Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Loved our stay here. Was clean and nice. Right in Union Swuare.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milwaukee

Great hotel with spacious rooms

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The staff at the Canterbury are attentive and helpful, with good advice on touring and dining in the area. The rooms are spacious and bright and welcoming.
Cons: Beds were very very firm (read hard!) which is fine for some but uncomfortable for me -- would have liked the adjustability option. Storage/shelf space in the bathroom was teeny tiny; bring a hang-up toiletry bag if you like to have your toiletries in the bathroom with you!
Location: Location was close to many restaurants and bars; no restaurant in the hotel but plenty right on the street! Close to Chinatown and Union Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A gem in the universe of over-priced San Francisco

Posted Oct 20, 2016
This was by far the cheapest acceptable hotel that I found for my day of travel in San Francisco. A few hotels just down the block (which I had stayed at before and are nothing special) were asking for over twice the rate per night. So, I was a little skeptical when I booked the Wyndham. I have to say that I was pleasantly blown away. My room was a beautiful updated clean suite with a huge updated bathroom, a kitchenette, a living room (with a pull-out sofa) and a bedroom. There was a new and clean fitness center with decent equipment. The location was great, walking distance from all kinds of restaurants, Union Square and the Powell BART station. This is going to be my new go-to hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SD, CA

A good location in the middle of the city.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Courteous and friendly staff.
Cons: N/A
Location: Decent location to walk or uber to many popular tourist places!
Fit 2 couples in a 1 bedroom suite just fine! Check in and check out were quick and easy. Staff was helpful and informative. Lobby was clean. Elevators worked. Bathrooms were nice. Beds were comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland Oregon

Good place to stay in SF

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly, the location is within reasonable walking distance of downtown. Moscone Center is about a 20 minute walk.
Cons: There was a bit of a hard sell at checkin to get us to attend a breakfast sales pitch. Finally just stated, "not interested, I have to go now"
Location: It's San Francisco. :)
Spacious suite, very clean and tidy. The bed was a little hard for our liking, but not too bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Overall good place to stay

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Location and lobby staff
Cons: For the price paid, room service should be included
Location: Close to Union Square and unless you are infirm or lazy the Embarcadero, Ferry Building, Pier 39 etc are walkable
In a good location a few blocks from Union Square. Friendly, helpful staff and comfortable, clean rooms. Like most hotels in San Francisco though the cost is really high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel, west of Union Square

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The hotel was very nice. Staff was very pleasant. However, be warned, Wyndam Resorts will attempt to see you a timeshare. They ask you to attend a two hour presentation, where they will attempt to sell you a timeshare. Also, because it is not a traditional hotel, there is no daily housekeeping services. We stayed for almost of week and required a new set of towels. The front desk was very polite, and provided us with a new set very quickly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice location. Nice property.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff and no hidden fees.
The Canterbury is in a great location, centrally located with lots of restaurants nearby.. A couple blocks walk to either the California or Powell St. cable car lines. Staff is very friendly,especially Teddy. He helped us with everything we would need for our 1 week stay and showed us where everything was in our suite. Staff quickly responded whenever we needed anything else. Overall, a terrific stay and I would recommend to anyone who was going to be staying in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Nice hotel and location

Posted Sep 9, 2016
The hotel was very nice and modern. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They were slightly pushy about attending a breakfast to become Wyndham members or something of that sort. No cleaning service during our stay. I didn't mind too much, just something to note. Nice room though, it was like a condo/apartment. Nice location, 2 blocks from the cable car pickup.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hôtel,very clean.

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Dont Forget no housekeeping at thi hôtel ,the concierge Teddy was very friendly and hopefull.