Ratings based on 592 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ponce, Puerto Rico

Hotel location is excellent.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
If your plan is expend your vacation looking a round outside the hotel and only have a place to rest, the Wharf Inn is an excellent choice. Is clean and quiet. Staff is friendly. You'll have dinners and restaurant a walking distance, no need to rent a car unless you plan to visit far places. The Big Buss is excellent, they take you to every icon place in San Francisco. Do not miss to try the foodtruck, specially Tanguitos!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outside isn't much to look at--needs updating, but

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Inside is warm and welcoming. Street noise is a problem, but we got used to it after the first of four nights. Excellent location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HS

Nice hotel close to the main attractions

Posted Dec 20, 2016
We could go easily most main attractions around pier 39 to ghiradely square by walk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy bed, great location, free parking but.....

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The good....location, comfortable bed, free parking. The bad....poor TV signal, view was a wall of the building 10 feet away, filthy carpet, old cracked linoleum in bathroom, hotel stairs and halls dirty. Place needs a face lift but I would stay there again because of overall cost and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

For the price, Great Motel and super location

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Location, Location and Location! The staff- they were wonderful- from front desk to maid service.
Cons: Updating would be nice
Location: just a minute walk to stores and shops, a couple of minutes to the wharf and Pier 39. no need for a car!
First of all, remember this is a motel and not a fancy hotel. Although dated and very basic, the location is excellent- a couple of minutes walk to both Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39 as well as a few more minutes to walk to Alcatraz Landing. The Big B Bus is right across the street, and the price can't be beat. The staff is wonderful, it is a secured building using a key card to get to the elevator. Very basic rooms but comfortable and clean. It is a bit noisy, as is the entire area, and the walls are a bit thin but we didn't have any issues at all with the noise. We couldn't have asked for a better location and the basics were fine with us as we really only spent time sleeping and showering there (as with any vacation spot.) Would gladly stay there again. Also- although we didn't use it, it is about the only place with free parking which would be a huge deal since parking is horribly expensive in San Francisco!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value in great location

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Small but comfortable room, with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, within walking distance to many San Francisco attractions. Free parking and VERY reasonable rates--I'd definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location, good clean room.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Its location around the corner from Fisherman's Wharf is great. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was nice that they provided complimentary bottled water. We had read past reviews and checked in early and requested a quiet room and were given room 311. I has no view but completely blocked out the sounds of the city. We had a great day/evening on the wharf and had a fantastic night's sleep.
Cons: The only thing we had an issue with was that we arrived in town before check-in and had to pay $25 to park in their lot. I can understand the fee, but $25 seemed a bit steep.
Location: Around the corner from Fisherman's Wharf and all it has to offer. Also Rainforest Cafe, The San Francisco Dungeon, Madame Tussauds, and Ripley's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary Canada

Are renos overdue...yes but....

Posted Nov 12, 2016
When we initially checked into this hotel, we were a tad underwhelmed and thought we made a mistake. Not the case at all. When we walked into our room, my first reaction was that it seems clean and tidy enough. Once we had time to settle into our suite, we began to realize that everything is here that we'll need, and on top of it, all the small details were tended to. There were no funny smells. The two king beds were incredibly comfortable, with nice clean sheets. My hats off the owner of this place as he is obviously proud of the property and knows exactly what it takes to make his guests comfortable. The real reason we checked into this place was location. As soon as you step onto the street.... you're there. There being what tourists travel thousands of miles to get to.... Fishermans Wharf. It was just a bonus to discover that the hotel was part of the good memories we created that weekend. I'll be back Wharf Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

We'll be back.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: The staff at the front desk were very knowledgeable and eager to help us with the sights and public transportation. The location with free car parking couldn't be beat. Hot chocolate in the lobby and a free newspaper were very appreciated.
Cons: The room was so cold the first night that my wife couldn't sleep. I complained, then for the remainder of our stay, the room was much too warm. We couldn't adjust the temperature or turn it off. Evidently the heat is either on or off. The ceiling fan was too noisy to use at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Gary-Front Desk, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear about your problem with the heat or the lack thereof. For future you can adjust the temperature of the heat in the room should it be on. However even if the thermostat is completely turned down there will be a small amount of heat that will enter into the room. If it is too warm then we will happily turn it of for you. Just make sure you call us at the front desk. Sometimes it is a game of on and off. Also, if you should have a problem with a loud ceiling fan in the future let us know so we can fix it promptly the next morning. There should also be a table fan in the room that may help with the air circulation. We appreciate your comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location great price

Posted Nov 9, 2016
As described. Older hotel with no AC and few amenities, but great location and great staff Free wifi and free parking($50 next door) Little noisey, but all are in the area