Featured Image
Featured Image

Get an overview of this hotel3.5-star family-friendly hotel, walk to National Theater

Location

This family-friendly La California hotel is located in the historical district, within a 5-minute walk of Morazan Park and National Theater. Gold Museum and Jade Museum are also within 10 minutes.

Hotel Features

This smoke-free hotel features a restaurant, a fitness center, and a bar/lounge. Free buffet breakfast, free WiFi in public areas, and free valet parking are also provided. Other amenities include a coffee shop/café, a 24-hour business center, and conference rooms.

Room Amenities

All 112 rooms boast fireplaces and offer free WiFi and LCD TVs. Guests will also find minibars, room service, and down comforters.

Hotel Amenities

Hotel Amenities

The hotel offers a restaurant and a coffee shop/café. A bar/lounge is on site where guests can unwind with a drink. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning. Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access.

This 3.5-star property offers access to a 24-hour business center and meeting rooms. Event facilities measuring 5907 square feet (549 square meters) include conference space. This Art Deco hotel also offers a fitness center, tour/ticket assistance, and multilingual staff. Limited complimentary onsite parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis.

Balmoral Hotel is a smoke-free property.

  • Free breakfast 
  • Bar/lounge 
  • Conference space 
  • Meeting rooms 7 
  • Express check-in 
  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Express check-out 
  • Multilingual staff 
  • ATM/banking 
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service 
  • Laundry facilities 
  • Elevator/lift 
  • Number of floors - 7 
  • Fitness facilities 
  • Gift shops or newsstand 
  • Hair salon 
  • Total number of rooms - 112 
  • Free valet parking 
  • Luggage storage 
  • Restaurant 
  • 24-hour business center 
  • Conference space size (feet) - 5907 
  • Conference space size (meters) - 549 
  • Number of meeting rooms - 7 
  • Free self parking 
  • Smoke-free property 
  • Coffee shop or café 
  • Free newspapers in lobby 
  • Concierge services 
  • Tours/ticket assistance 
  • Free WiFi 
  • Parking (limited spaces) 
  • Porter/bellhop 
  • Year Built 1955 
  • Shopping on site 
  • Number of buildings/towers - 1 
  • Wedding services 

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Hotel  
  • Free Wi-Fi  
  • Rollaway/extra beds available  
  • Laundry facilities  
  • Cribs/infant beds (complimentary)  

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking, Free valet parking, Parking (limited spaces)

Room Amenities

  • Premium TV channels 
  • Fireplace 
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding available 
  • Air conditioning 
  • Phone 
  • Free toiletries 
  • Hair dryer 
  • In-room massage available 
  • Bathtub or shower 
  • Desk 
  • In-room safe 
  • Iron/ironing board (on request) 
  • Minibar 
  • Free WiFi 
  • Daily housekeeping 
  • Turndown service 
  • Private bathroom 
  • Room service (limited hours) 
  • LCD TV 
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms available 
  • Free cribs/infant beds 
  • Day bed 
  • Rollaway/extra beds available 
  • Blackout drapes/curtains 
  • Cable TV service 
  • Down comforter 

Where to Eat

A complimentary buffet breakfast is served each morning between 6 AM and 9 AM.

EL PATIO DEL BALMORAL - This restaurant specializes in international cuisine and serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. A children's menu is available. Open daily.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Things to Do

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Golfing nearby 
  • Rafting nearby 
  • Ecotours nearby 
  • Golf lessons available nearby 

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Roll-in shower 
  • Accessible bathroom 
  • In-room accessibility 

Hotel Policies

Check-in

Check-in time starts at 2 PM

Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

Check-out time is noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 7 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • Pets not allowed (service animals welcome)

You need to know

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

  • Minimum Spring Break check-in age is 18 years old.

Only service animals are allowed

Fees

Optional extras

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.
  • Early check-in fee: USD 50
  • Late check-out fee: USD 50
The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change.

Hotel Name

We should mention

Reservations are required for massage services. Reservations can be made by contacting the hotel prior to arrival, using the contact information on the booking confirmation. Children 7 years old and younger stay free when occupying the parent or guardian's room, using existing bedding. Only registered guests are allowed in the guestrooms. The property has connecting/adjoining rooms, which are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property using the number on the booking confirmation.


Sorry, we seem to have had an issue loading our review content. Try again?
Learn more.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
Learn more.

Not Great

1 out of 5
by
Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hot water, something better than a twin mattress when you have made reservations for 2
Our room had a single size bed with just a mattress, not good when you have two people. No hot or warm water, had to take a super fast shower. Was supposed to be upgraded to a better room but all of a sudden speaking English became a problem. We did not get the upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by alegraziano32
Sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience at our hotel and that reception was not helpful. Thank you for pointing it out because english should never be a problem. We will look into it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful to you?

5 out of 5
by
Posted Feb 12, 2017
Excellent location, downtown walking zone next to teatro nacional, gold museum and shopping streets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by alegraziano32
Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our privilege position. We hope to host you in your next visit to town. Warm regards, Alessandra
Was this review helpful to you?

