Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great location, near downtown

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: It was clean and the food was good.
Cons: The A/C was noisy and did not have good air distribution.
Location: The ruins and caves in the area. Great local restaurant: THE GREAT MAYAN PRINCE RESTAURANT.
The hotel is nice and the staff very cordial. The restaurant was also pretty good for what we had seen in the area. My only concern was with the A/C. We had to have it on at all times because otherwise it got to be too hot. My bed was right under it and not only was it noisy, but it was directly blowing cold air on me. My kids were on the other bed and were fine, but I had to sleep under the covers. The dehumidifier in the room was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience!!!

Posted Dec 27, 2017
The hotel is a short walk into town, the staff sees to every detail of your stay. Rueben the consierge did a great job lining up tours, taking great care of us. After a long day of hiking through the jungle, a refreshing plunge in the pool was exactly what was needed. The iguana sanctuary is right on the property. I would definitely recommend this place, such a gem in San Ignacio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very nice hotel in town

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Generally very clean, comfortable hotel up the hill from town - it was really very nice. But the hill is big so be prepared - it's doable but hot in the afternoon :) The pool was beautiful and the staff was very nice to me when I got sick after eating in a restaurant in town (don't order watermelon juice, they might mix it with local tap water I found out the hard way!). The air conditioner and humidifier made the room very comfortable. My sheets seemed clean but had multiple stains on them - asked for new ones and got more stained sheets. Third time was a charm - finally got unstained bedding - maybe they don't use bleach in the laundry? Beds and linens were comfortable, good sized bathroom. Visited the iguanas on the property which was fun. I'd return to this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nashville, t

Home away from home

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: The staff
Location: In San Ignacio, the jungle inland Belize. Closer to Guatemala and many Mayan ruins. Day trip to Tikal, cave tubing, horse back riding.
I had a fantastic experience at San Ignacio resort. The wait staff and concierge went to every effort to make my entire group feel as if they had always known us. They were attentive and kind and respectful. I would highly highly recommend to anyone to stay here. 5 stars. Plus there are iguanas and toucans in the trees outside your room, can't beat that!
5 out of 5
by John

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is a classic. The best thing by far is the kind and gracious customer service. The staff really go above and beyond.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pacific NW, USA

Quality resort, superb staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Upon arrival to airport, the hotel shuttle driver was waiting for us with signage. As we entered the hotel we were greeted by name with cool eucalyptus towels and fruit juice. Very welcoming after many hours of travel! Our suite was ready and had a pleasant, fresh fragrance. Pool and grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Top notch concierge, Reuben. He provided a wonderful itinerary. Our whole family was thrilled with our adventures! Knowledgeable and friendly tour guides. Excellent restaurant on open terrace with amazing birds and iguanas. Close to town with more delicious restaurants and friendly people. So happy we chose San Ignacio Resort Hotel. Would highly recommend to my family and friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from h tx

over rated

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: looks upscale but not upscale
Cons: maybe extra complimentary breakfast duh
The view of the room was wrong , I ask for a specific view, plus we saw alot of insects etc, for a nice hotel it had the dressings and nothing else. They over charge for extra cheese on eggs and hotel people wasnt friendly, could go off more not that type of person just telling you theres better but i can say location is great if you staying a day!
5 out of 5
by Deborah J

If you come to Belize, visit the San Ignacio Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
We had a delightful stay at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel. The hotel itself is lovely, set up against the jungle. The food and drinks at the restaurant are superb and, if you want to book any adventure, do it through them. Every detail has been covered so that every trip is worry free. We did one day with cave tubing, lunch and zip lining. Another was spent visiting Tikal in Guatemala. Both trips were amazing. Just a heads up, they do charge for extra people in the room, but I think that is standard in Belize.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice western hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The daily present, room cleanness
Cons: Concierge wasn't great. The corridor leaked water. It is uphill and people that find that hard will need a ride.
Location: The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the town center so everything is accessible by foot.
Hotel is nice and maintained ok. The team is very helpful and they leave a small present in the room every day that the kids really liked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Best hotel in San Ignacio

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Hotel is older but well taking care of has a super nice pool where you can see the local wildlife too.
Cons: There is some new construction going on but looks like an extension to the property so it will not bother you
Location: All the Myan Ruins can be visited from this location and Cave tours as well
If your planning on seeing the Mayan Ruins or any other types of adventure type of activities, this is where you need to stay. The hotel concierges will arrange everything from getting you to and from the airport to taking you into Guatemala to see Tikal. Staff is knowledgeable about the sites and culture and the hotel tour guides will make your adventures the best experience possible. The hotel has a great restaurant and the staff will direct you to the best local restaurants in San Ignacio. The staff is super friendly and will take care of all your needs and won't stick their hands out for tips but you will want to tip them when you leave because they are that nice and treat you like family. If your going to see the Ruins , San Ignacio is where you need to go and if your staying in San Ignacio then this Resort is where you should stay!