Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Dated motel in a good area.

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Its location is in an area with many restaurants, bars and bus stops in the area
Cons: Despite the rooms were acceptably clean the overall appearance of the hotel is quite shabby. The stairs to the upper floors appeared to be sagging.
Location: For a short stay the "California Academy of Sciences" in Golden Gate Park should not be missed and Alcatraz is also worthy of a visit.
Had the bad luck to arrive in San Francisco coincident with a massive global conference (Dreamforce) which resulted in very limited accommodation with breathtaking room rates. We payed an exorbitant rate for at best 2 star accommodation. We were not able to log in on Wi Fi until the last morning and neither bedside lamps were operative despite the bulbs being serviceable. These matters were reported to reception but were treated with indifference by the receptionist who appeared to have little interest in being there. Despite being situated some miles from the city centre and the wharf the public transport system in San Francisco is very good and facilitated easy movement anywhere in the city. I would recommend the purchase of a 3 day pass which allows unlimited use of buses and cable cars.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good basic motel

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Our room was recently refreshed and we were very satisfied. Comfortable bed, perfectly clean, great location. This is a motel - not a 5 star hotel - and as a motel provided all we could ask for including coffee, soaps, a/c, off street parking, plenty of tourist info and a comfy place to stay.
4 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Works fine. Nothing fancy.

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
Business trip. Hotel covered the basics and met my needs. Okay, but nothing fancy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Regensburg

Günstig nicht zu weit von Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Es gibt 2 Travellodge Motels in der gleichen Straße, dieses ist einfacher und schwerer zu finden. Insgesamt okay.
3 out of 5
for Personal Event
by Natallie

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
The person in the front desk was impatient. Bed sheet was torn, coffee maker was dirty. It's in a very convenient area though. 24 hours Walgreens,and it's close to many restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calif

Disappointing facilities

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Proximity to UCSF where we were visiting a family member having surgery Free parking Clean bathroom
Cons: Clean the carpets, cleanup the parking lot. Do NOT have old mattresses in the parking lot. Remove trash under stairs.
Typical motor lodge built most likely in 1950's, doors opened directly into parking lot on a busy SF street. Facilities are dated, which is ok, but carpet was disgustingly dirty. You could actually see the walkpath of dirt from the door into the room. When I looked behind a table for a plug, the dirt buildup there was disturbing. Garbage was in enclosed space in parking lot, but an old mattress (that did NOT look appealing) was stacked next to the space and lots of construction trash was in view under stairway outside our room. We were on the bottom floor and outside out back window was an area with junk piled up and and open gate from a back road. I did not feel safe and we did not stay the second night of our reservation, taking the loss of pre-paid room. With that all being said, the bathroom was very clean and looked recently remodeled. After seeing the mattress in the parking lot, I could not shake that visual as I got into bed although it seemed clean.
3 out of 5
for Families
by Glenn from Chicago

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel and room was exactly as advertised in previous reviews. This is definitely a 3 star hotel as advertised. In a very busy area of San Francisco. Area has a lot of various priced resturants and bars within walking distance. Traffic very heavy in the area. Location good if you want to see the various sites in the city. Room was worn but comfortable and clean. I had a room away from the street which helped a lot. Parking for guests is limited and can be tricky if you arrive back late from a night out. Housekeeping service was good.
1 out of 5
for Couples
by Catherine from Canada

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
To expensive for this hotel.
2 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Weekend trip

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Good, kinda far from golden gate park and such. Money saved by going here is spent on taxis to get you every where
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boynton Beach Florida

The dirtiest rug I have ever seen in any hotel. D

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: not much
Cons: clean the rug, fix the air conditioning.
Location: location was good
I do not recommend the hotel at all. The manager was very helpful on identifying tourist attractions. However the carpeting and chair fabric seat was badly stained and disgusting. It felt totally unsafe to walk on the carpet or to sit in the chair. Air conditioning was weak and the room was hot. They could not do anything to fix the air conditioning. I know SF hotels are way too expensive because of high demand, however they need to clean the rugs and chair and make sure air conditioning works. The owner needs to take some pride and not run his hotel like a skid row flop house especially if they want to get a total of over $200 a night. What a let down.