Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by naoko

Google maps need improvement

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Please do not make right toward Garbage mountain right before arriving at hotel. this fantastic hotel is just straight up from the last rocky road passing through the building supply. the British owner is nice, and friendly the panoramic mountain view and pool is awesome. took very long time to having dinner after we ordered but overall was great stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Magical Gem in the Jungle

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: This is a self sustaining hotel with solar powered electricity and harvested water. It's very safe and comfortable with meals served on site.
Cons: The road to the resort is not in the best condition and not the easiest to drive if you don't have a 4 wheel drive vehicle. Meals are limited.
Location: You can easily take day tours to Caracol, Tikal, ATM caves as well as Blue Hole National Park and the Green Iguana Conservation Project.
This is a truly magical place. It's a bit hard to find and you have to drive on a very bumpy road. We kept thinking we had taken a wrong turn. However, once we arrived, we were in love. The grounds are beautiful and the resort consists of just a handful of individual bungalows. This is a family owned business and the owners really make the time and effort to get to know you. You get to enjoy the sounds of howler monkeys, birds and geckos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Jungle Escape

Posted Mar 8, 2017
If you are looking for peace and tranquility in the jungle, this plus the place to go. It is very quite and the staff is the best I have ever met.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norman, OK

Oasis in the jungle

Posted May 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location in the jungle was incredible, the accommodations were 5 star, it's totally off the grid, not that there is a grid in Belize.
Cons: If you don't like the heat, don't go to the jungle. There's no AC. I like it that way, but not everyone.
Location: ATM Cave is once in a lifetime, Calico Jacks is well set up for zip lines. Be sure to visit San Ignacio, and Xunantunich.
The lodge was very intriguing. I will have to describe further the location and the Belize experience. The room was excellent and the resort is totally beautiful with flowers and trees very well kempt. Every morning we would wake to parrots and toucans, every evening the sounds of geckos surrounded the area. The food was presented in first class manner and the innkeepers a couple from the UK with many experiences and lots of great stories. The discussion was great and drinks were well made to match. The location was hard to find, like everything in Belize. Very few signs and horrible roads. Be sure to rent a 4WD. The road coming off the main road is the bumpiest I have seen. The entrance is a road test for the hardiest vehicle. It just adds to the adventure we found there. The main road, Western Highway, is filled with people walking and riding bikes, twists and turns reveal massive speed bumps not well indicated, and practically no signs anywhere to indicate where to go. Driving was one of the biggest adventures we faced. Please don't drive at night, as the above becomes life threatening to those around you and yourself. Drivers there aren't like the people as anyone will pass on a sharp turn going over a hill. We loved Belize for all it's adventure and friendly people. The sights were amazing and the ruins awe inspiring.
5 out of 5
by Karen from Elgin

Gumbo Limbo

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time at Gumbo Limbo - very laid back and friendly. It was a great way to "peek" behind the scenes at some of the adventures we wanted to take.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, New Mexico

Quiet, Secluded Oasis in the Jungle of Belize

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: The owners built this tiny (5 bungalow) resort with an appreciation of beauty of Belize.
Cons: Internet is a little spotty, but to be frank, you don't go to Belize for the internet!
Location: The location is perfectly situated to take advantage of all the activities in the San Ignacio area of Belize.
The owners Mike and Jen were perfect hosts. They helped us plan and facilitated our daily excursions. Whether visiting the Mayan ruins, or just looking for a great place to eat in the city, they were very knowledgeable and helpful. The bar in the common area offers spectacular open views of the valley and the surrounding jungle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small resort with a personal touch

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: The fact that they can run this beautiful resort on solar power and gathered water is wonderful.
Cons: The beds are passed their prime and could use new mattresses.
Location: The resort is about a 20 minutes drive from San Ignacio so you need to either have your own transportation or rely on taxis (approx $15-20 US one way
We stayed at Gumbo Limbo for four nights at the end of January. This a very small resort with only five cabins and one common gathering area. This was a plus for us. The grounds and pool are lovely, and the bar/eating area is a great spot to meet and talk with your hosts and other guests. The continental breakfast (included in the price) was more than enough, and the two dinners we had there were delicious (Mike and Jenny will ask you in the morning if you plan to be there for dinner and ask you what kind of food you like). Our cabin was clean, bright and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of this place and the gentle approach of our hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very pleased with my choice

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Rooms cleans and linen crisp...food prepared fresh daily, pool clean nothing ever sticky...great conversation with owners
Cons: put a hook or two outside to hang wet clothing
Location: It is about 2 hours from the airport and 15 minutes from the town San Ignacio. Book tours to really enjoy the culture. No beach, you are in the jungle
My boyfriend and I had never been to Belize and booked our New Years holiday in July 2015. I was very pleased that the pictures on the website were true...Jenny and Mike (owners) amazing people who really enjoy what they do. I have special eating needs ( gluten free) Jenny made sure I had a wonderful meal everytime right down to a dessert I can enjoy. She even made sure that any tours we booked she made them aware of my eating needs and they provided a meal I can eat, (Tours come with a lunch). Jenny & Mike book tours thru "Belize Nature Travel" our guides were off the charts amazing.. Kevin and Patrick.,request them!!! The grounds are well kept, only 5 free standing cabins/large rooms...rooms are clean and linens were crisp. Pool clean and relaxing. I felt so safe and comfortable. Like staying with family. When we came back from a tour, we were greeted like we were coming home...lol- I travel alot for work and I would recommend this resort..hands down.
5 out of 5
by Ramaswamy from Ohio

GumboLimbo Jungle Resort

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
It was very enjoyable stay. Mike and Jenn wee wonderful owners / hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver canada

Fantastic people quiet getaway.

Posted Mar 15, 2015
mike and Jenny are great hosts. They operate a spot that truly gives you a jungle experience and they cater to your every need. They were able to book all our excursions (Tikal,ATM, transfers to and from airport) with a very reputable tour company. Food was very good and priced very fairly.