Ratings based on 2,875 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HOTEL bien placé

Posted Jul 28, 2016
HOTEL vieux Parking hors de prix 58$50 la nuit Personnel faussement accueillant
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Great hotel in the midst of it all!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
I really loved Villa Florence from the moment I walked inside. The staff was happy and helpful and my room was even better than I could have expected.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Great place and location! I defently would stay there again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hickory NC

Good central location

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: It is on Powell Street which is were the Cable Cars run so you can catch it on either street beside the hotel.
Cons: Helpful tips from the bell/concierge staff about things to do. They answered the questions we had but more insight would have been great.
Location: You have to buy your Cable Car ticket at the end of Powell but don't wait in the line there. Walk up the street where the hotel is to get on quicker.
It's a little hard to find and the signs that say "Do Not Enter" on both sides of the block lead you to believe you can't turn onto that part of the street...however, you can. The locals know that but obviously visitors don't so no matter what the sign says, you can in fact turn on to that street for the purpose of checking in and unloading your car. We were able to check in early at 11:00 which was very nice. The hotel decor is really cute and even though the room is small, it is very clean and cozy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Gem in the Middle of Everything

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Villa Florence is a little gem of a hotel right mack in the middle of downtown SF. Everything is only steps away: restaurants, shopping, and transportation to all points of interest. SF's historic trolley, Union Park across from Macy's with its rooftop Cheesecake Factory, city buses that get you to the Ferry Building, Ghirardeli Square, Fisherman's Wharf, etc. Love the hotel, the hotel staff was friendly and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Not all it is made out to be

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Hotel was okay but definitely not as good as it is made out to be. Room was quite small and bathroom very small as well. Lobby looked like it needed a good clean. Would not recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disorganized check-in, housekeeping, & small room

Posted Jul 25, 2016
After checking in we were given keys to a room that was clearly still occupied by another hotel guest. I believe the poor woman was still using her bathroom when we keyed into the room. Upon returning to the front desk, the mix up was treated very casually and the next room we were given was very small, with barely enough room for the queen bed to face the door and with no counter space in the bathroom. We were woken the next morning at 8am by housekeeping; we had planned on leaving the room around 10 so had not posted the Do Not Disturb sign because we didn't expect them to stop by so early in an occupied room. We came back in the late afternoon to find that housekeeping had left a bottle of cleaning spray out on the table. It just seemed as if the attention to detail at the Villa Florence was not what we would have expected for the price we were paying.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff is very unhelpful - Worst Service Ever!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Our restroom had a stink to it and why I asked the front desk to switch rooms - they said they were full and they would bring a spray to help mask the scent (they never showed up). I then asked for house slippers which they said they would bring up & I waited for 30 minutes and called back to follow-up, they said they had run out. The RUDEST front desk person is the tall gentlemen with the curly hair - he needs to learn how to be in the business of service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

In the heart of the shopping district.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Very nice, older hotel. The staff was wonderful. I was traveling with my teenage children. We did quite a bit of walking to the different points of interest in San Fran. Only complaint was no one would answer the phone when we were trying to figure out how to park.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
best location convenient to everything you need to do in SF.