Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Karin from Sverige

Fint hotell med fokus på hälsa och spa

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Jättefint hotell men trevlig personal. Möjligheter till spa och avkoppling. Ligger uppe bland bergen och är väldigt idylliskt. Restaurangen har jättegod och fräsch samt nyttig mat. Ett enda litet minus är att det inte finns Wi-Fi på rummet. Bra hotell för spa och hälsa.
3 out of 5
by nigel from UK

Retreat or Hotel?????

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here as a stopover on the way to drop family at the airport. As a wellness centre I'm sure its great. But as a hotel (I found it advertised on Hotels.com) its slightly lacking. We found that there were few staff (never did find anybody to carry the bags to our rooms) and that reception closed very early , so when the soap dispensers did not work in the shower there was no one to sort. Breakfast was a set affair, but perhaps the pinnacle was that there was no coffee on site (by order of the owner) despite the fact that its built on a coffee plantation - so just tea for breakfast - by order! SO, as a retreat or treatment place I'm sure its great. As a hotel I wopuld say Quirky!
5 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Escape de la rutina

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Muy agradable el lugar, excelente para relajarse, escaparse de la rutina, muy buena la comida chicas las porciones, podrían mejorar los precios, la atención bien en general aunque pudieron resolver mejor algunas peticiones especiales
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, CA

Quiet resort hotel, good for relaxing

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and always accommodating.
Cons: The switch operating a fan in both ours and someone else's room was a bit of a surprise. The menu could be expanded somewhat.
Location: The hotel is a little remote, plan/ budget for transportation if you want to visit the surrounding area.
Asclepios is a good get away with friendly staff, a pretty location, well maintained grounds. The spa services are reasonably priced (relative to the US) and the food is ok (although the menu is somewhat limited). The included breakfast is a fruit plate, bread (some good whole grain breads), and nice teas... if you're typically hungry in the mornings, they do offer an extended menu, but expect to pay extra for breakfast. Location wise, you should understand that this hotel isn't centrally located for most of the tourist stops... so if you want to head over to Poa (Volcano), Doka (Coffe), Downtown San Jose (Museums), etc... anticipate some expenses related to transportation (ask the front desk to call Milton - excellent taxi driver - tell em' Anthony and Silvia said hi). There really isn't much around the hotel in walking distance (this includes ATMs, Grocery stores, etc...)... so also plan accordingly. Our room was nice and spacious, with a pretty view, a water carafe w/ mint every day... overall pretty good. It should be noted that the walls are pretty thin and sound travels (though most people are pretty quiet). Our room (Weng Ching) had one oddity... the switch for the fan/ light, also operated the light in the adjacent room... which lead to a few late night surprises... part of the adventure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place but food needs to change

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful grounds and amenities. Nice and quiet. The view is spectacular. Room was wonderful. I would love to go again except I think the menu un the restaurant needs to be changed! If that didn't change, I would not go again because the menu was TOO healthy (and I am a relatively healthy eater) - a lot of the food just didn't taste good and was not appetizing.
4 out of 5
by eric

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lieber nicht...

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
Das Hotel ist gepflegt und das Personal freundlich. Das Frühstück besteht nur aus etwas Obst und Brot mit einem Hauch von Butter. Möchte man etwas dazu, z.b. Käse oder Ei, ist das mit horrenden Preisen zu bezahlen. Wirklich traurig ist aber, dass es trotz der Preise nicht möglich ist, etwas zum Frühstück zu bekommen, nicht mal Kaffee und dass mehrere Tage in Folge. Das ist bei den übernachtungspreisen absolut unterirdisch. Auch gibt es keine Bar oder ein funktionierendes Restaurant. Ausweichmöglichkeiten sind fussläufig ebenfalls nicht vorhanden. Insgesamt erschließt sich das Konzept der an sich recht ansprechenden hotelanlage in keiner Weise. Daher trotz sauberer Zimmer und nettem Personal nur ein Punkt.
3 out of 5
by El-Khalid from Costa Rica

Honeymoon Weekend

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay at the Hotel was unique. Being on our Honeymoon we wanted to chill and enjoy Costa Rica . The Hotel we booked was great ,but I felt it was more so for a spiritual retreat. The front desk staff was great. The staff while.only consisting of maybe 3-4 people were pretty amazing. They took great care of and my wife, but the hotel wasn't made for entertainment. We were the only people on the resort and the massage type music made us feel like we needed a lightning jolt of energy. The Food while good was overpriced even for a wellness spa in Costa Rica. We were forced to eat both nights because everything was so far away. The highlight was Milton our Cab driver. He took great care of us Pura Vida Style. He knew the front desk woman and that made up for the stay at the hotel. He drove us for the trip, went into the various excursions, and even helped us out of a monsoon at the Waterfall. He introduced us to his girlfriend Ingrid, took us out at night up the road to authentic Costa Rican Food and we even went to a Kareoke bar. I think the hotel was good, but a bit more personality will make it great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great hotel a little careless.

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: A secluded hotel, great rooms with a tub. It has a nice pool and restaurant.
Cons: Every time i took a shower, water spilled out from the shower onto the floor. Breakfast was not good and expensive.
Location: Nothing very near. Some 10 minutes away there is an excellent Italian restaurant very good near Zoo Ave.
A great hotel but it is a little careless. The food was not good at all and expensive. Paid $4 for a couple of plain eggs. Breakfast is included but only a plate of fruits and a toast with juice. The rooms are very big and the bed is comfortable. Pool is nice.