Nice hotel, but hard to find

4 out of 5
by from Lafayette, La
Posted Feb 11, 2017
The road to actually get to the hotel is under construction so we drove around trying to figure out what to do. Eventually paid to park somewhere and walked over only to find out you have to drive around the barrier onto the torn up road into the parking garage. The restaurant and complimentary breakfast was wonderful! Great service, good food and pricing was very reasonable. The room was big and clean. Bathrooms are small and our safe didn't work. All in all we enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by alegraziano32
Thank you for your feedback. Sorry you had to come precisely now that the access road is being repaird. Thank you for your understanding. Glad you had a pleasant experience with us as hotel and as restaurant. Thank you again! Best regards, Alessandra
Was this review helpful to you?

Nice hotel in downtown San José

4 out of 5
by
Posted Feb 3, 2017
Stayed one night. Staff were very friendly, all bilingual (Spanish and English). Room was comfortable and reasonably clean, though I saw a cockroach scurry across the floor. Bar/restaurant was nice, beer was cold. Best part of my stay was the breakfast, filling and delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by alegraziano32
Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We do our best and are constantly fumigating the public areas etc. but it is a tropical country and we kind of have to combat the insects year long. Thank you for your understanding. We hope to host you again. Best regards, Alessandra
Was this review helpful to you?

good location in the center of the city

2 out of 5
by from LA
Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: late check-out time until 2pm
Cons: better communication with arriving guests, more staff
Location: museums, parks, shops, restaurants all in walking distance
there was only a car entrance that was not accessible due to road construction; we had to carry our luggage 2 blocks because the uber-driver did not get access to that garage; there is an entrance via the restaurant (as in the picture of the advertisement), but this is another building only accessible from the pedestrian zone (no cars allowed there); we were not informed about this in advance; rooms are small with no view (window to a shaft inside the building); price was higher than advertised in the deal from expedia; we spend around 30 minutes at the reception until we could check in; staff partly inexperienced and not very helpful when we tried to get transportation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Alegraziano32
We are sorry for the inconvenience of the blocked road but the city is making improvements needed. As for the rooms I have to remind you we have seven different types of rooms, different sizes, some with balconies and spectacular views of the city landscape it all depends on what you are looking for. As to the difference in price I have no idea what the problem was we don't usually have that type of problems. Again we apologize for the blocked road and we hope you had a safe trip back home. Best regards, Alessandra
Was this review helpful to you?

4 out of 5
by
Posted Jan 16, 2017
Nice restaurant and staff. Safe deposit boxes need to be upgraded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Alegraziano32
Thank you for your feedback we are in the process of renovating the whole hotel and we thank you for pointing out the need to upgrade the safe deposits. Glad you enjoyed the restaurant and had an overall pleasant experience. Hope to host you again. Best regards, Alessandra
Was this review helpful to you?

Very Nice Hotel on Main San Jose, CR pedestrian St

5 out of 5
by from Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Great, safe location, center of San Jose, close to both the Gold & Jade museums, nice renovated sleeping room/bath, excellent friendly& helpful staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great, safe location, center of San Jose on the main pedestrian shopping street, close to both the Gold & Jade museums, and the crafts & art market.
Balmoral Hotel is located great location in center of San Jose, CR, on the main pedestrian shopping street only one block from the Pre-Columbian Gold Museum and four blocks from Pre-Columbian Jade Museum and adjacent crafts market stalls area. Front desk staff were excellent-helpful, friendly both at check-in, questions during my stay and with the early morning check-out and transfer to the airport. The elevators, sleeping rooms and hallways all renovated. Large sleeping room, all renovated bathroom and stylish. The buffet breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was very good. I did not eat other meals in the Balmoral Restaurant, but food dishes on menu looked good. The upstairs bar connected to the lobby floor of the hotel was very active with lots of hotel guests there. I stayed here two nights, after the end of my two week tour of Central America. You cannot beat the location, especially to walk at night on the pedestrian shopping street in front of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Alegraziano32
Thank you, thank you for your kind review. We are happy to know you had a wonderful trip all over Central America and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to host you again. Best regards, Alessandra
Was this review helpful to you?

Close to everything , in the main boulevard

4 out of 5
by from Miami
Posted Dec 31, 2016
Nice experience . I would recomend this hotel . The food is excellent and it has very nice environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Alegraziano32
Thank you for the kind review. It pleases us to know you enjoyed your experience with us. Very grateful that you recommend us. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Alessandra
Was this review helpful to you?

Comfortable and great location

4 out of 5
by from Chicago, IL
Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: The location and the convenience.
Cons: Check-in was slow. Also, there are hotels with pools, etc. but we stayed here because the traffic was terrible and we wanted to explore the city.
Location: It is at the beginning of the pedestrian street, which makes getting around very easy. It's only a few blocks from museums and the National Theater.
We stayed two nights at the Balmoral and found it to be nice, clean and quiet. There are no special amenities, but the room (a family suite with two bedrooms/baths) was spacious, the restaurant decent, and the location was great. We could easily walk to everything, from the central market to the National Theater and the children's museum (though not recommended with young children or in late/early hours). There are shops on the lower level, including a pharmacy, and a bar on the second level. The room was very quiet on the pedestrian-only street, and the staff friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Alegraziano32
Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you took advantage of our strategic location. Hope you noticed the free wifi and the free calls to the USA as well as the convenience of having everything with in reach. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Alessandra
Was this review helpful to you?

5 out of 5
by
Posted Dec 10, 2016
the staff and the proprietor were delightful and the hotel rooms very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Alegraziano32
Thank you for your kind remarks we are pleased to learn your experience was a pleasant one. We hope to host you in your next visit to San José. Best regards, Alessandra
Was this review helpful to you?