Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel within easy access of centre

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms, convenient location and a good breakfast.
Cons: Kettles provided in rooms as standard.
Location: Close to station on FL1 line and a short walk away to a Metro line A station. Several restaurants nearby.
Nice hotel with a good selection available for breakfast. Close to the railway station to/ from the airport and other towns outside the centre. Only a short 5 - 10 minute walk to the nearest Metro station for easy access to the centre. On arrival we found that no kettle was available in the room for making drinks but upon asking the staff located one and bought it to the room without issue. Overall a nice hotel in a good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you for the 4-stars review! We are very happy to read that you were pleased with our comfortable rooms and our Hot American Breakfast Buffet. We want every guest to have a memorable experience while staying with us, and we are glad we were able to impress. We appreciate the recommendation and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT USA

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Location: The location is not the best, but the subway is near by. Just a five minute easy walk to the train station. I used the train to go to the airport,
Second time here, would not stay again if not happy. Room was large when compared to other European rooms. the bathroom was fine! The breakfast was very good, especially when compared to other hotels. I have recommended the hotel to others. Dennis Taricani
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the 5-stars review! We are very happy to read that you were pleased with our courteous staff, our comfortable rooms and our Hot American Breakfast Buffet. We want every guest to have a memorable experience while staying with us, and we are glad we were able to impress. We appreciate the recommendation and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager HIE Rome San Giovanni
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad first night in Rome

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
The area was awful. Rubbish spewing out of bins, burst pipes, graffiti on walls and dodgy looking people hanging around. The lobby carpets were filthy and so were the carpets In our room. I booked a double executive room but it didn't feel all that nicer. The bathroom was awful. The floor was almost concrete like. The shower extremely small and too close to the bidet. There was brown muck around the shower and I felt dirtier after having a shower there. When u book with holiday inn you take for granted that a certain level will be met and this time I was very disappointed. The toilet paper was also of very low quality. The only good thing was the breakfast. Also on check in the guy who checked me in wasnt very friendly. He simply said Check in or check out. No greeting at all but then again after 2 weeks in Europe I've realised people are just not friendly here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are concerned about guest satisfaction and we appreciate your comments and feedback as they ultimately enable us to improve. It disappoints me that your stay was far from perfect, as it is our goal to have our guests leave happy with their experience and eager to return. I’m sorry but the Lobby doesn’t have any carpets, could it be possible you remember the wrong Hotel? Anyway I’m glad to inform you we are one of the few Hotels using the Ozone treatment in the room before each check-in. It destroys bacteria and viruses, sterilizes surfaces and objects, disinfects bathroom and facilities, prevents the development of fungus and moulds even inside the air condition system, eliminates insect nestled in carpets, pillows and mattresses without leaving any residues or smells by acting a powerful oxidizing action to all parenchyma. I kindly invite you to read what other Guests write about the cleanliness in our property. The Hotel is situated in a very strategic location near all public transportation ways used to reach the iconic sightseeing of the ancient Roman Empire. San Giovanni’s neighborhood is located in the south part of the historical city centre at only 2.5 mi. from the real Rome’s Heartbeat: the Flavian Amphitheatre, also known world-wide as Colosseum . Please do not forget Rome is a very large city, with an extension of more 35 mi. from north to south bound, thus this area is absolutely very central. It is a residential district quiet and safe at day and night time as well. The area is a residential district usually very quiet and safe at day and night time, but I agree with you regarding the some garbage left in the street from inhabitants and tourists also could give the feeling to be a break down area. I would like to explain to all readers, there is a House of Mercy on Via Assisi, (our street) therefore they comes every day for lunch time, but nothing happen to our Guests since the opening of the Holiday Inn Rome San Giovanni 11 years ago, even during the night time. They are only low-life people or recently many refugees from North Africa or Syria escaping from civil wars or dictatorship, absolutely not dangerous in any sense. I’m wondering if people coming from other continents are informed about what is happening in Europe now: an intense flow of migration is crossing the Mediterranean Sea! From my point of view the people to be afraid of are not these refugees but others! I’d like to highlight on our street are also 2 Dancing Schools very popular by girls even during the night hours and in front of the Hotel there is an High School with more than 500 students, all of this just to specify the area could not be dangerous at all. To move from the Hotel by public transportation is very easy because the nearest Metro stop “PonteLungo” of the “A" Line is located at only 820 yards/750 m. from here. By metro you can easily reach the City centre, as “Piazza di Spagna” or the Vatican City. To go to the International Airport FCO “Fiumicino – L. Da Vinci” there is an useful connection from the Railway station “Roma Tuscolana”, located on the back of the Hotel, within 5 minutes walk. The train takes 45 minutes to go at € 8,00 per person. You can also go directly the Colosseum and the Roman Forum walking area by bus n. 85 or n. 16, the stop is at the corner between our street and Tuscolana Road. Please accept my sincere apologize if you had the feeling the Reception Staff was not kind enough but allow me to confirm that all are always very friendly and helpful, especially with Foreign Travelers not common with our habit, maybe it was only a problem of language because they speak English, French, German and Spanish. Hoping to be able to welcome you as favorite Guest next time you will be in Rome, I remain with kind regards. Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni
3 out of 5
by Reynaldo

Regular, nothing special.

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Location too far from tourist area. I would describe the services from front desk as routine / regular as they certainly do not go outside what is expected of them to satisfy your need (although the dining room staff were very warm) considering its a budget hotel. I dont think i will stay there again as the remote location and residential neighborhood are a negative factor.
2 out of 5
by Melissa from Upstate, NY

Choose ANY Other Hotel. Please.

