Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Doesn't live up to expectations

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: The view, the waiter in the restaurant (his first day) was sweet and charming despite limited English.
Cons: Customer care, facilities.
Location: Set in the hills outside San Jose near a coffee plantation.
My husband and I booked a stay for the last night of our 10 day trip to Nicaragua and Costa Rica. We were hoping to use the spa facilities, possibly have a massage (after a 5-day biking trip) and luxuriate in our en-suite room (which looked beautiful). Sadly we arrived just after 5 to learn the spa was closing, no massage therapists were on site and the room in our bath had no plug so we couldn't even have a bath. Also, no plug could be found on the whole property despite only a handful of the rooms being let out. By the end of our stay, still no fix for the issue. The manager was less than helpful and when we complained he fluffed his way through a series of implausible excuses but never apologised. The next morning we called to ask what time the spa opened, arrived at the appointed time to find it closed, cold and out of use. Again, another pathetic excuse from management saying it had to be booked. (Did we not phone two hours previously?). Really disappointed. Asclepios LOOKS like the whole package but comes up short in many areas, most notably service and customer care. For five star pricing in Costa Rica you expect all-singing, all dancing but sadly these guys just take the money and have no pride in the customer experience. Don't be fooled by the pretty packaging, your money is better spent elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

botique hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Lovely! Acoomodating and friendly staff and wonderful treatments!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Very peaceful and serene atmosphere.
Cons: Breakfast was very plain. Fruit and toast. Nothing substantial at all.
Location: Nothing to do nearby. Remote location and far from everything
My husband and I stayed here for one night during our honeymoon. The hotel itself is nice and cute and reminds you of a wellness resort. However we were the only ones staying inside this hotel so it felt very lonely indeed. The rooms were nice with great views and the bed was comfortable as well. Bathrooms are nice and big and feels cozy. We thought the pool was ready for use but turns out that the pool has been under construction for some time. We did not get any notification of this at the time of booking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yonkers, United States of America

Posted Nov 13, 2016
We had no water. The hotel manager Braulio kept lying to us. What seemed like was going to be one of the best wellness and spas that I'd ever been to, turned out to be a disaster. It was downright horrific & the manager was so unprofessional, unaccomidating, and just didn't care.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from Austin

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
Would be nice to have A/C in rooms
3 out of 5
by nigel from UK

Retreat or Hotel?????

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here as a stopover on the way to drop family at the airport. As a wellness centre I'm sure its great. But as a hotel (I found it advertised on Hotels.com) its slightly lacking. We found that there were few staff (never did find anybody to carry the bags to our rooms) and that reception closed very early , so when the soap dispensers did not work in the shower there was no one to sort. Breakfast was a set affair, but perhaps the pinnacle was that there was no coffee on site (by order of the owner) despite the fact that its built on a coffee plantation - so just tea for breakfast - by order! SO, as a retreat or treatment place I'm sure its great. As a hotel I wopuld say Quirky!
5 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, CA

Quiet resort hotel, good for relaxing

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and always accommodating.
Cons: The switch operating a fan in both ours and someone else's room was a bit of a surprise. The menu could be expanded somewhat.
Location: The hotel is a little remote, plan/ budget for transportation if you want to visit the surrounding area.
Asclepios is a good get away with friendly staff, a pretty location, well maintained grounds. The spa services are reasonably priced (relative to the US) and the food is ok (although the menu is somewhat limited). The included breakfast is a fruit plate, bread (some good whole grain breads), and nice teas... if you're typically hungry in the mornings, they do offer an extended menu, but expect to pay extra for breakfast. Location wise, you should understand that this hotel isn't centrally located for most of the tourist stops... so if you want to head over to Poa (Volcano), Doka (Coffe), Downtown San Jose (Museums), etc... anticipate some expenses related to transportation (ask the front desk to call Milton - excellent taxi driver - tell em' Anthony and Silvia said hi). There really isn't much around the hotel in walking distance (this includes ATMs, Grocery stores, etc...)... so also plan accordingly. Our room was nice and spacious, with a pretty view, a water carafe w/ mint every day... overall pretty good. It should be noted that the walls are pretty thin and sound travels (though most people are pretty quiet). Our room (Weng Ching) had one oddity... the switch for the fan/ light, also operated the light in the adjacent room... which lead to a few late night surprises... part of the adventure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place but food needs to change

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful grounds and amenities. Nice and quiet. The view is spectacular. Room was wonderful. I would love to go again except I think the menu un the restaurant needs to be changed! If that didn't change, I would not go again because the menu was TOO healthy (and I am a relatively healthy eater) - a lot of the food just didn't taste good and was not appetizing.
4 out of 5
by eric

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels