Ratings based on 815 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Made us wait and it wasn't worth it

Posted Feb 18, 2017
My husband tried to check in before me (I was arriving on a later flight) and they wouldn't allow him because he did not have enough cash on hand (nor his credit card) to pay for the room immediately. He was forced to wait in the lobby for me to arrive (5 hours later, due to a delayed flight). They refused to let him enter our room even though his name was also on the reservation and I had called ahead to check what he would need. I was clearly told he would only need to mention our names at the front desk. When I had finally arrived they meekly apologized and gave us 1 free drink each from the happy hour menu at the bar. They made no other efforts to accommodate nor rectify the situation. We were made to pay full price for our room with the promise of maybe a free upgrade should we stay again. I don't think this will be happening. They were not only rude to my husband and inconsiderate to our situation, but the room we stayed in was moderate at best. Not to mention there was no hot water in the shower! For this price I would recommend another chain hotel, perhaps the Holiday Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your comments about your and your husband's stay in our hotel. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience your husband experienced while waiting for you to arrive. Our Brand's policy requires that when couples or family members stay with us and are not arriving together they should have their reservation in both their names and that they should leave either a credit card or the cash for the the room's rate as a guarantee. Unfortunately your reservation was only in your name so your husband was told that he had to wait until your arrival for the check in. After about 2 hours waiting for you, one of our staff members told him that since he had been waiting so long for you to arrive, she was going to accept the responsability of him not having a credit card or cash at hand to use as the room's retainer and that she was letting him check in immediately. Your husband thank her and said no because he was going to wait for you to arrive. After a couple of more hours, the same staff member went and told him again that he could go to the room and again he said no. Our utmost desires are our guests' satisfaction and comfort so we were willing to make an exception with our policy to check your husband in so he would not have to wait as much as he did but he declined both times. Once again, we apologize for not being able to check him in as soon as he got to the hotel, but due to the reasons we explained previously we could not and that we did offer to check him in after all the time he was waiting for you to arrive. We are sorry that you did not think the we apologized enough. We are also sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with not having hot water, luckily the problem with the boiling room was solved and the hot water returned. It was a pleasure being able to serve you. Thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Just an internet search
Cons: The gift shop was way pricey. Bought a bottle of water and a coke $8.50. Ouch
Location: Not much to do right around hotel. They do have a casino if you are in to that. Tried to do a bit of walking, but wow what traffic.
They are renovation so kind of hard to review. Bed was comfortable & clean. Pool was cold Jacuzzi hot. Nice to be in. Wasn't particularly happy in our room -- it was on the parking lot side so noisy all night. That is probably the only reason we didn't give them all 5's. Oh, food was ok but nothing to rave over.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for posting your review about your stay in our hotel. It is our utmost desire to ensure that all our guests have a pleasant and comfortable hotel experience so we are a little disappointed that eventhough you found your bed very comfortable, you were notcompletely happy with the location of your room. We assure you that if you had let our front desk staff know about it, they would have immediately changed you to another room with a more satisfying location because as we mentioned before, we are totally committed to our guests' complete comfort and satisfaction. We are also sorry that you did not find anything fun to do nearby, downtown San Jose is only about a 10 minute taxi ride just in case you wanted to do something different. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Nice hotel. included breakfast was good. Staff was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thanks for sharing your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had such a great stay in our hotel, finding our accommodations so comfortable, our staff so friendly and attentive and our services so good (like our complimentary breakfast options among others) because we are totally committed to our guests' total satisfaction. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 33319

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Good ,,,,, Excellent place to be in San Jose -Costa Rica
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for posting your very nice comments. We are more than thrilled that you had such a pleasant stay since we thrive on our guests' total satisfaction. We want our guests to have all the comforts they might need, great services and a staff that will go the extra mile making sure they have everything they might need and request and making them feel more than welcome and right at home. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us. We wish you a very merry Christmas. Best regards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful view

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Room had a big window with a view to the parking lot, everybody in the parking lot can see you... Also, no internet access, that high speed internet is just a lie.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for sharing your comments. There is nothing we want more than than comfort and satisfaction of all our guests. We are very sorry about the inconveniences you experienced so please accept our most sincere apologies. We assure you that if you had informed our front desk staff that your room was unsatisfactory, then they would have immediately changed you to another room more of your liking because as we mentioned before, we are totally committed to our guests' satisfaction. Regarding the free wifi, de do truly offer it, unfortunately, we have been having problems with it but we are happy to informed you that our Management has already taken care of the problem. Once again, we are sorry about the inonveniences you experienced. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rental car return convenience

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Last night of our 10 day stay and it was the rental car return office, great bar and denny's is right next door for some close to american food. Don't arrive around rush hour 5-8pm it was crazy!! The traffic is ridiculous in San Jose, chaos!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thanks for sharing your nice comments about our hotel. We are very happy that your stay with us was so pleasant because we are very committed to our guests' comfort and satisfaction. It is also great that you found our location so convenient, surrounded by restaurants and with the car rental office right next door. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Good time !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

Good hotel with easy access from airport

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Easy to get to from airport and vary friendly staff and clean facility. 2nd stay here was great except for one thing. We checked in late after 9:00 pm and our room had a cigarette smell. It wasn't overwhelming but I would have changed rooms if I wasn't so tired. It could have been people in adjoining room coming under connecting doors. I will still go back as it is on Hwy 1 and has a Dennys that is open 24 hours connected to it and the bar at the entrance serves food late. Overalll I like this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear randy, thank you for sharing your nice reviews about your stay in our hotel. We are delighted to learn that this is your second stay with us which make syou part of our extended global family and it also lets us know how much you like our hotel. We are very sorry about the cigarette smell in your room, we assure you that if you had informed our front desk staff about it they would have immediately changed you to another room. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice. Warmest regards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice accommodations

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful 2 days
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for sharing your superb comments. We are more than thrilled to learn that your stay in our hotel was just wonderful since nothing makes us happier than our guests' complete comfort and satisfaction. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon. Warmest regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Our 4th trip here, and will also be our next!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: I loved the free computer room with the 24 hr Costa Rican coffee always on. Yum
Cons: I wish there were more English speaking employees.
Location: It is close to the Soccer stadium, Gold museam, and only about a 10 min ride to the airport.
Several years ago we visited here to have some dental work done closeby. This hotel has it all: (dining, casino, close to downtown. and all at a very reasonable rate. The only criticism I have, is that they passed a no smoking law in Costa Rica, and even the casino is included. Not a major deal, but my husband likes his cigars, and was scooted away from an area outside of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Susie, thanks for sharing your fabulous comments about your experience in our hotel. We are thrilled to learn that this was not the first time you and your husband have sayed with us because it makes both of you part of our extended global family and at the same time it shows us just how much you like everything about our hotel. We are sorry about the non smoking law but unfortunatley we have to comply with it. We will be looking forward to your next visit. Thank you for choosing us. Warmest regards.