Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Simple,clean hotel in beautiful setting

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Came to this hotel with my family of four kids (8,11,15,18). Once we got over the lack of wifi (worked only in the bar area ) and the lack of snacks between meals (I liked this but kids did it) we loved the relaxing atmosphere, very helpful and friendly staff, the beautiful views, the amazing foliage and being woken up by the birds. Would definitely go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good option for San Ignacio

Posted Apr 5, 2017
This a good option for travelers to San Ignacio. The facility is close to town but too far to walk. The pool is nice and the grounds are spread out and attractive. The rooms appear like the pictures -- individual cottages. There is a restaurant and bar at the hotel that we did not go to. Staff was helpful and professional. I appreciated that they had a fitness room, but the equipment was mostly nonfunctional. Would strongly recommend a car to do your own excursions if you are adventurous rather than relying on buying tours. Can arrange your own guides at the sites (e.g., cave tubing, mayan sites, rio on pools, zip lining) rather than relying on a tour. It will save a lot of money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Nice hotel just outside of town.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Very nice staff. Hotel was clean and looked like the pictures. Ate dinner in town at Eva's which was very yummy. Taxi ride was bd$15. Pool was nice. Several games in the bar. Would stay here again if going to San Ignacio.
5 out of 5
by Harrison

More a Lodge than Resort, But Still Excellent

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay at the Windy Hill Resort. The staff is super helpful and accommodating, and the location is quiet and secluded, especially compared to the hustle-and-bustle of San Ignacio. The rooms are quite large and very pleasant for being in the jungle, although know Windy Hill is more a lodge than a resort. The location isn't too much of a downside - taxis to San Ignacio are $5-8 BZE (look for green license plates) and tour operators are happy to pick you up there. The bar and restaurant are clean and well-run (Rene the bartender is awesome), but I'll admit the restaurant is priced according to its convenience as there are no other restaurants within walking distance (aka, a bit on the pricier side, especially breakfast). The pool and fitness centers are also quite excellent. Oh, and the sunsets are excellent. So, if you are looking for a quiet way to spend your vacation in San Ignacio, this is a definite recommend.
5 out of 5
by Staci

Great San Ignacio Stay!

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay in San Ignacio! Super great staff, nice bungalow rooms with crankin' AC & a cute onsite bar area. Highly recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Original concept but outdated réalisation.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Nice small houses chambers very quiet and good looking. Unfortunately comfort is not there, beds are back breaking and the bathroom is terrible, so small and impossible to tune the shower temperature. Wi-Fi was sold in the package but not working in the chamber. Breakfast was terrible and expensive. Staff was friendly. This hotel has to be refurbished to pretend beeing to the mark.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough, ON Canada

Close to everything we want to do in the area.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
We came to see ruins and caves and dispite the rain had a great time. From the friendly helpful staff at Windy Hills to canoeing the caves at Barton Creek with Selmo the guide from Xplore Island Tours it was a great trip and we just had to extend it one more night at Windy Hills Resort Would highly recommend highly resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r

Beautiful hotel close to ruins

Posted Jul 22, 2016
This place has so much character! Gorgeous mahogany furniture, great pool, nature trails, breakfast, and bar. We love the little touches like the hammock on the front porch and the very friendly staff.