Ratings based on 3,517 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Cozy hotel.

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Price was reasonable, staffs were very helpful and the room is nice but a little bit smalll.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good hotel, in the heart of SF

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Excellent location, many hidden fees unfortunately. Rooms (especially windows) can benefit from renovation. Very bad window insulation for sound.m; could hear every little sound coming from the street; come of only sleep if the fan was on. Staff were extremely nice and well trained; especially Rachel and Michael.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by ZDiaz, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that our staff made your feel at home. This is really one of the things that we try to maintain in our hotel. Hoping to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windsor CA

Disappointed in the renovation

Posted Dec 9, 2017
From someone who used to stay there before the renovation, I must say I was seriously disappointed. Shocking and sad. It was my favorite little boutique hotel with so much charm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by ZDiaz, Hotel Management
Thank your for your candid feedback. I am sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with the renovation of the lobby. We hope you give us another chance to make it better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel, remodeling but very nice

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Lobby vibe: slick but comfortable
Cons: Signage, HVAC control
Location: Union Square, on the cable car line.
Hotel is easy to see from far away, easy to walk right past when you're close, even after days. Room heat and a/c is controlled by a fussy, hard-to-read, easy-to-misplace remote. Elevators are tiny; three people with carry-on luggage would be very tight. Nice restaurant opening soon, so wait staff was training and it was noisy, but they were friendly and put out a VERY high-end breakfast buffet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by ZDiaz, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Our locations is definitely one of the things we are very proud of about our hotel. We are so lucky to have a property in the heart of San Francisco and a very strategic location that brings our guest just a few steps away from must-see attractions and modern-day conveniences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Change in Hotels

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Great room, well appointed, clear and quiet
Cons: access to the rear building where the room was located was confusing
Location: great location near union square
Upon attempting to check in I was advised that no rooms were available and that there had been a glitch with the expedia site resulting in overbooking. I was transferred to another hotel around the corner, the Handlery Hotel. The new hotel was terrific and the staff great. I was surprised that this occurred but it was handled well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by ZDiaz, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Our locations is definitely one of the things we are very proud of about our hotel. We are so lucky to have a property in the heart of San Francisco and a very strategic location that brings our guest just a few steps away from must-see attractions and modern-day conveniences.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2017
The check in process was quick and smooth. The room was very clean room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Posted Nov 28, 2017
No parking at hotel. There was a parking lot down the street but it was going to be shut down during Thanksgiving and my rental car would have been locked in. Had no idea hotel had no parking. Would not have booked there if I had known. I was even charged for one night even though I did not stay and had cancelled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Fantastic downtown hotel by Union Square

Posted Nov 24, 2017
The hotel is situated in a really great location, being right beside Union Square, as well as tons of shops and shopping centres, restaurants, grocery stores, and tourist attractions. If you take 20-30 minute walks, you can easily visit Fisherman's Wharf, the Ferry Marketplace, China town, Japan town, the Painted ladies, city hall, the opera house, and much more. You can also take one of the many forms of transportations to get around (bus, cable car, train, etc.), but it's much funner to walk around and get to know the area. With regards to the hotel specifically, the staff were incredible. They were always attentive, always welcoming us, always asking us if we needed help, giving us great advice on places to check out, etc. The room was very clean and nice looking, and had conveniences like a TV, Wi-Fi, a mini fridge, a heater/ac unit that you could control, a safe, etc. And even though the hotel is by a busy street, I heard nothing from the room I stayed in. I guess the only unfortunate thing might've been that the lounge bar by the lobby wasn't yet open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Great location

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Great location, nice size room. Hotel is undergoing renovations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Used to be nicer - undergoing renovations

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Convenient and close to transportation, shopping and restaurants.
Had a fairly good experience here and this was my second time here but probably won't stay again. During my previous stay it felt much more luxurious - it is now making a transition to an "Ultra-Modern" style and I do not think it is working. I think the hotel is more in need of actual upgrades (mattresses, linens, elevators, restaurant) than a face-lift. Roll away beds and pull out sofas are INCREDIBLY uncomfortable - they should invest in some mattress pads. During our stay there was a really foul smell in one of the hallways which may have been from some of the renovations It is super convenient if you are a tourist which makes up for some of the negatives and most of the staff are really quite friendly and accommodating.