ghiradelli Square / Lombard (crooked) street
Walking distance to a lot of main attractions, restaurants and shopping. Easy parking. Clean rooms. Very friendly staff. Couple working desk when I checked in were very courteous/informative and pleasant. Entire stay was a very good one. The managers at this location can take pride in the fact that the staff understands customer service. Will definitely stay here again next time we travel to San Francisco.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Blanca , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the hotels location as well as the great customer service our hotel staff proviced. We look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

Good location.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square. Lombard is a loud street at night but it didn't bother us. Hotel staff very nice. Good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Blanca , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for the review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and we thank you for mentioning our great location. We are sorry about Lombard street we do have rooms located in the back which are quieter. Please consider requesting those in the future. Kind Regards