Ratings based on 1,503 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Opal

Loved it as the staff was helpful and had a good l

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Every thing
Location: Got a driver who was very good. Spoke English and a good guide. His name is Juan Carlos. Without him it would have been lost
First time visiting was very good visit and will visit back with my family
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Channel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best Regards, Carlos Ruíz Director
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yuma, AZ

Fancy

Posted Jan 14, 2018
I stayed in a suite, air was able to get though the windows because they did not close all the way! It was so windy and so loud! I was not able to sleep!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Channel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Berenice We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best Regards, Carlos Ruíz Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blenheim, Ontario

Great place to stay

Posted Jan 10, 2018
We ran into problems with transportation, the hotel staff Oscar and Saul, went out of their way to make sure that we had what we needed. Thanks so much for all your help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2018 by Channel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Best Regards Carlos Ruíz Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from irvine

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Great service, wonderful staff, nice clean and spacious rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2018 by Channel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best Regards Carlos Ruíz Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Good rooms and facilities

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Room cleanliness, and buffet. The garden areas are very nice to walk around.
Cons: Pool attention, and a heated pool.
Location: Nothing, need to take a taxi to anything.
The rooms are made out of materials to last, which of course means they are dated. Nice bed and comfy sheets and pillows. Rooms have all the details you need for long stay. Liquor at this hotel very expensive, bring your own coffee creamer. they have two nice gift shops and a sushi restaurant I did not get a chance to try.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Channel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Darlene We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best Regards, Carlos Ruíz Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Music abounds each night!

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Everything, but the staff was the standout!
Cons: keep doing what you do best - taking care of your clients!
Location: we visited family, so didn't get a chance to do much outside of that.
We enjoyed the talented piano player that entertained us each night from 5:30-7:30pm in the main lobby. We also caught a marimba band near the restaurant and also in the lounge on Friday night a live band with sizzling latin tunes, everyone was on the dance floor! The Japanese restaurant was delicious, the staff always attentive, this is a hotel I will recommend to friends and family. Thank you Barcelo Hotel Staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Channel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best Regards, Carlos Ruíz Director
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vernon, BC

In the middle of nowhere

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Cons: Attitude! When something is not right, it's a I don't care attitude with a quick smile.
Location: Nothing close by.
Shuttle bus not at airport. Called hotel at least 8 times and no answer. $30 cab fare and they didn't care! Food is not the best so far, uncooked pork ribs and cold veggies, again complained but basically shrugged shoulders with a don't care attitude. Not impressed. No large towels in the room either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Channel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for sharing a review of Barceló San José. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best Regards, Carlos Ruíz Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2018
I don’t like having to write stuff for reviews so I’m not going to do it here. Thank you very much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Channel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler Firstly we thank you for making our Barceló San José your choice hotel for your visit to Costa Rica. We hope see you again in a near future. Kind Regards, Carlos Ruíz Director
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good services but no towels

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: Free airport shuttle service, Expedia VIP service, good staffs in front of lobby, clean room though it was old style
Cons: I cannot understand why they didn't put new towels after cleaning. It was my first time like the experience in the hotel.
Location: It is good for quiet room and going to airport, but little far away from downtown. And only the way is taxi for going to downtown (around $12).
Overall I liked the hotel. Especially VIP service was so great. But on 2nd staying day, when I was back from tour, there were not new towels. Therefore, I called guest service and asked for towels, but I had to wait more than 30 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Channel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great stay in San Jose

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: Great value, excellent service and very comfortable.
The room was spacious with lovely linens. The buffet breakfast had lots of variety and custom omelettes. The shuttle to the airport was also excellent service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Channel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Barceló San José. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz Director