Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, Ca

The most amazing hotel ever!

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: The rooms are amazing just stunning. The food at the restaurant is top notch, staff perfect. Grounds are wonderful truly the best ever.
Location: There are many amazing attractions free I might add near by, pools, waterfalls, caves.
Truly the most beautiful place we have ever stayed and we are travelers. The views of the waterfalls, the room was amazing can’t say enough good about this place. Staff is extremely helpful and polite. The grounds are amazing, there is a tram that brings you down to the most amazing waterfall. Love, Love, Love it cant wait to go back.
5 out of 5
by julian

incredible lodge

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was amazing The customer services was out of this world. I would recommend this place to everyone going to Belize.
4 out of 5
by Vivian

beauty in the mountains

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
gorgeous setting in the pine mountain reserve area with excellent friendly service. we arrived via javier's flying service from BZE to the nearby blancaneux lodge airstrip - only about a 20-30 min flight and great way to see the country from above. only stayed a couple nights and went on a private trip to caracol, which was excellent (the guide Hugo was very knowledgable and engaging). the river and rocks on the property were beautiful and fun to explore, despite preceding rain making it a little muddier than usual - enjoy the nature! the rooms are not air conditioned and while a bit uncomfortably humid during the afternoon upon first arrival, after asking for a standing fan we were totally fine. only real minor disappointment is that you are somewhat stuck at the resort for food, and the quality and variety of food was a little pedestrian - did not seem to highlight some of the more authentic belizean dishes that we experienced elsewhere (except they always had marie sharps hot sauce! :) ). the prices shown seemed reasonable but after tax and service charge it always seemed far higher than what it was worth (i notice other hotels include the 12.5% tax in the price, which psychologically just makes it better i suppose). i don't mind paying for quality but thought there was room for improvement from this perspective. overall had an excellent stay though and would return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Incredible Location

Posted May 14, 2017
Nigel and his staff are incredible hosts, the food was great, water fall and river were beautiful and the room was very comfortable. We did the nature walk down to the water twice, be sure to grab a bike and ride over to the Big Rock falls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nebraska

Nice hotel with individual units.

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Very helpful staff, and great food. The proximity to five sisters falls was quite handy to cool off in the river.
Cons: Lighting was poor in the unit which made it difficult to read?
Location: Great location if you are interested visiting Caracol or the Rio Frio caves.
We enjoyed our stay. We would definitely tell others driving to the resort from Belize City or the airport not to take the Georgeville road into the resort. Instead go to the edge of San Ignacio and take that route into the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Incredible Location!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
My husband and I were blown away by the view when we arrived at Gaia. What a gorgeous spot! Great food, great staff, we wish we had planned on an extra night here as we only stayed two nights. We loved hiking to Big Rock and we followed the river back to the lodge which was challenging but a great adventure. Swimming at the base of the falls was lovely! We biked up to Blancaneaux (owned by Francis Ford Coppola) and had a drink which was also a fun little adventure. Very remote and very beautiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alameda, CA

Wow - still can't believe a place like this exists

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: We took a trip to the Caracol Maya Ruin. A bit of a drive, but very worth it.
What a perfect get-a-way. The Riverlodge is a group of separate luxury huts and one large building for the restaurant/bar/lobby/reception. Everything was top notch from the greeting we received upon arriving, to the on-site meals, the room, and of course, the incredible setting and facilities down by the river. They have done an incredible job making the facilities and our stay perfect. I told them when I left - DO NOT CHANGE A THING. There is nothing to improve upon. In Mayan terms I figure this is what meant when they were talking about 13 levels of heaven. This was somewhere near the 13th!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent lodge in a beautiful location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, remote location and relaxed atmosphere. Staff was attentive, polite and friendly.
Cons: Maybe more lighting in the lodge area. It was difficult to read menus, etc., in dim lighting.
Location: Be ready for vigorous activities. Most activities are physically challenging.
Excellent attention to details. Everything was taken care of, from luggage portage to providing towels for water activities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A secret hideaway

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing, nature at it's best! The sound of the waterfall was so soothing and relaxing. I really enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Secluded ecolodge in the middle of the forest

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: The staff is phenomenal, they go out of their way to learn your names and personalize your experience. The location is quiet, secluded, and beautiful.
Location: I highly recommend the ATM tour. It's an all day spelunking excursion to a wet Mayan Cave where you'll swim and climb to see ancient Mayan sacrifices
I had high expectations from the phenomenal reviews here and Gaia exceeded all of them. It's the perfect place to go if you're looking to unplug, get a little adventure, experience the real Belize, but not "sacrifice" on all the comforts and luxuries you want out of a vacation. "Glamping" comes to mind. The negative reviews on this site are few are far between, but if you're anything like me, have a tendency to perseverate on them. After having spent 5 nights at Gaia, I wanted to address them. They have only 1 menu, but after 5 nights there were still several meals that my husband and I didn't get to try. Because it's a secluded location, you'll end up eating all your meals on site. But I found the prices to be very reasonable. Granted I live in Manhattan, but there's no way I could have that quality of dining experience and fresh taste for those kinds of prices back home. Yes, it's a 2.5 hr bumpy car ride from the airport. But as long as you're expecting it, it's nothing. Plus, you get to see the country, so think of it as part of the experience. And yes, there is only wifi in the main lodge, no TVs on site. But if you traveled all the way out to the Belizean jungle and want to Netflix in your hotel room all day, you probably need to rethink your vacationing methods. The wifi in the lodge is plenty fast to check emails, text, all the basics to stay connected with the world back home. You'll definitely want to do some excursions if staying for more than a couple nights