Ratings based on 782 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Charming getaway with excellent hospitality

Posted May 29, 2017
We loved our stay at the White Swan! Check-in and valet parking was quick and easy. Overall the hotel is charming vintage thoughtfully enhanced with all modern amenities, plus hospitality to boot. We felt very welcome. Breakfast with real food was included as well as Coffee/tea/water and cookies all day. The soap and lotion were good quality, clean room, convenient location about 30 minutes walk to both Fisherman's Wharf and ATT stadium.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great downtown location

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location was perfect. The character of the old building with modern amenities.
Cons: If I could make any suggestions about our stay it would be just a couple of observations. 1. WiFi did not work (we did not call for assistance as fro
Location: Located in downtown San Francisco. Walking distance to everywhere or a quick Uber ride to anywhere in the area you want.
We were driving to San Francisco to visit my son in College and had no plans with no rooms booked anywhere. We found This Hotel through Expedia and booked the room within minutes. Got to hotel and had a smooth check in experience. Got to the room and we were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness and size of the room it was perfect for the three of us staying in the room with king size bed and pull out couch for our daughter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prospect, Ct.

Very nice!

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Very nice and quant hotel. Quite a mix of decor but I loved it! Perfect location to all the shopping and resturants. Breakfast and service was excellent! Parking upon arrival was a hassle but they quickly made room for us to pull car in to unload. We were prepared to pay $50 for valet parking as is every other hotel in the area. Definitely would recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by White Swan Inn GM, Hotel Management
Dear Claudia, Thank you for your recent visit and we value your business! It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Bertrand Newson General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great location. Close to Powell street.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Great amenities.
Location: Close walking distance to Union Square.
This hotel provides a lot amenities and great history. It is a great location close to Union Square. We had a great time. Very friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK, but a bit different

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
A quirky hotel with an old style elevator and somewhat unusual decor. Not much to do in the immediate vicinity. Would stay somewhere else next time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Judith

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Very welcoming, very comfortable. Area is still a tiny bit sketchy, but within walking distance of things I wanted to see and do. Loved the cozy room, free breakfast, free mini-bar, and afternoon wine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Sort of a B and B type place. If you like that sort of old fashion feel then this place is great. Close to restaurants and bars. Surrounding area not so nice, but it's the city. To be expected. Room was cozy. Quite a walk from Bart.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointed

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
To be honest, I am not sure what the raving reviews are all about. The hotel is very old and outdated. The TV did not work, Wi-Fi did not work properly, couldn't do any work, windows did not have any blinds, couldn't even get out of bathroom to change. The breakfast was decent with fresh fruits but the lady that works there is very unfriendly. One night couldn't sleep since there was a party next door and since the windows are very old, you basically heard everything. And the worst part is when I tried to use the elevator to checkout, it didn't come for about 10 minutes and I had to carry down my own bag from 4th floor and my shoulder got hurt. When I came downstairs and asked why elevator was not working, I was told it's being used for laundry and no apologies, very disappointed. Also, there are a lot of homeless people in the area, very unsafe.