Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston , TX

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We had a great time . Staff were very friendly and welcoming . They were very helpful with planning our tours . Our condo was cleaned everyday when we got back from tours . Breakfast had variety everyday . Loved the property with beautiful trees and pools .walkable distance to eating places . Only disadvantage is it is away from the beach but we were ok with it . Have to say thank you to Mauricio at the front desk who helped plan all our tours .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Hotel was nicely located in walking distance to a lot and close to bus to get to city of San Jose. Staff was always very helpful and courteous, hotel was clean and very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by villasdelrio, Hotel Management
Hi!! thank you! we are happy that you enjoyed your stay! It will be always a pleasure. More than welcome anytime you want to visit us again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Escazu

Posted May 20, 2017
My favorite hotel when staying in San Jose / Escazu ! They provide transportation to and from the airport ! Good breakfast ! Nicenjoy big clean rooms ! Best of all the most friendliest and accommodating staff !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by villasdelrio, Hotel Management
Hi! You are more than welcome anytime :) It was a pleasure to have you here. Thank you for your review, and we hope to see you soon again. Have a nice day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
Villas Del Rio is always my choice when staying in Escazu / San Jose ! Very nice area that is convenient to my needs and wants ! Golf course , good restaurants , groceries , etc all within walking distance ! It is a aparthotel so if you wish to cook instead of eating out it is an option ! Excellent pool and jacuzzi plus a fitness room ! A nice friendly staff that are always willing to meet your needs !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by villasdelrio, Hotel Management
Thank you! These comments make us feel very happy! This is part of our idea, that every guest feel very closer to their home and enojyed every second. Have a nice day and we hope to see you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Quiet apartment hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Perfect for longer stays close to San Jose, kitchenette is nice. Bed ok, little harder side but we slept ok. Lots of restaurants and convenience store in walking distance. Pool was nice looking from afar but had not been cleaned for a while, there was toiletpaper pieces floating around and jacuzzi had lots of leafs and bugs etc. floating around. Breakfast was great, plenty to choose from and good coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Mauricio Castro | Sales & Reservations Department, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. We appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to this area in the future, don’t hesitate to contact us Regards,
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Little paradise

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Cute and charming place the staff very helpful and nice. Will definitely be a return customer had a fabulous stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bze

Not a walking distance

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The hotel was very nice, clean beautiful and lovely staff more than all Eunice so lovely!! The only thing about the hotel was that the bar was not a 24 hour bar like I read on the review, breakfast was good and room were good as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Mauricio Castro | Sales & Reservations Department, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. We appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. This area has grown so fast and yes, a lot of traffic has become an small issue If you’re traveling to this area in the future, don’t hesitate to contact us Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great value for the price

Posted Apr 15, 2017
This hotel was a great choice for accessing the airport. We couldn't believe how big our room was! The food was good at the breakfast buffet. Nice pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cali

It was in area the was upscale compared other area

Posted Mar 31, 2017
It was good but there roads in Costa Rica sucks because to much traffic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Terrible location on a very busy road .

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: The breakfasts are excellent, the grounds well kept and security outstanding.
Cons: Training the staff on reception to be more helpful/knowledgeable particularly the female - don't know her name but she is positively hostile.
Location: Awful location with nothing whatsoever to do nearby.
Our room was like a dungeon, it was necessary to keep all lights on at all times and even then it was quite difficult to read small print. The apartment was huge but the only tv was in the bedroom which was not very user friendly. There were doors opening to the gardens but nowhere to sit outside. The pool nearest our block was always full of leaves due to the fact that it was so windy all the time. It was situated right by the road so you couldn't have a conversation due to the traffic noise and there was an overpowering sewage like smell. There was another pool which nobody told us about and we found by accident on the last day. That pool was very nice. There was no directory in the apartment pointing out how to work different appliances or giving a layout of the complex. We had a query about the phone system one day which the woman on reception hadn't a clue how to answer so she sent a staff member who could only speak Spanish and we couldn't communicate with.. I would not recommend this place.