Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and the best staff!

Posted Mar 27, 2018
The hotel is very nice and worked well for our family of four. The staff were the friendliest ever and always so helpful! The room was comfortable and clean (I wish there were more hooks in the bathroom for wet clothes) and our kids loved the pool. It is in a great location and easy to walk down to town (for the market - must do on Saturday mornings or to go to a local restaurant. The food at the resort is very good too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

perfect location

Posted Mar 23, 2018
Pros: The wildlife preserve with trees, iguanas, and many birds is a wonderful setting, visible from the eating area.
Cons: More towel racks in the bathroom to hang up wet swimming suits and towels.
Location: The location was close to the downtown area and also a Mayan site. We could walk to some souvenir and food shops as well as a variety of restaurants.
This is a lovely hotel at the edge of town and next to a wildlife area. Our room and the bathroom were spacious with comfortable beds and a comfortable couch. The dining area was situated with a great view of the trees in the adjacent wildlife area. It is designated as an iguana preserve, but it also has a wide variety of birds to see. At least 2 kinds of toucans made their appearance during our stay and they are spectacular birds! The food in the restaurant was unfailingly delicious. The staff are all exceptionally friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fishers, IN.

Three nights in San Ignacio

Posted Feb 18, 2018
We split a seven day trip to Belize with three nights in San Ignacio and four nights in San Pedro. Our three night stay at the San Ignacio resort was very enjoyable. The resort is lovely. Our room was spacious, beds and pillows we're comfortable.The air conditioner worked well and there was a ceiling fan in the room. Lovely little flowers were sprinkled on our towels and spelled "welcome" on our beds. Such a lovely touch! Another nice gesture was a little snack that was brought to our room nightly. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Rueben and Onil took care of our excursions with great skill. We were spoiled here! You can walk down the large hill the hotel is on to the small downtown below. Shops and restaurants and the market are there. Or the hotel will call a taxi for you. It is a $5( Belizean dollars) ride. The pool, terrace area and restaurant are all very nice. Be sure to visit the iguana conservation on the hotel grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Retro Hotel with Great Staff!!

Posted Jan 31, 2018
Pros: The service was excellent and the attitude of the personnel was always upbeat and pleasant. Didn't hear a single grumbling employee.
Cons: A little gift/snack shop near the lobby would be nice so you could purchase drinks or sundries for your room.
Location: Very close to downtown with many small restaurants and shops. The hotel is on a hill so be prepared for a climb back. It also connects to a casino.
The Hotel was very comfortable and kind of took you back many years to the old days of staying at a resort hotel. Consuelo and her Housekeeping Team kept our room very clean and brought us snacks each afternoon....leaving little flower petals on our pillows. It rained enough that certain tours weren't available, but the Concierge (Reuben) found excursions that were equally interesting and made all of the arrangements. We were always greeted when we entered the hotel and usually escorted to the dinning room by the Concierge. The food was very good and the dining staff went to great lengths to make sure we enjoyed our dinner. A wonderful and relaxing adventure in San Ignacio
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

great for walking into town

Posted Jan 27, 2018 on Orbitz
All the employees were very helpful and engaging. A beautiful place to stay and we especially enjoyed Onil as our tour guide for Xunantunich!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great location, near downtown

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: It was clean and the food was good.
Cons: The A/C was noisy and did not have good air distribution.
Location: The ruins and caves in the area. Great local restaurant: THE GREAT MAYAN PRINCE RESTAURANT.
The hotel is nice and the staff very cordial. The restaurant was also pretty good for what we had seen in the area. My only concern was with the A/C. We had to have it on at all times because otherwise it got to be too hot. My bed was right under it and not only was it noisy, but it was directly blowing cold air on me. My kids were on the other bed and were fine, but I had to sleep under the covers. The dehumidifier in the room was very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Phyllis

Posted Jan 4, 2018 on Hotels
Great place to stay in a lovely town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience!!!

Posted Dec 27, 2017
The hotel is a short walk into town, the staff sees to every detail of your stay. Rueben the consierge did a great job lining up tours, taking great care of us. After a long day of hiking through the jungle, a refreshing plunge in the pool was exactly what was needed. The iguana sanctuary is right on the property. I would definitely recommend this place, such a gem in San Ignacio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very nice hotel in town

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Generally very clean, comfortable hotel up the hill from town - it was really very nice. But the hill is big so be prepared - it's doable but hot in the afternoon :) The pool was beautiful and the staff was very nice to me when I got sick after eating in a restaurant in town (don't order watermelon juice, they might mix it with local tap water I found out the hard way!). The air conditioner and humidifier made the room very comfortable. My sheets seemed clean but had multiple stains on them - asked for new ones and got more stained sheets. Third time was a charm - finally got unstained bedding - maybe they don't use bleach in the laundry? Beds and linens were comfortable, good sized bathroom. Visited the iguanas on the property which was fun. I'd return to this hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great trip great hotel and great tour of tikal. Wish we had planned to stay longer to explore the hotel grounds and area a bit more