Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No problems

Posted Apr 1, 2018
+ Check in smooth. Staff friendly and accommodating. Had evening meal and breakfast. Both good and served in good time by nice staff. Room (Junior Suite) was clean and comfortable, and 2-3 mins walk from reception. Lovely pool and pool area that were clean and welcome in the heat. - No phone signal and poor wifi only available in reception. Only had electricity for a few hours in the morning and then again from 6pm to 9pm. We knew all this before we arrived so not a problem, and they did let me use the satellite phone in reception to resolve a problem with my transport. Not a 5 star resort but nice place in the middle of the jungle close to entrance to the park entrance.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Maya Mountain: The Best Way to visit West Belize

Posted Dec 25, 2017 on Hotels
Family of six spent 4 nights at Maya Mountain to tour the jungle and the amazing Mayan sites. San Ignacio is not a terrific city - - Maya Mountain Lodge was so wonderfully self-sufficient, there was no reason to go into town to eat or have activity. Maya Mountain lodge was able to schedule all of cool tours and activities with only the very best, most-knowledgable tour guides. Easy! Every meal was FANTASTIC, themed to highlight Belizian culture, and brought in locals to teach their culture. Service was top flight. Everyone became our close friends. So wonderful. Downside is WiFi - which is the slowest I ever encountered. That said, it was an opportunity to really "get away from it all".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Rustic jungle escape

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Amenities like Wi-Fi and recreation area.
Location: Honestly it is just out of the way enough to be quiet, but the price was no easy access to transportation, stores, or activities
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was a mix between excellent and ok with a good showcase for various cultures. The tour guide they arranged for us was outstanding. He did both Tikal and ATM Cave. Beds were the usual central America firm but comfortable. Minuses would be hit and miss Wi-Fi, no tv or radio, no bar, pool and workout area were not quite as pictured. Not a place to stay and enjoy the hotel per se, but an excellent jumping off point for seeing the area. Hammocks were comfy too ;)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelled like mold

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Smelled like mold, awful smell in entire room and especially in restroom
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recent Vacation

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
It was an amazing experience. The entire staff made us feel at home. Their hospitality went beyond our expectation. The food was delicious and traditional. You get a chance to learn about the three cultures that exist in Belize (Garifuna, Mestizo, and Mayan). Their location is also ideal to the many adventures you would like to take. We did everything to them and it was worth it! It is definitely a place I will book whenever I am back in Belize. Total satisfaction guaranteed.
5 out of 5
by Eve

Wonderful oasis

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
Maya Mountain Lodge was AMAZING. The grounds were beautiful and the staff was friendly, kind, and helpful. Additionally, the food was some of the best we had in Belize. Staying here was one of the highlights of our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Above and beyond customer service

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Fabulous customer service and amazing food.
Cons: Quieter air conditioning but that's not a reason not to stay.I will go back!
Location: Right on the edge of San Ignacio. Visit lots of Mayan ruins sites, go cave tubing.
I highly recommend staying at Maya Mountain because the staff goes above and beyond to serve you and they treat you like family. The food is amazing. Order the cultural dinners! They give you the chance to try diverse food of the country and to savor the great quality of the chef's food. They work around dietary restrictions (made me a totally different soup one night without pork). They will organize all your tours. The owner knew my husband was from El Salvador and brought him pupusas (El Salvador's national dish) from town! The rooms are simple but clean. If you want to visit the Cayo District, stay here in San Ignacio and visit the nearby Mayan ruins, this is the place!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont, USA

Jungle sounds and tranquility

Posted May 1, 2017 on Orbitz
Staff were friendly, room was very clean and had orchids delicately placed throughout the room. Beautiful surroundings, bird sounds, great walks throughout the neighborhood. Delicious tea, and breakfast, and friendly owner.
5 out of 5
by Marlene

Fantastic

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great food, great staff, and beautiful gardens made this a fantastic stay Would come back again and again.