Ratings based on 533 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dirty ground

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
dirty grounds, no air conditioner, no iron. Photos on-line were deceiving
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

False advertising

Posted Sep 2, 2017
I have been a long-time user of Expedia. I have booked hotels from two stars to five stars. When I first started using Expedia, before I booked with them, I would call the hotel to make sure I was getting a good deal with Expedia. I was looking for a hotel close to the San Francisco airport, and the Hillsdale in came in at about $10 less then some namebrand hotels. It offered two queen beds in a room and a buffet breakfast. When I drove up with my daughters at night, the lighting around the hotel was terrible. I was trying to keep an open mind, but this hotel was definitely sketchy. When we got into our room, it was pretty clean, but there were double beds, not Queen. There was no air conditioning- just a fan! I have never been to a hotel without air conditioning… & this is California... I guess I'll have to check the amenities from now on for air conditioning! In the morning we headed down for the breakfast. The buffet breakfast as advertised iwas simply a lot of pastries and fruit. Very disappointing. We were supposed to stay two nights, but I cancelled the second night. Thankfully the hotel refunded my 2nd night. While I was not happy with our stay at the Hillsdale Inn, my question is also to Expedia about how much they check into the hotels that they advertise, and whether they indeed offer what is advertised on their site.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idyllwild, CA

Only if you are in dire straights

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: the receptionist
Cons: everything
Location: a noisy and suspicious neighborhood
The only good thing about this hotel was a man on the reception - very helpful, positive and nice. Everything else was just horrible. Hillsdale is a solution ONLY if you don't have an extra $20 to book a better place. Dirty rooms, no lock on the bathroom door, broken windows.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Hotel close to airport.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Close by the airport.
Cons: No smoking in the corridor.
Overall cleanliness alright, but don't have air conditioning. The bath room is a bit small and the venting window is open to the corridor, also quite a few times some tenants smoking at the corridor, the second hand smoke get in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont stay here.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pulling in you know you made a mistake booking this place. The paint and stucco are falling off the building but the biggest issue is people use this place to live here. We had nowhere else to go so we stayed, reluctantly. This building is honestly the one sketchy place in town. Across the street, in all directions, everything else is ok. There is even a police station a block away. But this place, freaking scary! Dont book it, move on to the next one.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, rundown motel-apartments

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We wanted to turn around when we first pulled up in the parkibg lot but I had been driving for 14 hours with two teenagers. We were tired. The front desk lady, although very pleasant and nice, was completely a sloppy mess. Dirty nails. She suggested the Motel 6 down the road because she could see we weren't happy with what we saw. The Motel 6 was full, so we stayed plus she said we might get charged anyway because we didn't cancel in time. Pictures on Expedia look nothing like the hotel or the room. The exterior of the hotel is completely run down, paint is chipping and plaster is falling from the building. The stairwell is dingy, dirty and grimy. There were cigarette buds scattered in the parking lot, in the stairwell and in the walkway. Kids bicycles stored outside a room. Looked like a run down apart complex. THE ROOM....we were handed a 'key' (not a key card- this tells you how dated) to a room that had 3 queen beds (that was a plus) but the key got stuck in the door. Carpet was dingy and it was very old. Desk was chipped. Room had an odor. Door did not unlock/lock from the inside. Had to put a chair upto the door knob for added security that night. Windows were covered with some sorta dirty film, screens were extermy grimy and didn't open. Curtains were dirty and dusty. Bathroom had unfinished repairs, mildew on the ceiling and caulking in . Pictures on Expedia showed the room had art work....NOPE!!!...just dirty walls and a lamp that didn't work. DO NOT STAY HERE!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa

Do not stay here

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: It's a great place to try to find a better hotel to stay at.
This hotel was disgusting and scary. We walked in and walked right out and found a place to stay down the street. Avoid at all costs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Conveniently located

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Shops around to refuel necessities. Friendly staff. Basic room condition in less desirable hygenic condition. Breakfast on Saturdays and Sundays only.
3 out of 5
by ROLAND

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ted

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Drendia Garcia Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.