Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Escazu

Posted May 20, 2017
My favorite hotel when staying in San Jose / Escazu ! They provide transportation to and from the airport ! Good breakfast ! Nicenjoy big clean rooms ! Best of all the most friendliest and accommodating staff !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
Villas Del Rio is always my choice when staying in Escazu / San Jose ! Very nice area that is convenient to my needs and wants ! Golf course , good restaurants , groceries , etc all within walking distance ! It is a aparthotel so if you wish to cook instead of eating out it is an option ! Excellent pool and jacuzzi plus a fitness room ! A nice friendly staff that are always willing to meet your needs !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Quiet apartment hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Perfect for longer stays close to San Jose, kitchenette is nice. Bed ok, little harder side but we slept ok. Lots of restaurants and convenience store in walking distance. Pool was nice looking from afar but had not been cleaned for a while, there was toiletpaper pieces floating around and jacuzzi had lots of leafs and bugs etc. floating around. Breakfast was great, plenty to choose from and good coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bze

Not a walking distance

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The hotel was very nice, clean beautiful and lovely staff more than all Eunice so lovely!! The only thing about the hotel was that the bar was not a 24 hour bar like I read on the review, breakfast was good and room were good as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great value for the price

Posted Apr 15, 2017
This hotel was a great choice for accessing the airport. We couldn't believe how big our room was! The food was good at the breakfast buffet. Nice pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cali

It was in area the was upscale compared other area

Posted Mar 31, 2017
It was good but there roads in Costa Rica sucks because to much traffic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Terrible location on a very busy road .

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: The breakfasts are excellent, the grounds well kept and security outstanding.
Cons: Training the staff on reception to be more helpful/knowledgeable particularly the female - don't know her name but she is positively hostile.
Location: Awful location with nothing whatsoever to do nearby.
Our room was like a dungeon, it was necessary to keep all lights on at all times and even then it was quite difficult to read small print. The apartment was huge but the only tv was in the bedroom which was not very user friendly. There were doors opening to the gardens but nowhere to sit outside. The pool nearest our block was always full of leaves due to the fact that it was so windy all the time. It was situated right by the road so you couldn't have a conversation due to the traffic noise and there was an overpowering sewage like smell. There was another pool which nobody told us about and we found by accident on the last day. That pool was very nice. There was no directory in the apartment pointing out how to work different appliances or giving a layout of the complex. We had a query about the phone system one day which the woman on reception hadn't a clue how to answer so she sent a staff member who could only speak Spanish and we couldn't communicate with.. I would not recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2017
A bit far from the airport 20 minutes but they have free shuttle
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from fleming island FL

Nice place great location horrible beds

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The beds
Location: Close to the mall, grocery stores and restaurants
If you are staying in the central valley the location is great close to everything. The breakfasts are ok lots of bread and fruit eggs for an upcharge. The staff was super great, the front dest staff was friendly and really helpful. They made some calls for us where our spanish wasn't up to the task. The biggest downer the bed was small, hard and uncomfortable. The bed was a little smaller than a regular American full size bed. Woke up every morning stiff with a sore back. Other than the bed was pleased overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was nice and quite

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel was in a quiet environment, the pool and room was very clean