Ratings based on 1,133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A COMPROMISE

Posted Aug 17, 2015
A review of this motel is best done in two parts, The Good and The Not So Good. The good is that the location is great, with everything from McDonald's to Ripley's Believe It Or Not just around the corner, and the Alcatraz Tour pier and Pier 39 a short walk away, and even AT&T Park, Chinatown and Union Square within a few miles. Despite that the area basically closes down by 10-11 PM and becomes pretty quiet, and even though there is no AC we were there in mid-August and with the windows open and the fan on it was acceptably cool because it gets chilly overnight by the water. In addition the front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful, the room was decent size and the beds were clean, and there is an elevator. And of course the main attraction is the relatively low price for this area and the almost unheard on The Wharf free parking, which is a savings of at least $40 per day. Now the not so good. This is a very dated hotel, with no extras at all; no pool, exercise room, gift shop, breakfast or real lobby; the room was dimly lit, the furniture old and mismatched, and the carpets and curtains in need of replacement although, again, the beds and bathroom were clean and comfortable. But the room and property in general are old and dated and need a complete makeover. So if your priorities are low rates, free parking and a great location, then this place will do. But if a modern hotel for more money is your priority then you should look elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Rockhampton Qld.

Clean hotel close to all activities.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Close to Pier39 and ship terminal.
Cons: Elevator needs work. Could do with a paint job and freshen up all over.
Location: Walk to nearly everything around the waterfront as it is only one block from it all.
This is an old motel that could use some work, but the rooms are clean and apart from the lift not working properly all the time i could not fault it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Close to the Wharf - but that's all

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the wharf
Cons: Air conditioning.
It was nice to be walking distance to the wharf and many other attractions, but no Air conditioning, scary sounding elevator, small parking stalls, etc. made the stay less than favorable. I would look for other accomodations next time I'm in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel close to the wharf

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Free parking, close to local attractions and popular tourist spots. Staff answered all our questions. The TV, desk and dresser console were fine.
Cons: Update linens, towels, carpet and paint. The elevator should be looked at-ride wasn't smooth. The chairs were stained and worn in our room.
Location: Within close walking distance to Lombard St, Pier 39, other tourist spots. The first stop to the Big Bus Tour is directly across the street.
The location of the hotel and the free parking were the reasons we chose this hotel online. The staff were overall friendly and helpful. However, the room, views, elevator and hotel itself were in need of a facelift. There was a ceiling fan, no AC. It was warm in the room during the day, but at night it stayed fairly cool - even during August temps. The room had a large, but narrow bathroom. The sink/vanity was quite large, but only a shower stall (no tub).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good location

Posted Aug 15, 2015
easy to look around in the Fisherman's wharf. plenty of parking space. the room is very well condioned. I wolud like to srtay there again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DFW

Wanted to like hotel because staff was nice.

Posted Aug 7, 2015
worst hotel experience of my life. Room below 4 dumpster and acroos the street from store that sold beer that was open 24 hours. No AC room was stifling. Open open up balcony door and outside was staging area for double Decker bus. Buses idled non-stop and when door open pros on 2nd deck of bus could look right into room. Gave up and went to park and stayed as long as possible. Back at room at midnight when trash truck dumped dumpsters. Stench of garage ran us from room until 12:30. Back to room and about 2:00 am homeless people and drunk people started fighting outside the balcony at all night store. 3:30 gave up and brought sleeping bag from car and slept on bathroom floor with fan on to drowned out noise, this meant light was on also. Slept for a few hour until daylight and then got out of there as fast as possible. If there were any other option I would have taken it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location next to the bay.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Staff are A++++++
Location: Wax museum, big bus, duck boats right close to the hotel.
Great location, no AC but the cool breeze was fine through the slats in the windows. Great spot to cruise the boardwalk come back to freshen up then head off again. Right across the street from the Big bus tour and a block off the duck tours. Great staff very helpful would stay there again on our next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Walking distance is perfect for the Wharf and Pier

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Just what you need if you don't plan on staying in. Comfortable sleeping. Nice tv. Perfect access to stores, restaurants and sites. The parking fee included was appreciated!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Okinawa, Japan

Close to The Wharf and the Action

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Great Staff, especially check-in staff. Best location. Surprised to find quality amenities. No smoking smell. Free parking.
Cons: Update from roll away beds to high grade self inflating ones for better sleep.
Location: Prime location near the Wharf! Segway tours, Madame Tussads, famous Alioto restaurant, pier 39, Ghirardelli Chocolates, cable cars, Alca Traz & more!
Excellent staff! The check-in person was so helpful in drawing routes to points of interest on the hotel provided map. They ensured our room, especially the bathroom, was very clean. Also, we were made to feel that we could call on them anytime for any needs. We were so happy to find a good hotel in a prime location even with parking in an expensive city like San Francisco that having such good service from staff was the icing on the cake!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tokyo

寝るためだけの場所を探している人にはおすすめです

Posted Jul 21, 2015
ロケーションは良かったのですが、部屋で過ごす時間を撮りたい方にはおすすめできません。滞在中は周囲の騒音が気になり、夜中も何度か目が覚めてリラックスはできませんでした。部屋の設備も値段のわりに備わってないので、ホテルのランクの割には高いと思います。