Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Very peaceful and serene atmosphere.
Cons: Breakfast was very plain. Fruit and toast. Nothing substantial at all.
Location: Nothing to do nearby. Remote location and far from everything
My husband and I stayed here for one night during our honeymoon. The hotel itself is nice and cute and reminds you of a wellness resort. However we were the only ones staying inside this hotel so it felt very lonely indeed. The rooms were nice with great views and the bed was comfortable as well. Bathrooms are nice and big and feels cozy. We thought the pool was ready for use but turns out that the pool has been under construction for some time. We did not get any notification of this at the time of booking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yonkers, United States of America

Posted Nov 13, 2016
We had no water. The hotel manager Braulio kept lying to us. What seemed like was going to be one of the best wellness and spas that I'd ever been to, turned out to be a disaster. It was downright horrific & the manager was so unprofessional, unaccomidating, and just didn't care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, CA

Quiet resort hotel, good for relaxing

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and always accommodating.
Cons: The switch operating a fan in both ours and someone else's room was a bit of a surprise. The menu could be expanded somewhat.
Location: The hotel is a little remote, plan/ budget for transportation if you want to visit the surrounding area.
Asclepios is a good get away with friendly staff, a pretty location, well maintained grounds. The spa services are reasonably priced (relative to the US) and the food is ok (although the menu is somewhat limited). The included breakfast is a fruit plate, bread (some good whole grain breads), and nice teas... if you're typically hungry in the mornings, they do offer an extended menu, but expect to pay extra for breakfast. Location wise, you should understand that this hotel isn't centrally located for most of the tourist stops... so if you want to head over to Poa (Volcano), Doka (Coffe), Downtown San Jose (Museums), etc... anticipate some expenses related to transportation (ask the front desk to call Milton - excellent taxi driver - tell em' Anthony and Silvia said hi). There really isn't much around the hotel in walking distance (this includes ATMs, Grocery stores, etc...)... so also plan accordingly. Our room was nice and spacious, with a pretty view, a water carafe w/ mint every day... overall pretty good. It should be noted that the walls are pretty thin and sound travels (though most people are pretty quiet). Our room (Weng Ching) had one oddity... the switch for the fan/ light, also operated the light in the adjacent room... which lead to a few late night surprises... part of the adventure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great hotel a little careless.

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: A secluded hotel, great rooms with a tub. It has a nice pool and restaurant.
Cons: Every time i took a shower, water spilled out from the shower onto the floor. Breakfast was not good and expensive.
Location: Nothing very near. Some 10 minutes away there is an excellent Italian restaurant very good near Zoo Ave.
A great hotel but it is a little careless. The food was not good at all and expensive. Paid $4 for a couple of plain eggs. Breakfast is included but only a plate of fruits and a toast with juice. The rooms are very big and the bed is comfortable. Pool is nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Solo Female Traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: The views, the beautiful white rooms, spa services, food.
Cons: Some sort of snacks available and a larger wine list.
Location: I took a tour through GrayLine that the hotel arranged to the Poas Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and Doka Coffee Estate.
I was often the only guest during my four day stay but that's exactly what I was looking for. The staff was attentive, friendly and helpful and spoke excellent english. The grounds of the hotel and views are beautiful, the food in the restaurant is tasty and healthy, and the spa treatments were amazing. I especially enjoyed the hammam or turkish steam house.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Wellness Escape in Costa Rica

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, stunning views of the countryside, delicious food, tantalizing amenities, sustainably conscious, locally sourced food.
Cons: Noise reduction, extended Wi-Fi range into the rooms.
Location: The property is located just outside of the Alajuela city-center and strategically positioned no more then a 1.5 hour drive from activities.
My girlfriend and I planned a relaxing week in Costa Rica well in advance and originally selected accommodation at a different location. We received notification 3 weeks before our travel to Costa Rica that our original hotel selection was cancelled by the hotel which required that we make last-minute plans concerning our lodging. We stumbled upon Asclepios and booked out 6 nights there. We were greeted on the day of our reservation by welcoming staff and superb service. The staff were friendly, accommodating, and always willing to ensure that we were looked after. We stayed in the "Aphrodite" room during the entire duration of our reservation and we took advantage of the turkish bath, floatation therapy, and sauna services. Given the 'wellness' nature of the retreat it wasn't surprising that coffee, soda, and alcohol options are either limited or non-existent and we did not mind much. When I travel to Costa Rica again I will elect to stay once more at Asclepios; the stay was very much enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very peaceful, great staff.

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Hotel was clean, great facility, beautiful area. Staff was wonderful. All around great place to stay. Close to Poas and Alajuela. I would stay there again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views

Posted Jun 9, 2015
would recommend breakfast here it was delicious I would skip dinner! Grounds are beautiful safe and loved the boutique feel Note: you can only get wifi in the main entrance room in the hotel It is not available in yoor room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

An Excellent Quiet Retreat.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: We loved the staff, food and the service. Everyone was very friendly and knowledgable. The grounds were kept in amazing condition.
Cons: The beds could be softer. The doors to the shower were kind of odd, you could either close the bathroom or close the shower but not both.
Location: Asclepios is 20 minutes north west of San Jose. It is an excellent middle point with most attractions about 1 hour and 30 minutes away by car.
We had a wonderful experience at Asclepios. The grounds were amazingly well kept and clean. They grow some of their own food and herbs there. The pool has an amazing view of a large mountainside. It is exceptionally quiet (Except the Crickets at dusk and dawn). Everything is green, organic, and solar powered including the pool which is always kept warm. The food is a little expensive but honestly it was the BEST food we found in all of Costa Rica, they have an amazing chef and staff in general. Everyone is very knowledgeable about the country. Breakfast usually includes a fruit bowl (custom prepared), some bread with a wonderful fruit spread and some tea or infusion. It was perfect to start our day but do NOT expect a continental breakfast, eggs, pancakes, etc. Everything in this restaurant is low carb, high protein, or vegan. There is no coffee on the grounds, no vending machines, nothing of the traditional hotel here, this is a Spa and place of peace and meditation. There is no air conditioning, so it can get hot mid to late day, but the rooms are very open with tall ceilings and many doors and windows. They have a huge array of amazing Spa services from flotation therapy to massage and body wraps. It is an EXCELLENT destination to just come and relax without ever leaving the grounds, or to come back to when you are out adventuring. Just be prepared to have a generous budget with you! Perfect for Couples and worth every penny! Enjoy your Stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Beautiful Oasis

Posted Jan 14, 2015
It's funny to escape into a mediterranean-themed oasis in the middle of one of Costa Rica's town centers, but alas, Asclepios is a beautiful little oasis in the midst of Alujuela's bustling activity. This hotel is a true gem. The grounds are exquisitely designed and the staff is friendly. My partner and I stayed here after a few days of "roughing it" on cloud forest hikes, canopy excursions, and other outdoor adventures. Asclepios provided a much-needed respite.