Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT USA

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Location: The location is not the best, but the subway is near by. Just a five minute easy walk to the train station. I used the train to go to the airport,
Second time here, would not stay again if not happy. Room was large when compared to other European rooms. the bathroom was fine! The breakfast was very good, especially when compared to other hotels. I have recommended the hotel to others. Dennis Taricani
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the 5-stars review! We are very happy to read that you were pleased with our courteous staff, our comfortable rooms and our Hot American Breakfast Buffet. We want every guest to have a memorable experience while staying with us, and we are glad we were able to impress. We appreciate the recommendation and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager HIE Rome San Giovanni
3 out of 5
by Reynaldo

Regular, nothing special.

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Location too far from tourist area. I would describe the services from front desk as routine / regular as they certainly do not go outside what is expected of them to satisfy your need (although the dining room staff were very warm) considering its a budget hotel. I dont think i will stay there again as the remote location and residential neighborhood are a negative factor.
2 out of 5
by Melissa from Upstate, NY

Choose ANY Other Hotel. Please.

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely awful! The double room was TINY. We tried to cancel the stay but the hotel refused to refund any money, so we ended paying for an alleged upgraded room. It had a mini fridge that didn't work. Despite our asking front desk 3x to swap it out, they said that small fridges don't get cold and that's how they worked. What?! Made no sense. No ice machines anywhere. Didn't clean the rooms. We got back at 4pm after a full day of tours and the room wasn't cleaned yet. WiFi very slow. No A/C. The manager said they don't turn it on until May. No fans or any sort of climate control. We literally had to open the patio door AND door to hallway to try to create a cross ventilation. We were here early April before the heat. God help anyone staying here when it's actually warm! Overall experience was terrible. We felt incredibly unwelcome, service was very poor, fridges don't work, stifling and tiny rooms, and we suspect bedbugs. My BF got a TON of bug bites all over his arm when we stayed here. We ended up leaving this hotel early bc we couldn't take it anymore. Seriously, stay anywhere else. Only positive notes are decent breakfast and no road noise could be heard if you have an inner room (looking at patio).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I’m afraid you had such a bad impression about our Hotel, probably because you asked having for free things available only on payment and we denied your queries. I kindly invite all readers to have a look to the other reviews and will have a clear idea of the kind of service we provide and what are the standards. Kind regards
5 out of 5
by Geoffrey from Stockport

Enjoyed our stay in Rome

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay with easy access to train, metro and buses
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I was particularly happy to read your comments because our biggest satisfaction will be to maintain the hospitality promise: to let you have a pleasant and comfortable stay Looking forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will travel to Rome, I wish you all the best Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager HIE Rome San Giovanni
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great food for breakfast

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Restaurant had great food. We are from the USA and like our scrambled eggs well done. The pancakes were great. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and it was the best meal we had in Italy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2015 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I do appreciate your kind words used to describe the experience you had in our Restaurant because they really represents the target we were trying to reach and a reason for us to be proud of our works. Looking forward to welcome you as favorite Guest in Rome
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rome Holiday Express

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was a value. The staff was excellent. The breakfast that was included was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2015 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much indeed for your kind review and as you perfectly wrote the our Hot American Breakfast Buffet is our best way to thank you for choosing us, although please remember it is always in room rate included. The Hot Breakfast Buffet offers a choice among over 100 products, many of them freshly home-made such as pies or croissants. It also includes scrambled eggs, bacon, mini sausages, and beans as hot service. Furthermore are at free choice several cheeses, yogurt, 5 fresh fruit kinds and fresh fruit salads. We are really proud to announce the new opening of the In-House Restaurant from 1st. September 2015, thus yours and ours Guests would be able to enjoy the real Italian cooking together with International flavors. Looking forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will travel to Rome, I wish you all the best. Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Laudedale

An American Chain Hotel in Name only

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Pros: Nothing to like about the hotel
Cons: Everything or change the name to a local
Location: Nothing.
The decorations in the room were from the early 1980s, hotel was far away from the beaten path. No handicap accessibility. Breakfast was horrible, the shower stall could not accommodate a small person comfortably, let alone an average American. The only thing this hotel has in common with the Holiday Inn Express chain is the name, nothing else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I don’t hide my surprise reading your review about your recent stay. We are part of the brand since 2003 and we receive twice a year a control from the IHG, the Hotel is situated in the south part of the city centre at only 4 km. from the Colosseum! The Buffet offers home-made pies, croissants, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, yogurt, fresh fruit and fresh fruit salads.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Clean and comfortable hotel and room. Would have liked coffee/tea facilities in the room, especially when up early to travel to the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2015 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive review where you point on the cleanliness because with than 300 Guests from all over the world every day, the hygiene is very important. I’m sorry about the tea/coffee kettle because they are delivered to the room upon you request at the Front Desk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent budget hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Good , comfortable place to stay. Very conveniently located. Friendly helpful staff. No complaints. Great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2015 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, let me express my acknowledgments for your kind review upon your recent stay with us, it is for us reason of proud to carry on this way because the Guest’s satisfaction is our priority. Looking forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will travel to Rome, I remain
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

July 2015

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
We had an excellant stay at the hotel. Breakfasts were very generous, staff extremely helpful. Very good connections into the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2015 by Roberto Cangrande, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We can't tell you how much we appreciate the kind review of our hotel. It is always nice to hear how well our guests are treated by our associates and we focus on training them to provide each guest with an exceptional stay. We are proud to be your hotel of choice in Rome and looking forward to welcome as favorite Guest, I remain with kind regards. Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni