Ratings based on 514 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste your money

Posted Aug 23, 2015
The only good thing that we can say is that the room was giant. Its condition was bad. The room was stuffy and smelled bad, even after we kept the windows open for couple of hours. We were able to open only part of the windows. Half of them were stuck. There were scratches on the legs of the bed. Bath room with rust in the sink and dark stains in the bathtub. We ordered a room with a sofa bed but it was not available and we got a rollaway bed. We moved to a different hotel after several hours. The staff did not do anything to make us stay. We don’t understand why this hotel has such a high rate on other reviews. It is old with no charm and there are much better options in SF.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Room not cleaned prior to our checkin. A half eaten candy bar and trash bag found in night stand drawer. The toilet flooded our room on the last day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sammamish, WA

Comfortable, great location

Posted Jul 28, 2015
We were three adults in our king-size room with an additional roll-away bed. The room was large with a loveseat and an additional chair and ottoman, so we didn't have to fight over places to sit. The friendly staff helped us arrange taxis for pre-dawn pickups, and put out extra energy drinks and snacks for those of us who were in town for the marathon. The breakfast buffet was simple but had all the basics. Would absolutely recommend it and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r. winchester mass

Good location for walking the city

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Loved the location - room large and spacious... On 5 th floor - a real 'hot box', they had a fan thank goodness ...noisey on street - need a room in back if staying there again ...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

B&B

Posted Jul 16, 2015
ホテルではなくB&B。この値段だったら他の普通のホテルの方がロビーやダイニングが充実していて良かった。 部屋も設備も古く、他の部屋の音もかなりうるさく聞こえました。 朝食も良いように書いてありましたが、最低限のメニューです。 レビューがあまりにも良かったので残念でした。 B&Bだと思って泊まれば問題なかったのかもしれません。 それなりに清潔だし、スタッフも感じが良かったです。 値段が安ければそれなりの価値はあるかもしれませんが、同額の他のホテルと同等のランクではありません。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Everything is too old to function

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Overall the room is clean. Many mini sections is kind cute. But the building is very old and room smells bad. I wonder if everything is only for display. The fire place in our room, not working; the fan in the bath room not working; the iron is not working either. We can hear the movement from the next door. Not coming back. There are a lot of street parking near the hotel. No need for valet parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel with excellent location

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
The White Swan Inn is a small and charming hotel in Lower Nob Hill, ideally located a short walk from Union Square, San Francisco’s prime shopping area, and close to public transportation, including the world-famous cable cars. Breakfast was delicious; every evening, local wines and hors d’oeuvres were served in the intimate downstairs parlor, an enjoyable occasion to socialize with other guests. The room was spacious and nicely decorated, with amenities such as a comfortable bed, complimentary soft drinks, and free Internet access; the old-style bathroom was well appointed. The staff was friendly, very obliging, and truly delightful. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Susan from San Diego

A Warm and Inviting Place in San Francisco

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
I truly enjoyed my stay at the White Swan. The staff were friendly and very responsive to my needs. The atmosphere was warm and inviting. It is rare for someone who travels so much to say that they felt at home in a hotel, but I can. Thank you for a lovely experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ritchie from Jakarta

excellent

Posted May 17, 2015 on Hotels
one word: excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marie from South Lake Tahoe CA

Great Union Sq location

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
Fabulous English decor with great black&white comtemporary accents. Spacious and enjoyed the lounge and breakfast area. Loved it. We will be back. French cuisine at Rue Lepic was outstanding.