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely awful! The double room was TINY. We tried to cancel the stay but the hotel refused to refund any money, so we ended paying for an alleged upgraded room. It had a mini fridge that didn't work. Despite our asking front desk 3x to swap it out, they said that small fridges don't get cold and that's how they worked. What?! Made no sense. No ice machines anywhere. Didn't clean the rooms. We got back at 4pm after a full day of tours and the room wasn't cleaned yet. WiFi very slow. No A/C. The manager said they don't turn it on until May. No fans or any sort of climate control. We literally had to open the patio door AND door to hallway to try to create a cross ventilation. We were here early April before the heat. God help anyone staying here when it's actually warm! Overall experience was terrible. We felt incredibly unwelcome, service was very poor, fridges don't work, stifling and tiny rooms, and we suspect bedbugs. My BF got a TON of bug bites all over his arm when we stayed here. We ended up leaving this hotel early bc we couldn't take it anymore. Seriously, stay anywhere else. Only positive notes are decent breakfast and no road noise could be heard if you have an inner room (looking at patio).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I’m really sorry about the wrong impression you had during your stay, but let me explain to all readers how things are really, because from your review seems this is the worst hotel of Rome. It seems this was your the first time out-side USA, because many of your considerations don’t make any sense to us. When you travel, you have to adapt yourself to the way of living of the other countries and not thing the all over the world you will find the same standard you are used to. In general Rome hotel rooms are on a smaller scale to that of Northern America the room size at least they are of 18 square meters, and this means our rooms are bigger than most of the 3 stars Hotel in Rome. Concerning our refuse to refund any money, I’d specify For the Advance reservation rate you have chosen, it was booked at a restricted rate type, with a cancellation fee or full pre-payment requirement. These restrictions allow us to offer discounted rates that would otherwise be unavailable. Please note the mini-fridge doesn’t have a powerful cooling effect (it is not a freezer) thus it is recommended to store items already chilled. I think you didn’t ask for the ice machine at the Reception, otherwise you had discovered it is available free of charge at the Lobby Bar with a can to deliver it to the room. From the Housekeeping reports, it comes out you hanged outside the door handle the “do not disturb” sign and this is the reason why we didn't clean the room. Please note, accordingly to the Rome City Council Legislation in the field of Environment Protection, inside Public Offices, Schools, Government Buildings and Hotels, it is absolutely forbidden to use any kind of air conditioning system before May the 1st as well as to turn on the heating system before November. I sorry you lodged at our Hotel in a period warmer than usual, with an outside temperature around 25 degrees, but we just followed the City Laws. On the bedroom wall there is a local switch to control the air flow, thus you can adjust it to stop if the room temperature become to hot for your personal feeling, anyway a low air flow remains because it is compulsory to change the air in each room. Prior the check-in of each Guest, all the rooms are treated with a brand new sanitizing solution based Ozone. It destroys bacteria and viruses, sterilizes surfaces and objects, disinfects bathroom and facilities, prevents the development of fungus and moulds even inside the air condition system, eliminates insect nestled in carpets, pillows and mattresses without leaving any residues or smells by acting a powerful oxidizing action to all parenchyma. Thus no bedbugs could survive after this treatment. kind regards
5 out of 5
by Geoffrey from Stockport

Enjoyed our stay in Rome

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay with easy access to train, metro and buses
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I was particularly happy to read your comments because our biggest satisfaction will be to maintain the hospitality promise: to let you have a pleasant and comfortable stay Looking forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will travel to Rome, I wish you all the best Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager HIE Rome San Giovanni
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great food for breakfast

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Restaurant had great food. We are from the USA and like our scrambled eggs well done. The pancakes were great. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and it was the best meal we had in Italy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2015 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I do appreciate your kind words used to describe the experience you had in our Restaurant because they really represents the target we were trying to reach and a reason for us to be proud of our works. Looking forward to welcome you as favorite Guest in Rome
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rome Holiday Express

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was a value. The staff was excellent. The breakfast that was included was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2015 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much indeed for your kind review and as you perfectly wrote the our Hot American Breakfast Buffet is our best way to thank you for choosing us, although please remember it is always in room rate included. The Hot Breakfast Buffet offers a choice among over 100 products, many of them freshly home-made such as pies or croissants. It also includes scrambled eggs, bacon, mini sausages, and beans as hot service. Furthermore are at free choice several cheeses, yogurt, 5 fresh fruit kinds and fresh fruit salads. We are really proud to announce the new opening of the In-House Restaurant from 1st. September 2015, thus yours and ours Guests would be able to enjoy the real Italian cooking together with International flavors. Looking forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will travel to Rome, I wish you all the best. Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Laudedale

An American Chain Hotel in Name only

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Pros: Nothing to like about the hotel
Cons: Everything or change the name to a local
Location: Nothing.
The decorations in the room were from the early 1980s, hotel was far away from the beaten path. No handicap accessibility. Breakfast was horrible, the shower stall could not accommodate a small person comfortably, let alone an average American. The only thing this hotel has in common with the Holiday Inn Express chain is the name, nothing else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I don’t hide my surprise reading your review about your recent stay. We are part of the brand since 2003 and we receive twice a year a control from the IHG, the Hotel is situated in the south part of the city centre at only 4 km. from the Colosseum! The Buffet offers home-made pies, croissants, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, yogurt, fresh fruit and fresh fruit salads.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Clean and comfortable hotel and room. Would have liked coffee/tea facilities in the room, especially when up early to travel to the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2015 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive review where you point on the cleanliness because with than 300 Guests from all over the world every day, the hygiene is very important. I’m sorry about the tea/coffee kettle because they are delivered to the room upon you request at the Front Desk.