Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly and helpful owner. Speaks only Italian, so useful to have a few phrases. Bed was comfortable. Good location. Basic facilities -- don't expect luxury.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Price is based on location, not comfort

Posted Apr 10, 2017
The hotel had a fantastic location with only a short walk to major sites in Rome. The rooms were a bit small and lack-luster but if you're looking for a reasonable price in a great location and not a 5-star comfort hotel then this one is great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Robert from Cornelius, NC

Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
Great location. Very friendly staff. Excellent for the price. 7 minute walk from the Colosseum. Comfortable room for a family of 4. Not many amenities but clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Bit cramped, but quite convenient.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The price and location.
Cons: Get air conditioning
Location: It's about 15 minutes to walk to the Colosseum, which is an excellent place to explore Rome.
Definitely a decent place for sure. The staff were fine and dandy (I didn't speak to them much though). Due to a mix-up we ended up getting a single bed room for the two of us. It was also pretty warm and there was no air conditioning. Finally the whole room was pretty small. None of this was major since our price was quite good considering where we were located.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015
I regret the incident and if one day I return I will be happy to give you a standard room. thanks for voting
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

No car parking

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: close to the attractions
Cons: Arrange parking
The only reason I was inclined to this hotel compared to the ones that offer free breakfast is free parking. However, to my surprise, I was told that there no parking area for the hotel and I had to park my car on the road with a risk of my car being towed by police. Shouldnt be advertising of free parking if you cannot provide it
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015
I'm sorry for the misunderstanding, but we have an agreement with the garage, and not our own, definitely not booked the night the garage
3 out of 5
by james

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by New from LONDON

Good location

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: close to coliseum and shops
Cons: the hotel itself, though they were work on it.
Location: Very good
We spent one night in February, the weather was really pleasant. The hotel is very simple also they were having works, so the hallway, reception were a bit mess. The room was big, bed OK for couples, wardrobe, armchair, mini fridge, clean linen, hitter, small toilet with hot shower, it was good for the bargain we paid. The only downside was the noise from the main street that our room was located, but we expected when we booked. If you looking for a place just for sleep I recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015
thanks for the review, I quote the double windows, to solve the noise problem
4 out of 5
by Jessica from Arizona

Good Hotel, little loud.

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is in a good location. The surrounding neighborhood is really nice. We passed the hotel the first time as it is not marked well. Make sure to have the address. It is just past Pepe's restaurant. The hotel room was a good nice and bed was comfortable. The only negative thing about this hotel is it can be a little loud in the night from the traffic. It wasn't horrible but light sleepers may not like it. The staff was very friendly and explained where everything was on a map. Good hotel for the price.
4 out of 5
by Rolf

Posted Mar 10, 2013 on Hotels
Great small hotel. We really loved this hotel. On business travels we normally stay at the 4 or 5 star hotels. Merulana Star is of course very different. This is a small and quiet place to sleep. And very clean. Exactly what we needed while discovering Rome.