Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pacific NW, USA

Quality resort, superb staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Upon arrival to airport, the hotel shuttle driver was waiting for us with signage. As we entered the hotel we were greeted by name with cool eucalyptus towels and fruit juice. Very welcoming after many hours of travel! Our suite was ready and had a pleasant, fresh fragrance. Pool and grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Top notch concierge, Reuben. He provided a wonderful itinerary. Our whole family was thrilled with our adventures! Knowledgeable and friendly tour guides. Excellent restaurant on open terrace with amazing birds and iguanas. Close to town with more delicious restaurants and friendly people. So happy we chose San Ignacio Resort Hotel. Would highly recommend to my family and friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from h tx

over rated

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: looks upscale but not upscale
Cons: maybe extra complimentary breakfast duh
The view of the room was wrong , I ask for a specific view, plus we saw alot of insects etc, for a nice hotel it had the dressings and nothing else. They over charge for extra cheese on eggs and hotel people wasnt friendly, could go off more not that type of person just telling you theres better but i can say location is great if you staying a day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice western hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The daily present, room cleanness
Cons: Concierge wasn't great. The corridor leaked water. It is uphill and people that find that hard will need a ride.
Location: The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the town center so everything is accessible by foot.
Hotel is nice and maintained ok. The team is very helpful and they leave a small present in the room every day that the kids really liked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Best hotel in San Ignacio

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Hotel is older but well taking care of has a super nice pool where you can see the local wildlife too.
Cons: There is some new construction going on but looks like an extension to the property so it will not bother you
Location: All the Myan Ruins can be visited from this location and Cave tours as well
If your planning on seeing the Mayan Ruins or any other types of adventure type of activities, this is where you need to stay. The hotel concierges will arrange everything from getting you to and from the airport to taking you into Guatemala to see Tikal. Staff is knowledgeable about the sites and culture and the hotel tour guides will make your adventures the best experience possible. The hotel has a great restaurant and the staff will direct you to the best local restaurants in San Ignacio. The staff is super friendly and will take care of all your needs and won't stick their hands out for tips but you will want to tip them when you leave because they are that nice and treat you like family. If your going to see the Ruins , San Ignacio is where you need to go and if your staying in San Ignacio then this Resort is where you should stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Very comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Every afternoon the hotel leave a small surprise to the guests in the room. This is a great gesture and we really enjoyed that on top of everything el
Cons: Hotel maintenance can be a bit better, some leaking water in the hall, etc. nothing major though.
Location: Location is great, close to the town center, if you're up to a walk up the hill, we loved it.
The hotel is western quality in the middle of Belize. Service is very good, staff is friendly, rooms are maintained well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Beautiful hotel with service close to ruins, cave

Posted Jun 23, 2017
The San Ignacio hotel is a beautiful resort with a great staff. The rooms are clean and the service impeccable. The restaurant had great food as well. Our boys age 9 and 12 loved the Iguana Sancuary so much they went every day! The concierges were great about setting up an ATM tour that was the highlight of our trip. An amazing experience!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

San Ignacio Resort Hotel and Tours to Caracol

Posted Jun 21, 2017
Pros: Location, attention of staff and great food
Location: Great location and easy access to Mayan cities such as Caracol and Tikal (Guatemala)
The San Ignacio Resort Hotel was superb! Great location in San Ignacio and close to Mayans sites such as Caracol. The staff was wonderful especially the tour guide Cruz (see cayoguides.org). I took a day trip to Caracol with Cruz which was superb. The guide was very knowledgeable of the Mayan city and culture making the experience fantastic. I would greatly recommend the Resort Hotel and tour guide.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Top choice for San Ignacio

Posted May 13, 2017
Cons: Fix the rooms with the mouldy smell. Also make purified water freely available.
Location: Walking distance to shops and restaurants in San Ignacio. Also a cheap taxi fare back if you don't feel like walking.
We had a great stay here - so much so that we decided to stay a little longer, and would have stayed longer still, if there had not been a wedding that had pre-booked out all the rooms. By the end, the staff made us feel like old friends. It is a beautiful building, the onsite restaurant is TOP NOTCH, in a great location overlooking rainforest. Short walk to town and a cheap taxi ride back if you don't feel like walking up the steep hill. The only downsides to the whole experience was firstly that the original room we were booked into had a very unpleasant smell of mould that was coming from the ceiling. I think the roof needs replacing in that part of the building. I believe the hotel is aware of this, as apparently other guests had complained, and the room had a portable dehumidifier as well as a separate air conditioner. This didn't help the smell, however. It was so overpowering that we requested to be moved. Unfortunately this meant moving to a smaller room with a different aspect (still pleasant, but not quite as nice). The only other quibble was only getting 2 small bottles of purified water every day. Other hotels provide water dispensers around the property. I don't like having to pay for drinkable water in a hotel as expensive as this one. But other than that, it was a lovely hotel and I would gladly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the hotel setting, the food and great staff.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Everything was nice, The rooms, the food and the staff.
Location: Lots of adventure trips.
This was my favorite hotel during my two week stay in Belize.
5 out of 5
by Pam

This hotel ROCKS!!

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
The service was top notch!!the staff are so friendly and helpful. Very courteous and gracious! The hotel is beautiful. Some rooms are little old but well kept!! Restaurant is very good. Walking distance to their small downtown. Love the hotel and staff!!