Ratings based on 2,104 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Comfortable bed. Not luxurious but comfortable and adequate for one night stay. Walkable to millbrae Bart Station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bare bones kind of atmosphere

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Beds were comfortable.
Cons: Clear upfront information about lack of bathtubs.
Location: Planes taking off are noisy in the morning. So it is very close to the airport.
Found out upon arriving in the room that there was no bathtub. My travel mate loves baths. So I called the front desk asking if we could have a room with one. There are none! So I asked if she could cancel our booking since we just walked in the room and hadn't touched anything, but the phone to call. Receptionist was not helpful and quite snappy. To her credit, the manager on duty called back with a nicer tone, explaining that only Expedia could authorize cancelling/refunding me since I booked through them. She suggested I call them, so I did. He did a back and forth with the hotel as I waited on hold. As it turns out they both blamed each other for not being able to cancel/refund and in the end would not allow it. So we ended up staying here with a half a dozen hotels within a few blocks that could probably offer rooms with a shower. And then another issue came up when the remote for blinds was missing. Had to change rooms or wait for one to be reprogramed. Hallways looked like they hadn't been vacuumed for a while, but room was clean and beds were comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Clean , hip , great location for flying to SFO Good price Nice common areas Help meet people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from California

Near SFO, high tech, budget friendly!

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The price, the free Wi-Fi, the free computer services, the easy parking.
Cons: Clearer explanation on using the key card; clearer explanation of the "green" room policy. Especially to call for more coffee supplies.
Interesting business model that focuses on basic requirements of travelers without sacrificing basic needs while offering a budget price. Entire hotel from lobby to bar and snack area, to the rooms are post modern in design with clean simple lines, open and airy. Millennial and Gen X people should be very comfortable with the entire environment. Seniors might need a day to adjust to how the 'green' choice works and how the key cards work, but this Senior adjusted quickly and would certainly choose Aloft again. Staff was friendly, but needs more training on sharing information with guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart, Germany

Has it all ... except quiet nights

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The service was friendly and professional, the common spaces and rooms were modern, clean, and light.
Cons: Soundproofing
Location: Good location for travelers, near SFO. Great restaurants close by in Burlingame and Millbrae. Coyote Point is good for getting outside.
It's a great place: new, modern, clean, good service. The one drawback: the soundproofing. When the jest are comings and going (as they do at SFO throughout the night), it's not quiet in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Good option right next to SFO. Hotel is clean and well run. Shuttle service to the airport a true convenience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but very noisy

Posted Oct 23, 2017
I have stayed at hotels close to the airports all around the world. Unfortunately, this hotel is not sound proof and if you are unlucky enough to get a room siding the runway, you will most likely need an earplug to sleep. Otherwise every take off will wake you up. The hotel's location is great though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here

Posted Oct 16, 2017
This hotel was a bad experience from the beginning. When I arrived they only had a single bed when I had asked and confirmed a room with two beds due to it being myself and my 6 ft son. They said there were no more rooms so I couldn’t change. The hotel is close to the airport and you could hear the planes so if you don’t mind getting woke up every minute then you should stay here. There are stains on the carpets in the hallways and in the rooms. the agent at the front desk was very rude. I asked to speak to the manager and when she came out she was rude and condescending. Since I booked through Expedia they already got my money and could care less about my situation. I work in the hotel industry and would be ashamed if my staff acted this way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington NC

Perfect stop to catch an early flight

Posted Oct 14, 2017
We stayed here just one night of our 5 night trip to SF and The Napa area. The hotel is very convenient for an early flight out of SFO. They have a shuttle van that runs to the airport every half hour. Their sister hotel, The Westin, is right across the parking lot and has a decent restaurant. The rooms were clean and modern. My only issue was hearing the loud sounds of jets taking off till 11pm ish, since we were so close to SFO. Not good if your turning in early for a 6am flight. There was also a strong smell of Jet Fuel outside that night due to the wind direction. But I could not smell it inside the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Good but can be better

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Our stay was for 6 nights and it was a comfortable stay overall. Our first experience at aloft hotel. I felt the ceiling of the room was a little worn down unless aloft keeps it that way for a contemporary look. Also I did not like that they charged us extra for parking there. $30/night! On top of our room rental. I would prefer that parking be free like other hotels which I thought was ridiculous. For that reason, I probably wouldn't stay there again or recommend that to anyone.