Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Eve

Wonderful oasis

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
Maya Mountain Lodge was AMAZING. The grounds were beautiful and the staff was friendly, kind, and helpful. Additionally, the food was some of the best we had in Belize. Staying here was one of the highlights of our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Above and beyond customer service

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Fabulous customer service and amazing food.
Cons: Quieter air conditioning but that's not a reason not to stay.I will go back!
Location: Right on the edge of San Ignacio. Visit lots of Mayan ruins sites, go cave tubing.
I highly recommend staying at Maya Mountain because the staff goes above and beyond to serve you and they treat you like family. The food is amazing. Order the cultural dinners! They give you the chance to try diverse food of the country and to savor the great quality of the chef's food. They work around dietary restrictions (made me a totally different soup one night without pork). They will organize all your tours. The owner knew my husband was from El Salvador and brought him pupusas (El Salvador's national dish) from town! The rooms are simple but clean. If you want to visit the Cayo District, stay here in San Ignacio and visit the nearby Mayan ruins, this is the place!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont, USA

Jungle sounds and tranquility

Posted May 1, 2017 on Orbitz
Staff were friendly, room was very clean and had orchids delicately placed throughout the room. Beautiful surroundings, bird sounds, great walks throughout the neighborhood. Delicious tea, and breakfast, and friendly owner.
5 out of 5
by Marlene

Fantastic

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great food, great staff, and beautiful gardens made this a fantastic stay Would come back again and again.
4 out of 5
by Ania

Convenient little place

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
The stuff was very friendly and accommodating. The cottages were small and the property was rather small. There is a nice shallow water pool. I liked the fact that the management pays a lot of emphasis on healthy cooking. There is free coffee and tea available in the restaurant area. The owner displays a genuine interest in anything the guests are doing in the area and talks with guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow, ID

If you can stay here, do it!!!

Posted Feb 8, 2017
We stayed for three days and it was magical! The whole staff is commited to making sure your stay is the perfect vacation experience. Elmer was so kind and wonderful to help us arrange it shuttle from Belize City to the resort. He also helped us to arrange our day trip to Tikal and it was seamless! The food was incredible! If you can stay here, do it!!! The jungle was peaceful and almost surreal!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely facility in natural setting, superb staff!

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
The facility itself was beautiful in its natural setting and the food was excellent, but by far the best feature is the wonderful staff. Every single person went out of their way to see to our comfort and needs, whether preparing food specially for our various diet requirements, assisting us with tour and travel arrangements, or any other request we had. When a member of our party sprained her ankle, they immediately moved her to a more accessible cottage. When another needed to change his transportation reservation to the airport, they arranged the new transfer and got the previous one cancelled without penalty. The lodge also has interesting demonstrations of local culture and cuisine. All in all, they made our stay a refreshing and relaxing vacation as well as an adventure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oasis in the jungle

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
This was a great place to stay. A little out of the town (about 2km) it is the middle of the jungle with separate accommodation areas. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and appear to be great with kids. They run tours for those interested as well as cooking classes. Many of these are expensive. The rooms are spacious although can be a little noisy when kids are running around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels