Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Above and beyond customer service

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Fabulous customer service and amazing food.
Cons: Quieter air conditioning but that's not a reason not to stay.I will go back!
Location: Right on the edge of San Ignacio. Visit lots of Mayan ruins sites, go cave tubing.
I highly recommend staying at Maya Mountain because the staff goes above and beyond to serve you and they treat you like family. The food is amazing. Order the cultural dinners! They give you the chance to try diverse food of the country and to savor the great quality of the chef's food. They work around dietary restrictions (made me a totally different soup one night without pork). They will organize all your tours. The owner knew my husband was from El Salvador and brought him pupusas (El Salvador's national dish) from town! The rooms are simple but clean. If you want to visit the Cayo District, stay here in San Ignacio and visit the nearby Mayan ruins, this is the place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont, USA

Jungle sounds and tranquility

Posted May 1, 2017 on Orbitz
Staff were friendly, room was very clean and had orchids delicately placed throughout the room. Beautiful surroundings, bird sounds, great walks throughout the neighborhood. Delicious tea, and breakfast, and friendly owner.
5 out of 5
by Marlene

Fantastic

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great food, great staff, and beautiful gardens made this a fantastic stay Would come back again and again.
4 out of 5
by Ania

Convenient little place

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
The stuff was very friendly and accommodating. The cottages were small and the property was rather small. There is a nice shallow water pool. I liked the fact that the management pays a lot of emphasis on healthy cooking. There is free coffee and tea available in the restaurant area. The owner displays a genuine interest in anything the guests are doing in the area and talks with guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow, ID

If you can stay here, do it!!!

Posted Feb 8, 2017
We stayed for three days and it was magical! The whole staff is commited to making sure your stay is the perfect vacation experience. Elmer was so kind and wonderful to help us arrange it shuttle from Belize City to the resort. He also helped us to arrange our day trip to Tikal and it was seamless! The food was incredible! If you can stay here, do it!!! The jungle was peaceful and almost surreal!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely facility in natural setting, superb staff!

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
The facility itself was beautiful in its natural setting and the food was excellent, but by far the best feature is the wonderful staff. Every single person went out of their way to see to our comfort and needs, whether preparing food specially for our various diet requirements, assisting us with tour and travel arrangements, or any other request we had. When a member of our party sprained her ankle, they immediately moved her to a more accessible cottage. When another needed to change his transportation reservation to the airport, they arranged the new transfer and got the previous one cancelled without penalty. The lodge also has interesting demonstrations of local culture and cuisine. All in all, they made our stay a refreshing and relaxing vacation as well as an adventure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oasis in the jungle

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
This was a great place to stay. A little out of the town (about 2km) it is the middle of the jungle with separate accommodation areas. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and appear to be great with kids. They run tours for those interested as well as cooking classes. Many of these are expensive. The rooms are spacious although can be a little noisy when kids are running around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

It is serene, beautiful and tropical.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Service, lovely grounds, food, proximity to sights and activities. The owners were accommodating and helpful.
Cons: No AC....but it is the tropics. The owners were acommadating and helpful.
Location: Visit ruins by car or boat. Lots of bird viewing. see local life,.. visit north Belize too..like Orange Walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Great place for a real jungle experience.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Staff, Food, and Hotel grounds.
Cons: Air conditioners could be upgraded. Ours smelled.
Location: Convenient access to San Ignacio and lots of archeological sites. You could stay for weeks and not do everything.
Let me start by saying if you are looking for a posh, sterile, first world hotel experience, read no further, press the back button and choose another place to stay. You'll be miserable. If you're looking to stay in Belize and experience it, then this is the place. The rooms are fine for sleeping in. That's all you're going to do there. There is so much to do in the local area that you will only be in your room to sleep, shower, and change clothes. The rest of the time you're going to be out and about climbing Maya ruins, floating down a river, exploring the jungle, etc. Or, you're going to be in the lodge's restaurant eating some of the excellent food made with fresh, local ingredients and talking to other travelers. The grounds are like a miniature botanical garden with trails and things to explore. They make for a good morning walk. The staff is excellent, friendly, and very helpful. We only took one tour arranged by the lodge (we prefer to explore on our own) and the drivers and guide were friendly and knowledgeable. For people who like arranged tours you can't go wrong with one arranged by the lodge. We had originally planned to eat our meals while we were out, but the food is so good at the lodge we ate every breakfast and dinner there. So to wrap it up, no frills authentic jungle experience, great staff, great food. If this is what you want, look no further.