Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful. Birding, butterflies, rainforest medicine trail, canoeing, swim in river or pool and dekicious breakfast. No AC but was able to hear music of the jungle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Half Moon Bay

Jungle Experience!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Property and nature experience. River runs through it, great canoe trip and nature experience. Food very good! Staff super and loyal to ownership.
Cons: Bit greedy on marking up side trips to other locations Vs self doing. Promoted Mountain Biking is a joke in terms of trail quality and bikes were beat
Location: Best part of Belize! Most of Country is very third World and poorly looked after! This area and Parks and Mayan sites very cool! Hike and river trip.
Best Hotel we saw in Belize. Located in Jungle highlands with an incredible property. Unspoiled Jungle with crazy monkeys, lots of wild birds and creatures, i am not sure what they were!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Natural Wonderland

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highlight of our trip!

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Everything. Being a bit of a food snob however, I was totally unprepared for the delicious meals that were served each day. Ridiculously good!
Cons: Nothing. Total perfection.
Location: Located just outside of San Ignacio, there is endless opportunities for exploration. I recommend the day trip to Tikal in Guatemala.
We stayed at Chaa Creek based upon online reviews, but no amount of praise can do this place justice. Spacious and clean rooms, immaculate grounds, awesome staff, meals that we can't stop talking about (menu changes daily and everything is prepared fresh), plus activities galore. We stayed in a garden suite (reserved a cottage but upgraded?) and were most impressed by the comfort and size of the room. The pool was a great welcome home after a hot day out and about. Note: No air conditioning, but not a problem. Evenings were cool. We definitely will return, and Chaa Creek will be a central part of our vacation plan.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

It was fine, but we won't be back

Posted Apr 13, 2016
I would rate this a solid 3.5 stars. It's annoying because all of the things to make it 4.5 stars would be easy to do. It started with me inquiring as to why there weren't any reusable water bottles in our room like the little brochure in the room said there should be. I was told that since I was on a 25% discounted rate, I didn't get water bottles. Ok...I guess I'll buy them. I was prepared for the gift shop to charge me $20 per water bottle or something. $4. So I spend $4k at this place and they go through the hassle of not giving us water bottles to save $8. The kicker is, I didn't even want to keep the water bottles, i just wanted to use them while I was there. I heard other guests asking and complaining to different staff members, with the same answer. Just left a bad taste in my mouth from day one. From there, there's a long list of things that are three star type of issues. None major but they all add up. Rooms are really hot: put in a couple more ceiling fans and make them more powerful, like the ones in the bar and restaurant. They dramatically overcharge for transport to excursions. Like $110 to go 20 mins down the road. There are lizards and bugs in the rooms. I get it, it's the jungle, but provide some netting for the bed. Cheap and easy. The bar area seating is really uncomfortable. The dinner restaurant staff was consistently underwhelming. And dinner soups and desserts weren't great. Anyway, fine but won't return. There are better places.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice place but seems to be past its prime

Posted Jan 18, 2016
A pleasant enough stay in the jungle but for the price we would have expected a bit more. Food was good but not great, no AC in the room made for a sticky nights sleep and concierge seemed irritated that we'd booked our own tour to Tikal before arrival. Butterfly exhibit was nice for the kids and they loved the pool (but don't they always?).
5 out of 5
by Debra from New York, NY

Comfortable, stylish, peaceful

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
My friends and I spent a few days at Chaa Creek over Thanksgiving and I've been raving about the lodge since I returned! Lovely staff, remarkably beautiful property and really comfortable room. I travel a lot and am picky about finding a good bed and Chaa Creek definitely delivered. I'm definitely looking to return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great hotel in the jungle

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: great hotel with super nice staff.
Location: close to airport, and many Mayan ruins nearby,Hotel is situated on a large acreage good for hiking, also on the Makal river and canoeing is an option.
Lovely hotel and super friendly staff, we were upgraded to the spa unit free of charge, and the apartment was amazing, the pool is beautiful and clean, food was good. I will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An ecolodge in the Belize jungle

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: I could live there?
Location: Optional visits to archaeological surface and cave sites can be arranged as well as cave tubing and zipling activities. The lodge has nature walks...
A beautifully landscaped, tropical paradise with good food, friendly and contented staff featuring many luxuries as well as access to plenty of stimulating educational and recreational outdoor activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Roberto, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your Chaa Creek experience and for your kind words. We strive for customer excellency and it's the most gratifying feeling when our guests can share their contentment with us. Best regards from Belize.